This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

635 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 45 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

3% success

Cheetah

12% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

40% success

White Rhino

27% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 635
Duration
Arrival date
Ts
Gloucestershire

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2019
"We completely understand the appeal of Okaukuejo camp with the waterhole on-site and very easy access into Etosha. The waterhole was very quiet whilst we were there, but we really enjoyed sitting there after dark and watching the owls etc. flying around. The accommodation was a little tired and could perhaps do with some updating, but to be honest we spent very little time there as we were out from sunrise-sunset in Etosha!

Unfortunately, we didn't receive particularly good service whilst at Okaukuejo camp. It was very difficult to get useful information from staff both during check-in and at other times. We were told when we checked in that we would need to book a table at the restaurant for dinner. We went to the restaurant to book and they sent us back to reception to book. This happened several times and in the end our details were scribbled onto a piece of paper in the restaurant. When we arrived for dinner, no table had been booked and the staff we fairly rude to us, implying this was our fault. They reluctantly (even though there were lots of free tables around), gave us a table but we ate pretty quickly as we didn't feel that welcome! We were probably unlucky in our experience because we were treated well the next evening.

The location definitely made up for any short-falls in service quality!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Great Waterhole"

3 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2018
"The main attraction of this camp is the waterhole, which was still busy despite the recent rains in Etosha. Our waterhole chalet was modern but fairly cramped, but its position opposite the waterhole was good as we just had to walk a few yards to the seats around it. Watching several elephants and their calves bathing at 4.00am was magical!

The other advantage of the camp is that you can exit into Etosha at sunrise for an early morning game drive ( even though the deterioration in Etosha's roads in the last couple of years can make this uncomfortable). This is certainly the best time to see game.

The camp is large and can be noisy (especially from the campsite). The restaurant, although not cheap, provides reasonable food although its management is somewhat chaotic albeit the staff are very friendly.

One of the swimming pools was out of use and had not been drained and looked disgusting!" See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms T.
London

"Basic and grubby"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2018
"We didn't get on well with this place, we found it basic and filthy. On top of it one of us was sick here without having any of their food and drinking only bottled water (we think most likely from the dirty cups in the room).

As much as we loved Etosha and seeing the amazing wildlife, Okaukuejo accommodation was not pleasant. If I knew it would have been like this I would have opted to stay outside of Etosha in a private lodge instead.

Again I realise we might have been unlucky with room allocation, we had room 72." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Sightings Report

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mrs M & Mr S
USA

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2018
"Camp facility better than Halali, room was near the waterhole, where we spent time late into the night and early in the morning. We were never disappointed with the diverse and numerous wildlife.

We drove far to the west and enjoyed the outback as well as large Etosha pan.
We enjoyed the large selection of bird types and habitats.

not sure I know if the antelopes were the roan or sable??" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

10 sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Northum

"Worth staying for the waterhole"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2018
"We stayed here for one night and my original thoughts after reading the reviews, was I did not want to stay there. However Megan (from Expert Africa) persuaded us it was a great place to stay because of the water hole. I can now say I am pleased she did.

We checked in late because we broke down just inside the park but instead of finding difficult people, as described in other reviews we read, we found the staff helpful. Ludwiana in particular was very nice and even said our room should not be examined when we left as there was no inventory list in the room when we arrived. It certainly is not luxurious like the other lodges we stayed in but probably what you would expect from a government run lodge.

The room was a decent size and the air con worked, there was a mosquito net which covered the bed and the fridge was more than adequate for our needs. We were in a standard double room and only a few minutes walk from the waterhole. We didn’t eat in the restaurant as we bought our own food at the bakery and supermarket in Outjo, after reading the reviews. However when I passed the restaurant several times people seemed to be enjoying their food. Also speaking to others who had eaten there you can get eggs to order and the food was good.

It was great being inside the park at night, sitting by the waterhole watching the animals wander down at night. We saw a mother and calf black rhino, elephants, giraffes jackals and zebra. It was lovely just sitting there for as long as you wanted to watch them. While we were there we did not encounter people being noisy as others have found. I would say you need to get down there early to get one of the seats.

All in all I would recommend at least one night here and I think we probably should have stayed even two. Don't let the reviews put you off, give it a chance.

" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr A & Mrs K
Wilts

"Somewhat disappointing"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2018
"Accommodation very tired. In need of repair and decoration. This is a large camp and very impersonal. If we did the trip again we would stay on private reserves outside Etosha and then drive in during the day. Meals are all buffet and resembled school dinners!

Only saving grace was the floodlit waterhole giving good sightings of elephant, giraffe and black rhino.

Of all the places we stayed this was the only one that really disappointed." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2018
"I am afraid that the quality of food at Okaukuajo is somewhat disappointing and has gone downhill from the last time we visited. The choice has be greatly reduced, the presentation uninspiring and quality poor and at the price now being charged for a meal certainly does not represent value for money. There is no alternative choice so it's just grin and bear it but you won't starve.

The waterhole at Okaukuejo is always it's most outstanding feature and always worth a visit" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr& Mrs T
Poole

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"Rooms and restaurant adequate but not exciting. The waterhole was exceptional especially as we saw our first rhino in the wild.

The camp served its purpose as a base in the Etosha park with a very good floodlit waterhole.

No complaints." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

5 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

6 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr A
Somerset

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"THE WATERHOLE AT OKAUKUEJO IS ITS MAIN ATTRACTION" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Okaukuejo great waterhole let down by camp."

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"The waterhole is the only draw of this camp. the number of animals and birds visiting was amazing. Three Rhinos each night was a highlight.

Our room was a bush chalet with a braii. The chalet was quite roomy and had all we required and everything worked but it lacked maintenance. We cooked our evening meals on the braii with food we bought on the way to the camp. We also brought all plates etc that you need for a barbecue as none supplied.

The chalet was fairly near the waterhole. we had a light lunch and a breakfast in the camp restaurant which were OK. The staff were fine if you treated them with respect which unfortunately not all guests did." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 21-30 of 635
83%
635 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
280
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa