This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J & Mrs S B from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

Fantastic holiday

Namibia between 12 Jul 2007 and 26 Jul 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic trip, enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and really love the country. There is some great scenery. Enjoyed every single location. We stayed at some wonderful accommodations and had some really nice hosts. We hope that some day, we will be able to go back again and would definitely use your services!

At times, we found the driving to be tiring and would have preferred to have been in a 4WD vehicle which would have ridden the bumpy bits better.

With all the travelling, we found that it would have been much better to have had at least 3 nights at each place, and perhaps this might need to be suggested to other travellers. It took most of the day to get from one place to the next, hence we only really had 1 day at any location other than Etosha to get the 'feel' of it. It would however, have given us a real dilemma as even with the benefit of experience, it would be impossible to choose somewhere to miss out of the itinerary ... and we could not afford a 3 week trip!!

We found dealing with souvenir sellers (and beggars) difficult at times. It is hard to know when you are getting ripped off - which we experienced at least once - and as we are not used to bartering, we felt uncomfortable that we might be being unfair to them by going too low. However, they do seem to be very good with their psychology in their selling. Particularly found Outjo (as described in the guide book) and Uis to be intimidating places for this."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Great location, good hosts"

1 night Arrived 12 Jul 2007
"Location of Bullsport is great with superb scenery all around.

Hosts were very friendly and welcoming and we spent a very nice evening sharing with them and the other guests at the dinner table. Lovely food too.

Had a superb hike through Quiver tree gorge after a bumpy drive up into the mountains. However, the hike was more of a "scramble" at one point and maybe not for the less adventurous - unless we chose the wrong route here!! There was potential for accidents on the steep sided sections so possibly a safety issue if only 2 people doing it - we were ok as there were 5 of us doing it together. However, we enjoyed tremendously and would highly recommend it.

The only negative point was that although the room was adequate and reasonably comfortable, the bathroom could perhaps do with a bit of a re-furb"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Fantastic place and great room / tent)"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2007
"Arrived after dark so first sight of dunes from the tent doorway at sunrise the next morning was a wonderful experience.

It was a great place to stay, with an 'upmarket' feel to it, although the very nature of the camp and the number of guests inevitably gives it a slightly less 'personal' feel to it than a few of the other places we stayed at.

The trip to the Sossusvlei dunes was great, but there was some delay as the guide left with the wrong key for the gate padlock(!) then we got a puncture later on so arrival at Dead Vlei was a bit late and consequently not ideal for photography. The lunch in the desert was great though. Our guide, Christoph, was fairly new to the job but gave us a very good trip"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Fantastic location, great walks available"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2007
"Great location and scenery - fantastic for walking.

Good hospitality and communal dining enjoyable.

The walk up to the spring was really great with good scenery and some wildlife. Really good sense of isolation along the way. Would really recommend it. I would guess that all the other trails they have would be equally as good.

The only downside again would be that the room, although adequate, could do with some updating"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Lovely guest house with friendly hosts"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2007
"The room was really nice, with good buffet breakfasts.

The downside was the road in between the property and the lagoon which was not apparent from the publicity/website. Fortunately it wasn't too busy after dark!!

Seeing the flamingoes on the lagoon was great.

Followed Expert Africa's advice, and would highly recommend "The Raft" to eat at in the evenings.

Did Turnstone Tours' trip to Sandwich Harbour and really enjoyed it despite very limited time at Sandwich due to the turning tide (so trip schedule should have been organised better to allow for this). The guide, Ernst, was excellent - apart from this small niggle - and was a really knowledgeable and caring individual. Eating lasagne and apple crumble for lunch in the dunes was kinda surreal !

However, did hear a very negative report from a couple who did the same trip 2 days later with a new guide (who was being trained up on our trip)."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Good trip, well worth doing"

18 Jul 2007 • All-day excursion

See Lagoon Lodge feedback - "experience" rating would have been excellent apart from the criticism already mentioned there
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"High quality camp in superb setting"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2007
"Luxurious place to stay - even in a "standard" room. Wish we could have afforded the honeymoon suite!!

The setting is absolutely fantastic; each tent is gives a sense of being quite secluded nestled in it's own space in between the rocks. There is a wonderful view from the lookout point which should not be missed.

My wife was unfortunately unwell when we arrived, but the waiters (Matthew and one other at least, whose name(s) we can't remember) were lovely and looked after her in a really kind way - we can't thank them enough.

The elephant watching trip was successful and highly enjoyable with two good sized groups of elephants seen."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"The refurbished bungalow was really nice"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2007
"The refurbished bungalow was really nice and done to a good standard, but could have benefitted from some basic equipment (only a part set of cutlery/crockery provided and no BBQ implements or washing up facilities so only option was to eat at the restaurant).

There was an initial problem with our checking in as they had us down to arrive in August!!! It was sorted eventually, but the staff were not particularly friendly and it seems that they were still finding their feet with the procedures.
The restaurant was a bit hit and miss with the food. We soon learnt that it was necessary to arrive within first 30mins of opening time: then it was to a fairly good standard. Again some staff (but not all) were not always that friendly.

The waterhole at the camp was really nice to be by at night and really only spoilt by a few less considerate individuals!

We did one of the night drives and the guide, Martin, was a really nice and knowledgeable person. Unfortunately, it wasn't brilliant in terms of game viewings on that night, but just luck of the draw I suppose - and it is hard to believe just how cold it can get when travelling in the open vehicle!!!

The overall wildlife viewing in the park itself is unbelievable at times with animals everywhere, but maybe not such photogenic backgrounds as we experienced in Kruger a few years ago. Some special experiences to be had watching the wildlife."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Lovely place to end our holiday at"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2007
"Superb setting and accommodation. In fact, probably as good as Mowani overall as it didn't quite have the air of exclusivity that Mowani did. One night here was not enough!

Brilliant view from the tent.

Restaurant had a really nice feel to it, and again good views from it. Also plenty of birdlife to be observed from here.

Did evening and morning guided walks up onto the mountains which again provided really good views and well worth the climbs (not really that strenuous anyway). The quides were also really friendly and informative."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team