This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Family M from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

2

My Jul 2010 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 31 Jul 2010 and 15 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved it! and cant thank Maruska enought for putting this together on such short notice. besides the mix up on the accomodations. we were very satisfied! every place we stayed met or exceeded our expectations.

Maruska recommended Namibia and we agree.it is a great place! will come back."

Feedback response

We are very pleased that this family enjoyed their trip to Namibia so much. The family would have been happy for the three youngsters to have shared a room at each accommodation place rather than paying for an extra room at an extra charge. However, it is standard practice for lodges in most of southern Africa’s safari destinations to only offer the provision of an extra bed or mattress in a double/twin room for children aged 12 years or younger. Children aged over 12 years are considered adults and we are only able to book three adults into a triple or family room – rooms which are specifically designed and have enough beds to accommodate more than two adults.

During their holiday, a triple or larger room did become available between the booking date and their arrival at both Anderssons Camp and Halali. When this was reported back to us we discussed the details with each lodge and, happily, we were able to refund the family for any additional supplement paid for an extra single room.

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Safari Club SA

"review"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2010
"Perfect place to stay if you are needing an overnight in Jayburg. nice and close to airport."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Lagoon Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2010
"very nice host. and we loved the dogs!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2010
"Alex the manager could not be more helpful. everyone was very nice! made our visit to Swampamund special. loved the convenient location into town. easy walk.

Sea kayaking around Pelican Point - What a great thing to do! we love the kayaking. saw tons of seals , dolphins and a surprise visit by a humpback whale! Wow! tour guides were very nice and enthusiastic! loved the trip.

Day trip to coastal desert south of Swakopmund - Earnest was the BEST!!! we cant stop talking about our day with Earnest! he was not only informative, enthusiastic but comfortable to be around. our kids loved him especially when he told them to take off their shoes! the dune rides were exciting! loved seeing all the wild life! great great day! didnt want it to end! highly recommend! especially Earnest! good man!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Kayaking with seals"

2 Aug 2010 • Morning excursion

What a great thing to do! we love the kayaking. saw tons of seals , dolphins and a surprise visit by a humpback whale! Wow! tour guides were very nice and enthusiastic! loved the trip.
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour"

3 Aug 2010 • All-day excursion

Earnest was the BEST!!! we cant stop talking about our day with Earnest! he was not only informative, enthusiastic but comfortable to be around. our kids loved him especially when he told them to take off their shoes! the dune rides were exciting! loved seeing all the wild life! great great day! didnt want it to end! highly recommend! especially Earnest! good man!
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2010
"probably our favorite stop and we loved them all! especially loved sleeping under the stars!

the evening singers were a huge treat!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2010
"loved the camp. especailly the star gazing host. he was very informative. patient with our questions and enthusiastic about his work! love it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2010
"a nice camp. especially the night watering hole. very quiet considering the large crowd."
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2010
"loved the evening meal/event. excellent accomodations."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

"Nunda Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2010
"dont remember this place"
Average
Image alt

Mazambala Island Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Mazambala Island Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2010
"this place had a great location, loved the tours ( nature walk and safari ) we went on. but we and other guests were annoyed by the fact that you could not drink the water and they only gave you a small bottle of water to drink. and after that you had to buy water! seemed cheap and short sighted. made you question what else you were getting taken on."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Mowana Safari Lodge

"review"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2010
"not sure what this page is about."
Excellent
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Ichobezi Houseboats review"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2010
"loved it and wish we had more time on the boat. but understand that wasnt an option. the Host i believe his name wasEarnest, was wonderful, very accomodating, thought ahead about our needs, had a meal waiting for us when we arrived. He was also very positive and enthusiastic for Namibia! Wow! nice touch. loved seeing the animals from the water . waking up , laying in bed and looking out the window as elephants came down to drink was a memory i wont forget!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Impalila Island Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2010
""
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team