This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel

Reviews of Strand Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

70 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Strand Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 70
Duration
Arrival date
The S Family
Plymouth

"Strand Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2023
"Strand Hotel is a well located 130 room hotel on the seafront and close to amenities of central Swakopmund. It is pleasant place to stay whilst exploring the area." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Stefano
New York

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2023
"Great hotel . The hotel is new, so it's very clean and comfortable.

We stayed in the Luxury room sea facing, it was very comfortable and well appointed, only criticism was sea view was mainly of the car park.

Location is perfect next to the ocean, very easy to get to, with very easy parking and walking distance to shopping and restaurants." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Shannon
Northants

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2023
"Hotel was good, met all our needs. Loved the sea view. Good restaurant options.

We found a nearby kayaking with seals activity which was one of the highlights of our trip... Nothing to do with the hotel though haha!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
K&G
London

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2023
"This was a modern hotel in a great location with a good selection of eating and drinking places over and above the breakfast that was included.

The oysters in the Ocean Cellar restaurant was delicious!

They have a vehicle available for guests for drop off/pick ups around Swakopmund - free of charge, just have to tip the driver - and we used it quite a bit, especially as we wanted to visit a micro brewery as well as a small gin distillery slightly out of town (Namib dunes brewery https://namibdunes.business.site/ and Stillhouse Gin http://www.stillhouseatlantic.com/ )" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Bromley

"Strand Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2022
"Great location, lovely hotel.

It was nice to have a couple of days relaxing in "Civilization" after early mornings & long days at the Desert Lodge.

Good restaurants, easy to walk into the town.

Although not directly related to the Strand Hotel, we did some fantastic trips in Swakop : Kayaking with Seals & Sandwich Harbour tour, both highly recommended" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs L
Birmingham

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2022
"We were really lucky to find we had been upgraded to the presidential suite, which was fabulous with a really long balcony. The location is ideal, on the sea front and an easy walk to the local shops. We ate at their fish restaurant our first night and the food was excellent.

The breakfast was the biggest we came across variety-wise and good quality.

The hotel are happy to arrange trips for you and we went for a half-day dune driving which included checking out the flamingos at Walvis Bay. It was good fun with plenty of stops for the views." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D.
East Lulworth

"Strand Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2022
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
PC Green
Schrassig

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2022
"Rather ordinary hotel, but visit to Walvis Bay was exceptional." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Jonathan
Newcastle

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2022
"A new hotel compared to all the previous ones so a bit of a shock to the system. However, location great, fish restaurant good, steak bar nice, staff unbelievably friendly and helpfull, rooms lovely with a great view over the ocean.

There was some work going on which meant that the other couple we were staying with had to exit the hotel and walk round the back to get to reception but no more than a small inconveniece.

Breakfast was unbelievable - everything from Oysters to cakes to cereals to cold platter to full cooked breakfast, as good as anywhere we've been." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs C
Barbados

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2022
"We cheated and upgraded to a suite when we arrived so this review is a little biased….. we had booked a luxury room which whilst very tasteful was really quite small so we asked and paid for an upgrade.

Swakamund is a wonderful town and provides a fabulous break from the desert and lodge life.

The strand hotel is a “proper hotel” that is virtually brand new and very tastefully decorated….. with lots of nice touches! We ate in the fish restaurant one night and the food was excellent and the breakfasts were also varied and tatsy. There are three restaurants and all are highly rated with fab menus (we chose to eat at the Tug on our second night which was also excellent)

We took the opportunity to rest here after many early morning photographic starts and it was the perfect location and facilities for that.

The only thing that you might expect at this type of property is a swimming pool which they don’t have but as that is not something we would use ….. we didn’t miss it" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 70
89%
70 reviews of Strand Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
38
26
5
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


94% (280 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


88% (173 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


88% (65 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (64 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (55 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (48 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

Colourful and contemporary in style, The Delight is a relatively large hotel within a short walk of Swakopmund's waterfront, restaurants and main attractions.


93% (33 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


80% (24 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


89% (18 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Cornerstone Apartments

Cornerstone Apartments

Cornerstone Guesthouse’s three self-catering apartments, each in its own unique location, work well for families or groups of travellers seeking space & privacy within a comfortable, contemporary setting.


96% (9 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


91% (9 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


94% (7 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


73% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Pearls Beach Pods

Pearls Beach Pods

With a beachfront location, superb sea views and easy access to the amenities of Swakopmund, The Pearls Beach Pods combine privacy with a high standard of luxury.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa