This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J from Bedford

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Apr 2018 trip

Namibia between 22 Apr 2018 and 11 May 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

"Fantastic accommodation,location,staff & food"

1 night Arrived 4 May 2018
"The landscape as you approach the lodge once inside the main gate is spectacular and look out for the wild horses grazing nearby. Vehicles are left at the main lodge complex and you are driven by buggy over raised walkways to your accommodation. The well equipped and spacious chalets are set amidst the lunar landscape with views from the balcony out over the plain. The winds here are strong and we kept windows closed to stop the dust from entering. You can either walk along the boardwalks or arrange to be driven to and from the main camp area serving meals. Food is delicious with a varied selection on offer (buffet). The staff are friendly and polite with the manageress coming over to speak to all guests individually and welcome them to the lodge.

With hindsight we would have stayed longer than one night here to give us the opportunity to explore the location more. We did go on the early morning activity watching the sun rise on the Spitzkoppe mountain and seeing the drawings and rock formations which we were introduced to by our very excellent guide who was clearly well versed in entertaining guests."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Ideal bird watching at Lagoon Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2018
"The current owner is retiring and so the lodge will be changing hands. The lodge is opposite the lagoon and it is just a stroll to the waterfront to watch the flamingos and other species of birds visiting the lagoon. The rooms are well equipped and spacious and no WIFI issues. The owner and staff were very welcoming and helpful and any advertised activities in the location can be booked directly through the owner although we opted to do our own sightseeing. Breakfast was excellent with good choice (including delicious pastries) and hot food also available. There is limited choice of restaurants for evening meals in Walvis Bay and not all are open 7 days a week. We did find a couple of restaurants within fairly close walking distance along the waterfront. Nearby Swakopmund is more geared up for tourism and has greater choice of restaurants and accommodation so would be a better option if stopping over to visit the area."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Scenic and unique location"

1 night Arrived 7 May 2018
"The accommodation was excellent - spacious and well equipped with great views out from the balcony - but don't be surprised if a few small uninvited guests (small lizards and spiders) find their way inside. The pathways to the tents are stony and uneven in places and not brightly lit at night so we found torches useful. Our security safe didn't work initially but was quickly rectified with a new battery. For the sundowner drinks we recommend getting up to the ridge early to get your preferred comfy seat to watch the sunset amid the unique location.
As a whole we found the evening meal experience disappointing and not what we had expected - whilst my husband enjoyed his meal I had chosen a different option and my main course was served tepid and the vegetables very overcooked and meat tough and I communicated this to the waiter who surprisingly seemed unconcerned and gave no reaction or offered a replacement as he took the plate away with food virtually untouched. At the end of the meal there was confusion with billing and we were charged for drinks ordered by other guests and this took two attempts to correct.
We went on the early morning elephant safari with our guide Rosie which was very entertaining and she ensured we spent plenty of time with the elephants once located. The desert elephants near Mowani are used to the jeeps and approached them with curiosity making this a very close encounter indeed. Rosie then took us back to camp via a scenic drive showing us some very unexpected green and lush landscape making this a very memorable experience."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"One of the best views"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2018
"The view from the chalets and main lounge/dining area is breath-taking. Pathways from the main area to the individual chalets are stony and uneven so sturdy shoes are recommended as well as torches to hand for the walk to and from the chalets early morning or after dark. Our chalet was one joined to another and we found soundproofing was an issue and we could hear the guests in the adjoining chalet. This was the only lodge we stayed at where the bathroom sink did not have a plug and the hot water in the shower was tepid at best. There was also no fridge in the chalet.
The staff were exemplary - friendly and helpful and could not do enough to ensure an enjoyable stay. Food (eg pizza) is available to order throughout the day and evening meals are set 3-course menus that are simple, yet tasty home cooking.
The WIFI here is limited to the main lounge area and we found it to be intermittent - an access code is provided by the lodge on request and there is a set limit to the amount of information that can be downloaded. Charging facilities for phones and batteries is available in the lounge area only, not the chalets.
There are a number of activities on offer - we opted for the elephant safari and were taken off-road into the bushland and nearby villages that gave a real insight into the local environment we would not have otherwise experienced. Our guide was from a local village and very informative about the area - and we did see a large herd of elephants.
We chose not to drive our hire car up the steep road to the lodge and rather left it with several others in the car-port to be looked after by the security guard. When we returned to our vehicle to continue our journey we found to our surprise that it had been cleaned and was dust free - a nice touch."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Maximize your stay at Okonjima"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2018
"This camp was superb and we only wished we had booked our stay here for longer than one night - this is top of our list for a return visit and warrants a stay of at least 2 nights to participate in all the activities. We stayed in Chalet 9 which can only be described as pure indulgence and exceeded all our expectations.
The leopard tracking with Head Guide, Rohan, was fantastic and we were lucky enough to observe a male leopard with its kill being stalked by two scavenging brown hyenas only feet from where we were seated, in addition to the other wildlife we encountered en-route.
Staff were exemplary - friendly and helpful and went out of their way to assist. The evening meal was excellent and our only disappointment would be that we had an early start for our drive to the airport and the breakfast choice was very unappealing and limited (yoghurt, bread and coffee) and no fresh fruit, juices, cheese or meat platter, or cooked food available or offered to us before we left."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team