This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

709 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 116 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

69% success

Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

19% success

Giraffe

99% success

Zebra

96% success

Oryx

96% success

Elephant

95% success

Wildebeest

95% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

59% success

Eland

45% success

White Rhino

35% success

Brown Hyena

22% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Sable antelope

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 709
Duration
Arrival date
Explorer
Dan Brownlee

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2023
"Interesting stop. Nice room, close to the waterhole. The food and bev were "institutional". What you would expect from a "park facility" We drove west the 1st day, planning to go east the 2nd day. The drive west was a waste of time. Few animals and just open prairieland. In the afternoon we drove east and that's where the action is. Numerous animals!

The drive across the park on day 2 was excellent. Hundreds of zebras, springbok, oryx, wildabeest, giraffes, elephants, kudu, eland, a mother cheetah and 5 cubs!" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

DD & PK
New York

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2023
"We stayed at a premier waterfront chalet, and it was absolutely worth it! Among many other animals, we saw a baby rhino and a baby elephant with their respective mothers at the waterhole from our balcony in the evening. The best part of staying at the park was the park's ealy morning and night game drives, which cannot be done from outside Etosha Park, given the gate opening and closing times. We saw two lions from very close and a honey badger on the early morning game drive and a spotted hyena and caracal on our night drive. The food at the park restaurant was fine--not great but not terrible. But that's not the reason to stay at Okaukuejo in the park." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs K
Andover

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2023
"Very pleasantly surprised. Government run camp with dated rooms but very clean and the food very nice.

The waterhole and the location in Etosha is the reason for staying here. Saw elephants, black rhino, hyena and plenty of game at the waterhole. Sit for a while in the evening and you’ll see plenty of wildlife." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr D.
Stillwater

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2023
"Comments from the Halali camp will be echoed here. Same type of camp environment, level of service, food, etc--all OK...no complaints...but not on par with private lodges outside the park (or those experienced in Botswana).

The location inside the park and with an adjacent, lighted waterhole are big attractions for this camp as a place to settle for the night." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr&Mrs L.
Paris

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2023
"Very good experience of the Camp.I had low expectations and thus was pleasantly surprised.Not luxurious but conveniently located near the pan.( 2mns'walk from our chalet).It was quite big, and beds as usual very comfortable.

Good food.

Very quiet at this period of year." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Shannon
Northants

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 May 2023
"The watering hole was another trip highlight

The site, room and food weren't great, but staying in the national park was worth it" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Wallington
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2023
"As everyone points out, this is run by the state and is only stayed at for the central location and the magnificent water-hole.
Breakfast was chaotic, and this is the only place we decided to cook our own dinner.
They also ran out of diesel, which necessitated a detour to fill up.
Despite all this, we enjoyed the stay." See all these reviews: 30n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
HarlowJones
Oxted

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2023
"We were travelling out of season so staying here was largely to take advantage of the waterhole to see animals that we might not otherwise see.

It’s a mixed bag - the rooms are very basic but clean and the food is simple with a limited selection but we found it to be very good and with nice service.

One surprise was the bats living in our room which gave us quite a shock - luckily we had substantial mosquito nets which also work well on bats.

The pool was most welcome as it was very hot but you can see that the camp is underfunded by the lack of things like pool loungers and umbrellas (shade was at a premium).

The waterhole is fascinating and we did see rhino several times which was a treat." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms U
Idaho

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2023
"We requested to stay at Okauejo due to the waterhole. As it was the rainy season not much was there.

Still the location in Etosha was great so I would recommend staying in the chalets but would bring my own food. Also wifi was erratic making paying other than with cash difficult. (Using credit cards was easy everywhere else including all gas stations.)

We really enjoyed seeing Etosha in the rainy season. My son is very interested in reptiles and amphibians which abound during this time of year. I loved seeing all the babies. We watched a baby impala examine a millipede. Its reaction when the millipede was priceless.

We also got remarkably close to rhino and giraffe.

There were very few people in the park but the people there were very eager to share siting information." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2022
"We had been warned to lower our expectations for this camp, and had also read several other reviews, which are not that complimentary. Overall, we were perfectly satisfied with our stay here. It is all about the location and the waterhole, to be able to optimise your animal viewing in Etosha. It is not as luxurious as other lodges we stayed in. But in our view it is absolutely fine, and allowed us to be straight out game viewing as soon as the park opened, and in the park until the very last second before it closed.

There are a few forms to fill out at check in. Luckily we were 2nd in line, as a large queue formed in the office as we waited. There is a separate line for check in and for park fees, so I quickly sorted the fees and bought a map of the park from the shop across the way whilst Alexa queued whilst the group in front of us finished checking in. There are now signs around the site requesting that cards are used over cash for payments, although you can still use both. You need to purchase credit vouchers to use the wifi, so we did not bother.

We also found the food in the evenings to be absolutely fine, albeit a very limited menu, (chicken, beef or Hake with veg) and the service was good. This may have just been a matter of timing - as we sat down various patrons at other tables were getting very angry and were demanding to be allowed to order or chasing up where their food was. I should also say for for the interests of balance, these same patrons then painstakingly went through said v short menu, asking ridiculous questions.

Our waitress took our order promptly, and the food itself did not take very long to arrive. Breakfast had cold options such as yoghurts, meat, cheeses, fruit salad and cereals laid out, as well as bread / toast with a choice of a few condiments. There is also a hot trolley with bacon, beans and sausages + scrambled egg, and a chef on hand to cook omelettes etc . A tea and coffee station is always available to use (as long as a jolly dutchman does not mistake the milk urn for a teapot, and chuck in a few teabags before realising his mistake and sidling off!) We arrived back for breakfast (06.30-09.30) at about 09.20 from a game drive both mornings, which gave us enough time to eat all we wanted at a leisurely pace before it was cleared away.

The room is alright, but the decor was looking a little tired in places. It has a large bed and mosquito nets, air conditioning and an en suite. It also has a small kitchenette with fridge, kettle, sink and hob + a small sofa and coffee table. We did have an issue with the flush on our toilet, which we reported straight away after we arrived. Someone did come out and attend to it whilst we were on an afternoon game drive, but it never fully worked for the entirety of our stay. This didn't really bother us too much, as there were other blocks of toilets nearby that we could use, or we were out on game drives anyway. The rooms closest to the waterhole look newer, larger, and more luxurious, so future guests could try to get into one of these if they are worried about the standards of the rooms in general.

The staff did not ask about any itinerary of items when we checked out, but we had taken some picture of the room when we arrived and leaving just in case. Check out was a very simple process. We also filled up with fuel here just before checking out. The card machine here had temporarily stopped working, but they seemed to have plenty of fuel for guests. There is a new petrol station about 5km south of the Anderson gate outside the park." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

5 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 31-40 of 709
83%
709 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
254
319
110
24
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (332 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (265 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (162 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (155 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (103 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


93% (100 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (87 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (75 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (38 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (37 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


95% (20 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (8 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa