This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Cape turtle doves from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Nov 2007 trip

Namibia between 14 Nov 2007 and 2 Dec 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"We are glad that we went and most of it we enjoyed but as you have probably guessed 2500 kms of gravel roads in 18 days is just too much. The long distances, the gravel roads, the lack of mobile phone coverage and the sense of isolation did give some cause for concern.

We did it - and that gives considerable satisfaction and a real sense of fulfilment, but next time? Give me a Toyota Land Cruiser!!

The clients need to be more fully informed about the roads, the distances and the general isolation experienced. For those people whose only experience of long distance travel is the M4 to Birmingham the roads of Namibia come as a bit of a shock.

Apart from that, it was a holiday of real treats and delights."

Feedback response

We often suggest to travellers that they moderate the routes they plan in Namibia. It’s a big country, and most people under-estimate the driving times and distances, and that’s why we state these so clearly in our brochure.

Many of Namibia’s roads are gravel; different people react to these in different ways. Most travellers take them in their stride – going gently (80kph at a maximum!) and appreciating the amazing scenery that is so much a part of these holidays – but a few do have difficulty in adjusting to such long roads.

This traveller’s quite right; driving in Namibia is not like driving in the UK. The distances are much larger, many roads are gravel, and there’s very little traffic. For those who enjoy the journey, travel here can be a real pleasure.

However, if you’re thinking about a trip to Namibia and you don’t like driving, then do consider our fly-in and small group guided trips, rather than a self-drive.

Arranged By Claire Scott


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2007
"The whole business of getting through the airport at Windhoek and picking up the Europcar rental went very smoothly - although we had to remind them to provide the extra spare tyre. The car was in very good condition indeed.

The 64 km gravel road drive to Eningu went well enough but it was a firm reminder that we had another 2000 plus kilometres of this kind of road ahead of us!

The welcome at Eningu was very warm indeed. We were instantly offered refreshments as our bags were taken to our room. It provided a much needed respite after what was a long and rather boring Air Namibia flight - the poor in-flight entertainment didn't help!
We liked Eningu a lot, wonderful food, a comfortable room and a chance to go for a walk. We also saw porcupines!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2007
"The drive to Zebra River lodge was very hard...dusty and in places deeply rutted. Although we had no breakdowns or punctures during our entire trip, 2500kms of dirt road does take it out of you. To be honest our Toyota Yaris struggled with some of the conditions and in hindsight we would have been better off with a 4 wheel drive vehicle, if only for the peace of mind.

It is a bit daunting to be in the middle of a desert, miles from anywhere, in a car best suited for Oxford Street!

Zebra River Lodge was wonderful. Marianne and Gail made us very welcome. Wonderful food, some very interesting walks, a comfortable room and long evenings, talking, singing songs and generally relaxing. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Tok Tokkie Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2007
"Another long and arduous drive to Tok Tokkie. After 6 hours on the road we felt like we had been beaten up by a bunch of drunken sailors! The last 60 kms we had to virtually crawl along as the road was so rutted.

Gail at Zebra River was very apprehensive about us doing the Tok Tokkie Trail and our anxiety wasn't helped when we heard that on the previous walk one of the guests had collapsed with the heat and had to be brought out of the desert by Land Rover! When we eventually arrived we were made very welcome by our guide Rene who told us that this would be the last walk of the season because it was getting too hot! Caramba!

We had a light lunch, meeting up with the 4 other guests and then set off. That first afternoon was very easy, stopping every 30 minutes or so for water, and after walking about 6 kms we stopped for the night. The arrangements were as expected but comfortable with good food. Rene was very reassuring that we wouldn't get eaten by lions!

The next day was very very hot and there were moments when we thought that we wouldn't make it - but urged on by Rene we made our lunch stop where we rested for about 4 hours. When it cooled we then pressed on to our evening camp and relaxed. We had walked about 14 kms. During the night I was spectacularly sick. In the morning Rene suggested that as nobody else had been ill it was probably due to the heat.

We continued the following morning - again mercilessly hot - and reached the base camp at about 11.00am.

Although it was very hard at times, I cannot deny an enormous sense of fulfillment and would do it again - but next time in a cooler season."
Good
Location
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2007
"Another warm welcome at Kulala with cool drinks waiting for us. The food here was rather good although I wasn't able to eat much as I still wasn't up to scratch. The first evening I spent in bed.

Our visit to Sossusvlei was very interesting with an informative guide and lots to see. Unfortunately we were unable to climb Dune 45 because of the large number of parties ahead of us. We spent time at Deadvlei and then had lunch. That evening we drove out into the desert for a "Sundowner".

The following morning Amanda went on a hot air balloon trip but I had to cry off as I was still feeling unwell. She really enjoyed herself.
Our only adverse comment about Kulala was the wind which blew incessantly in the evenings and made eating out both chilly and difficult."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Lagoon Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2007
"The drive to Walvis Bay was once again very demanding, especially the passes through the mountains. When driving you could not afford to relax for a single moment. As the car thumped along at 30 kph I keep wishing we had hired a 4 wheel drive car. The Toyota did very well indeed but one felt that there was no 'extra' to pull you through if things went wrong.

The Lagoon Lodge at Walvis Bay was a very welcome respite with a warm welcome and comfortable rooms. My only complaint was I got electrocuted when I accidently touched the unmarked electric fence around the swimming pool!

The highlight of our entire trip was the day we spent with Ernst at Sandwich Harbour. We saw birds, dug for water, opened up 17th century rubbish dumps (middens), tried to rescue seals caught up in fishing line and were given a heart stopping demonstration of what a Land Rover can do in expert hands. Fantastic. Ernst is a real expert on the flora and fauna of the desert dunes and I would recommend him and his company to anyone. A wonderful day.

We also went on a township tour recently set up by a young Namibian Fried Fredericks. (EMail - mmsaf@mweb.com.na
Tel +264 64 205 511) Up to then the only black faces we had seen were serving drinks or driving Land Rovers so it was very interesting to see how black Namibians lived. We visited an AIDS/HIV centre, a vast open air canteen and a shabeen and really enjoyed ourselves."
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2007
"Doro Nawas was actually rather difficult to find as it hasn't got around to issuing a map yet. It is also a rather strange looking place, rather like an experimental laboratory in the desert run by a mad scientist. As ever the welcome was very warm - cold drinks and cool towels. The food and rooms very excellent.

We managed to combine two different activities into a single drive- seeing elephants along the river bed and then continuing to see Bushman art in the nearby mountains. Very interesting....but apart from that there is not much else to do. In hindsight we would have been better off staying only 2 nights at Doro Nawas and having an extra night at Waterberg."
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Good
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

"Waterberg Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 29 Nov 2007
"Oh the joy of driving most of the way to Waterberg along paved roads! Waterberg is wonderful and so different to the other lodges we had stayed in. It is set in a green, well watered valley running into the mountains - and the game drives, which we were not able to take, offered animals not seen in the desert - e.g rhinos, zebras and giraffes.

The lodge caters mainly for German visitors - and that was the language mostly spoken but it was friendly with good food and some excellent walks through green, dappled meadows full of Springbok. We could have stayed longer.

P.S During our stay they also cleaned out our car, inside and out without being asked. It sparkled!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 30 Nov 2007
"Another smooth paved drive into Windhoek where we enjoyed an afternoons shopping, a visit to a war cemetary and an excellent 'cordon bleu' meal in the hotel restaurant. We held our room until 4.oopm the following day and were able to swim, shower and generally lounge around until leaving for our flight home.

A nice, friendly and classy joint!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team