This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs A & Friends from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

My Sep 2012 trip

Namibia between 4 Sep 2012 and 1 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great experience. On whole, accomodation was excellent and to be recommended. Seen outstanding scenery, great game viewing and met some great and friendly people.

The reservations made by Expert Africa worked well and there were no hassles which added to the whole relaxed trip.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No. We were very pleased with everything Gwynneth did for us and her advice. To be recommended"

Image alt

Own arrangements

"Own arrangements review"

5 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2012
"We stayed at our son's house so all arrangements were made by myself"
Excellent
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2012
"We arrived while Wilfred and Helene were having lunch but they dropped everything to settle us in. We had stayed before.

The rooms are quirky but the whole lodge is full of character with good hosts and good breakfasts. Bit noisy with traffic during the day but we knew that was one of the downsides."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Ernst was brilliant"

11 Sep 2012 • All-day excursion

The whole trip was brilliant. We spent a lot of time looking at birds, one of our interests, and then the depth of knowledge shown by Ernst of the flora and fauna and the desert itself made the experience on to remember. He even managed to help one of our party slide down the dunes at Sanwich Harbour, something she never dreamt she would do, but loved. All in all a day to remember.
Excellent
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

"Vingerklip Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2012
"We had planned to drive out for the day, but decided to walk to the Vingerklip have a leisurely lunch and chill out by the pool.

Lodges excellent, perhaps they could have a kettle in the room for that early morning cup of tea but all in all they had everything that one could need. Great views. Dinner at the Eagles Nest is to be recommended and well worth the climb"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Excellent stay at Dolomite"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2012
"Best shower in Namibia! Lodge / tent excellent, well stocked fridge with tea making facilities. Great watching game go to and fro to waterhole from stoep of lodge.

Good meals with a good choice for dinner and great breakfast. Service a little slow but as meals are prepared freshly. it made for a relaxed experience and well stocked bar for nightcap. Staff friendly and efficient.

Only downside is walk to lodge if not great at walking uphill. Buggy available but can involve a wait if busy elewhere. Dolomite is a great place to stay and wouldn't have missed it. Will return"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Waterhole is great experience"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2012
"Bush chalet comfortable and well equipped. Large bedroom with airconditioning which was quiet!

Evening meal was good as was the breakfast but had to request more fruit and coffee at buffet counter. Slow to refill. Staff could be a little more efficient. Best to get to breakfast early.

Sitting by waterhole watching game by floodlight was a great experience. Graffes appear like ghosts and we saw three rhino, one black and two white. Unfortunately there was a bush fire nearby so game disappeared by about 10pm

Well stocked shop and efficient staff in the office.."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Great. Wish we had stayed longer"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2012
"Gwynneth recommended Onguma Bush Camp as we could not get into Namutoni, but brilliant recommendation.We had two large rondavels at edge of camp, excellent facilities and large ,well equipped bathroom.

The evening meal was excellent as was the breakfast and the staff were very efficient and willing to please. great lounge area to relax and have a coffee after meal overlooking waterhole. Julia on reception anticipated and answered all our questions. Pity it was just an overnight stop."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Khorab Lodge

"Good overnight stop"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2012
"We stayed two nights as we wanted to spend a day at Tsumeb and the Hoba meteorite. The rooms were large and clean and the gardens were lovely and well kept. The meals were good and the breakfast was excellent.

Staff friendly. But the whole lodge was just a little tired.

We met the new owner who is working hard to bring it uo tp standard and plans to build sound "barrier" to cut the noise of traffic. He has just rebuilt Uris lodge and would like to bring Khorab to a similar standard."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Brilliant stay at Erongo"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2012
"A great experience. Tented lodges were excellent with large outside sitting area. Excellent bathroom in spite of the warning about Zebra snakes being able to climb in but has not occured yet but have to warn guests.

Good evening drive to Paula's cave to see rock paintings and have sundowners. Sundowner walk available. Excellent dinner on return. Morning walk included, excellent guide and good breakfast on return.

No great rush for one to leave rooms and the whole experience was one to be repeated if we get the chance and staying longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Great location"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2012
"The rooms were large and clean and we could walk out of the room to seating area and also to seating on the lawns which led straight on to the beach. Rooms equipped for self catering but we decided to eat in The Wreck restaurant upstairs. This was the best meal we had in Namibia, excellent choice of food and good service. And the breakfasts were as good!

Although about 10mins from Swakopmund town centre it was great to be able to walk along the beach straight from our rooms and lovely quiet situation. Would return. Car cleaning available which is great as we had to return car next day.

We arranged a day trip to Sandwich Harbour for these travellers. They commented about it:

Ernst was brilliant

The whole trip was brilliant. We spent a lot of time looking at birds, one of our interests, and then the depth of knowledge shown by Ernst of the flora and fauna and the desert itself made the experience on to remember. He even managed to help one of our party slide down the dunes at Sanwich Harbour, something she never dreamt she would do, but loved. All in all a day to remember."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Own arrangements

"Own arrangements review"

8 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2012
"Stayed in own accomodation"
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team