This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from Beds

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

28

Excursions taken

1

A family adventure

Namibia between 12 Aug 2010 and 29 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"An enjoyable trip with mainly good accommodation. Animals at the western end of Etosha a bit scarce as they all seemed to have gone to the middle and eastern end.

Weather was unseasonably warm which we all enjoyed and a wonderful holiday enjoyed by all especially as Ben was able to use all the swimming pools which added to his enjoyment."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

"A superb guest farm"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2010
"A great place to stay and much better than expected. Welcome sunset drink by the pool on arrival. The rooms which were individually furnished were luxurious and the food was excellent.

3 out of the 4 of us suffered mossi bites overnight although it was not the malaria type or the area!! Would advice using repellent at night.

Should have stayed for 2 nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"A hotel with a fantastic view"

3 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2010
"3 nights here was the right amount of time. Both rooms overlooked the lagoon with balconies.

The owners have always made us welcome especially when taking an 11 year old grandson who enjoyed the pool and their dogs.

Revisited The Raft restaurant and was disappointed, nothing like 4 years ago - maybe new owners. Menu quite limited and not much choice of seafood for which they were famous for. Went to Crazy Mama's very enjoyable and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend the French restaurant Lyon des Sables run by the hotel owners son - an absolutely fantastic meal.

We organised a day-trip to Sandwich Harbour for these travellers. They commented:

Very good day trip to Sandwich Bay - enjoyed by all. Excellent lunch and weather was warm almost too hot after our previous trip which I found very cold

Our previous trip had been with Bruno but he's too busy doing other things now, but our guide was excellent and informative and answered all of the 100 questions Ben asked him."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Exciting trip over the dunes"

15 Aug 2010 • All-day excursion

Very good day trip to Sandwich Bay - enjoyed by all. Excellent lunch and weather was warm almost too hot after our previous trip which I found very cold

Our previous trip had been with Bruno but he's too busy doing other things now, but our guide was excellent and informative and answered all of the 100 questions Ben asked him.
Excellent
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

"One look and we were off"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2010
"On arrival we were surrounded by locals trying to sell their wares and made us feel uncomfortable. The reception looked old and outdated and the owner greeted us asked if we required dinner and sent a maid! to show us our room. We were constantly pestered bu the locals as we unpacked the car then looked around the accommodation with disgust. It was scruffy outdated and a huge disappointment.

We did not feel safe as some of the windows and doors appeared to be broken or tampered with, and at that point I made a phone call to Brandberg White Lady Lodge to request if they had vacancies. Luckily they had so the car was repacked, John took the key back to reception and told the lady we were not staying. She asked why and he said it was not up to the standard we required.

Should have gone to White Lady when it was offered but did not realise the vast difference between the two places. It was a costly mistake but well worth the move."
Terrible
Location
Poor
Rooms
Terrible
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Good as always"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2010
"Accommodation was excellent in the family bungalow. Close to waterhole, swimming pool, restaurant, shop etc. Two double bedrooms both ensuite and good kitchen facilities.

Nowhere to eat outside the accom. the building is there but no furniture to go in it

The shop was poorly stocked and the service was dreadful but apparently all the parks had new computer systems which didn't work so it was painfully slow to buy anything. The icecreams were melted before they were paid for. Luckily we had bought a few tins of food before arriving so we could enjoy a couple of braais. The restaurant food at night was quite basic and although the service was good we thought it was quite expensive."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

"The best of the trip"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2010
"V friendly and helpful. The food was the best of the holiday.

The tents were very cold at night so had to close window and door flaps with difficulty in the dark, something I would have expected the staff to do while we had dinner. Also they were quite close together especially with a noisy family next door.

The pool area was lovely complete with resident zebra."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"A good halfway stop"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2010
"Accommodation OK for 1 night. Managed a braai but not sufficient kitchen equipment - no pans or tools. Did not want to use the restaurant at night as no different from Okaukeojo - basic and not cheap.

Difficult finding way back in the dark from waterhole and walk over rocks to reach it were a problem for young and old.

Everything in Etosha is very regimented from entry to departure and nothing makes one feel relaxed.

The signposts throughout the park are worn or non existant except down the Namatoni end."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Luxury camping"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2010
"The tents were very well positioned and contained everything required

Food was good well presented but small portions and no choice. 2nd night we ate in the Boma where they had really gone to town - an enjoyable evening with entertainment.

Pity about having to travel back to Etosha and sort out park fees yet again ."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Upgraded to bush camp"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2010
"Usual excellent very friendly service.

Should have gone full board as this would have included all activities for which we had to pay separately and were more expensive.

Kirsty and Ben were in Bush Chalet and we were upgraded also to the Honeymoon Suite!

Paul our game driver was very good and very helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Capetown and the Garden Route

South Africa between 6 Nov 2009 and 24 Nov 2009

Trip rating: Good
"We enjoyed the trip apart from the weather - it only warmed up the last 3 days. It was to be expected in Spring but locals could not believe the weather themselves.

This trip was a part of Africa we wanted to see although we had been to Capetown 20 years before but would not repeat as we prefer to see more wildlife and this is not the right area. It was our choice but enjoyable nevertheless.

We would have preferred more details in advance on the accomodation in SANParks as we took more equipment than necessary.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Impressed with receiving our final documents earlier than normal due to postal strikes"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Constantia Uitsig, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Pleasant hotel in peaceful surroundingsl"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2009
"First impressions were very good. Garden cottage clean fully equipped great location. Unfortunately the weather was a problem.
24 hours of rain on First full day together with cool temperature making cottage cold and damp. Requested heating which was promptly provided but caused a power cut making us late for dinner at La Colombe.

This did not go down too well with restaurant who were stuffy and very unfriendly. Apart from the food I'm not sure why its so popular with locals. Reception staff were very helpful and efficient.

Their other restaurant Uitsig was much more relaxed and friendly excellent food and dined there twice out of the 3 nights"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Auberge Burgundy

Auberge Burgundy

"Drafty Hotel in good location"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2009
"Another outdoor room on the roof alongside the swimming pool. Again the weather did not help as we had to block the door with paper to stop the rattling during the night from high winds.

Hotel room adequate had parking for the car and the restaurant across the road was so good we ate there both nights.
Just around the corner from Walker Bay with fantastic views of the whales."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Bontebok National Park

Bontebok National Park

"Chalet in the park"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2009
"Accomodation in chalet was brilliant with built in Braai which included Nesting swallows and swifts (outside of the burning area) - they just needed to keep warm overnight. Very Clean inside and out with surrounding lawns.

Map given at reception re walks not very clear and although a river runs through the park access was impossible. Eventually found the viewing deck and watched 2 porcupines in cave opposite during the daytime."
Good
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Ebb and Flow Rest Camp

Ebb and Flow Rest Camp

"House on stilts"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2009
"Lovely raised chalet with views over the reedbeds. Typical SA Parks layout. Information not very forthcoming although leaflets were available and maps for a charge.

Several walks for birdwatching once we found them. Beaches across the busy N2 beautiful if the weather had been favourable."
Good
Location
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Image alt

Point Lodge, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"The Honeymoon Suite"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2009
"This hotel was the most friendly and helpful of the whole holiday. The owners and the receptionist booked restaurants and generally made us feel very welcome.

However as the weather was not good we looked forward to a nice warm room within a hotel building but the Oyster Suite was outdoors again and as the wind rarely abated proved to be drafty and cool. The room was pleasant but needed some updating.The breakfasts were beautifully presented with fresh flowers and service very pleasant.

The hotel had a fantastic view of the lagoon and overall would have been great but for the weather which prevented any boat trips."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp

"Storms River Restcamp - a very apt name"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2009
"Due to the weather and rough seas we first wondered why we had chosen this place, till we saw whales dolphins and a seal wwhilst sitting in the lounge area of the chalet. An amazing view where you need never venture from your accomodation.

Semi detached chalet with inter-connecting door Ok if you were a family but apart from having to speak quietly it did'nt present a problem.

Great area for walking but you need to be fit. Very well equipped and clean chalet. Restaurant served good food and shop well supplied. Popular with coaches every day for lunch and shopping."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Camp Matyholweni

Camp Matyholweni

"Little thatched cottage in Addo"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2009
"The accomodation was lovely with veranda to sit outdoors on but view was spoiled by bushes in front needing trimming. This south part of Addo has very few animals - few antelope but plenty of birds.

All the accomodation in SAParks was described as basic but this was not true. The kitchens contained everything needed including full cookers in most and all had microwaves."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Addo Main Camp

Addo Main Camp

"Great place to view the elephants"

1 night Arrived 22 Nov 2009
"Nice semi bungalow all fully equipped and clean. Amazing views of elephants from the patio - could have stayed here longer!

Good restaurant and shop mainly for day trippers. Nice bird hide and waterhole lit at night. Underground waterhole badly designed - the viewing hide was too low - a comment made by many people."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

fantastic holiday

Namibia and 1 other country between 21 Sep 2007 and 10 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"would repeat trip with some small changes"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Leopards & wild dog interesting exp"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2007
"Stayed in Bush Camp - upgrade - excellent probably better than main camp as smaller and more individual than previous visit to main camp

All comment s below refer to Bush Camp"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"OK accom newly decorated & refurbished"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2007
"Waterhole bungalow newly decorated & all equip new. Office for checking in a bit formal although if you were friendly and polite all was ok.

Disliked having to wait for accom to be checked before departure although appreciate with new equip etc this would stop damage & pilfering. Very little in shop for supplies. Waterhole bungalow had no braai or cooking facilities so made to use restaurant although not too much of a problem.

Much preferred the old camp more authentic although can understand them wishing to become more upmarket."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Lovely quiet restcamp in centre of Etosha"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2007
"Lovely large clean accom with braai - very quiet - managed to buy sufficient food in shop for braai - from reading previous comments on website did not buy food in outside supermarkets as not sure whether we would have a braai or cooking facilities. Maid was well happy with all food we couldn't eat!!

Although things in the camps were taking place that week for 100 year celebrations no reason for shops to be virtually empty and toilets closed in Namutoni"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Great place to stay"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2007
"Only guests that night. Fully booked next night.

Checked on arrival if meal that night was ok with us - not suitable for Mrs B so they changed the meal to suit which appeared to be no trouble. Accom, grounds, everything was excellent.

The next day we drove off in what we thought was the right direction but it turned out to be a longer route and the manager followed us to put us on the right road."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

"local involvement"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2007
"Sundowner boat trip included children singing for us and that evening at the lodge we were entertained by Local traditional dancers and choir"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Floating tent at Ndhovu"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2007
"Offered tent on floating platform we accepted. Contained chemical toilet seemed ok - we were first to use this accom.

Bank to platform rather steep could have done with better steps - sighted close to swimming pool filter and pump noisy at times."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Good place for 40th wedding anniversary"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2007
"Unknown to us daughter had contacted lodge and we were greeted by manager Tertius who wished us a happy anniversary and a pleasant stay and arranged special evening for us. We had one of the suites for accom which was excellent especially the 3 elephants on the opposite bank as we arrived at the room.

Pleasant and well run lodge - good sundowner boat trips - loads of elephant hippo crocs"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"First trip to Botswana and Wild Dogs"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2007
"First impressions were more upmarket than Namibia in service safaris but this was to be expected.

We were collected by vehicle from river and taken within minutes to see whole pack of wild dog they had found early morning. Nice tented accom loads of room and everything well organised. Drivers allocated to us were excellent - found dogs again the following evening after tracking for hours. Very well looked after and interested in everything you wanted to see."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"What a place to see Carmine Bee-eaters"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2007
"Recently run now by managers for owners - nice couple.

Accom strange at first all open fronted but you get used to it. Boat trips as required by us with Small both mokoro and small boat. Ten S Africans in a group were other guests and keen birdwatchers/fishermen.

6 of us went to see the carmine-bee-eaters at the Red Cliffs took around 1hour each way by boat but well worth the trip."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

"A useful Stop over hotel"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2007
"Found entry into the actual hotel difficult to find particularly on a Saturday afternoon when the bar was busy but once we gained access found it to be more secure than first expected.

Disappointed with the town itself expecting more of a place to walk around but didn't feel safe. Accom was adequate in grassed grounds and restaurant was good."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

"An oasis in the desert"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2007
"Fantastic accom with excellent food and v pleasant hosts. Once again we were the only guests that night but meat was braai'd and served with excellent accompanyments.

Morning dawned wonderful blue sky but windy and - 3 degrees - freezing. Unfortunately we had to eat breakfast outdoors as repairs were taking place to their home roof so could not offer indoor facilities but not their fault.

Thought this lodge was brilliant and wished we could have stayed 2 nights then continued on to airport. Safari vehicle had puncture so we were unable to do game drive - pity."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Last day in Namibia"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2007
"This lodge was not at all as we had expected although the really cold weather did not help.

The other guests were all Germans who had been on a trip and this was their rest for 2/3 days so they were quite miserable - not much fun lying round the pool in scarves and fleeces.

The food was probably the worst of the trip. We left at 10am and went to Daan Viljoen Game Park which turned out to be a nice end to the holiday. On reflection we would have missed out on Eningu."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team