This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

635 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 45 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

3% success

Cheetah

12% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

40% success

White Rhino

27% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 635
Duration
Arrival date
Family A
Scarborough

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2018
"You do not come here for luxury. It is all about the waterhole and what you can see.

Our chalet was right on the edge of the waterhole but also right next to the sewage treatment hut. That was smelly ( I kept blaming the elephants but they were, on this occasion, innocent).

We saw the most extraordinary sitings. Lions killing a giraffe, 8 black rhinos in the waterhole.

The central restaurant was not great. Go early so the food is hot. It was a pain that you could not braai. The swimming pool was out of action the whole time we were there and had been for some time.

We had an excellent night drive. " See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

10 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs Braddock
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2018
"Anybody going to Namibia for a holiday is going to go to Etosha and on an anti-clockwise overall trip they will arrive first here. This is quite a large camp with a good restaurant serving excellent food. Rooms are adequate and clean and spacious but the best bit is the Waterhole!!!!!!

Just sitting quietly around the hole during the day or when lit up at night you can see so much!!!! On our first night a pride of Lions caught a giraffe just outside the range of the light but the morning brought the spectacle of their capture with a number of feeding lions. We were also blessed with no less than 9 Rhinos at the hole the following evening. A magical place in itself but venture out into the park and you have a feast of wildlife sightings!!!!!!

Great camp to visit!!!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

9 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

10 sightings

Sable antelope

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

A and A
Cossington

"Fantastic location makes worth it"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2018
"Everything we had read about the camp itself was accurate - indifferent service and food, bureaucracy, basic rooms, but we didn't care because the waterhole 50 metres from our room made it all worthwhile.

We went on a morning game drive with the camp, which we thought was well worth it - you go out 30 minutes before other cars, you are in an open jeep with a high seating position, see the sunrise and of course the driver knows where the game is!

We then spent hours at the water hole, which was full of game nearly all the time. A huge bonus is that it's floodlit, so game viewing continues long after the park gates have closed. We witnessed a lion hunt one evening (and the devouring of the giraffe carcass by lions, jackals and vultures the next morning)." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Ms E
France

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"After coming to enjoy the other lodges we had just stayed in so much, staying at the Okaukuejo Camp was a real dip in our trip. It could not have been less personalized, it felt like the appointed pit stop where cruise ships would dump their masses of tourists. The restaurant felt like a retirement home cafeteria and the food gave both my husband and I stomach problems for the next few days.

The rooms were also sterile and the staff were rude.

We also paid the expensive price to go on one of their safari rides and again, there was nothing special about this. During all of our other rides at different lodges, the guides were go off road a bit to try to see the animals, but at Okaukuejo we stayed on road the entire 3 hours. If we had known we would have just done this ride in our own car.

The watering hole at Okaukeujo was its saving grace where we did see some exciting animals at night - lions, rhinos, and giraffes. " See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

C & D
Woking/Brighton

"Busy,bustling camp but friendly & comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"It was certainly busier here than all the other places we stayed but the room was comfortable and the flood lit waterhole definitely a great attraction - we saw 4 rhino and elephant both nights.

The night drive was quite long (3 hours) and chilly but watching and waiting at the waterholes was rewarded with more rhino sightings. There were many cars/trucks in the area which meant crowds where elephants, lion and rhino were spotted.

The staff were friendly but busy, mealtimes a little less relaxing than elsewhere but food was good and well presented. " See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr D & Prof H
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"Unfortunately this was the worst place we stayed at during our three-week trip.

The staff are trying their best but there aren't enough of them (or they haven't received the necessary training) to cope with the large size of the camp and the large numbers of visitors. This meant that we encountered inefficiencies e.g. checking-in, booking a game drive and issues around paying for dinner in the restaurant. We stayed in a bush chalet which was in need of major improvement and updating. The room was dark and dingy, and was not at the same level as the other lodges we stayed in.

The big draw is the waterhole although we saw all the game we could have hoped for (and more) from our next base in Namutoni, also in Etosha. The night drive activity at Okaukuejo was OK although more expensive than comparable activities in other camps.
" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs R
Syderstone

"Okaukuejo is Okaukuejo!"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"Okaukuejo has changed little in the four trips, over 18 years, that we have made. It does the job in providing accommodation and food, alongside unrivalled 24 hour access to the floodlit waterhole. We would certainly not choose to stay outside Etosha, just for possible higher-class accommodation at a much more expensive rate.

The check-in and check-out processes are slow, but there are lots of people, especially if you arrive at the end of the day and leave first thing in the morning. Just be patient.

Our room was rather tired and dated and, although there was a kitchenette, this had no crockery or cutlery. It was clean and tidy and everything worked. It would be rather difficult to cater for yourself.

The restaurant has improved over the years and the service is good. You do have to book for dinner, which is easily done, and you will be better received than if you just walk in and expect a table. The food is typical mass-catering buffet-style, but is hot and perfectly edible.

The waterhole never disappoints, day or night. We spent 5 hours there one morning and saw literally hundreds of animals of all types, constantly coming and going. It was an amazing sight and experience.

As long as you go to Okaukuejo expecting lots of people and the limitations that this puts upon the catering, service and accommodation, then you won't be disappointed.

" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

B family
Weybridge

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"The waterhole makes this camp. The rooms, food and facilities are quite basic but being able to watch endless animals coming to the waterhole to drink on an ongoing basis with a glass of wine in your hand make this really special.

If you can get beyond the fact that there quite a lot of people milling about and get lost in the safari movie in front of you, you will love it. We saw many rhino, giraffes and lots of antelope but the highlight was watching what must have been about 40 elephants at sunset. This waterhole had more action than many of the ones within the park that you drive to, so to have this within easy reach at all times it ideal.

Definitely the place to stay in Etosha. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

5 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
St Albans

"All about location "

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2018
"Location is spot on. Right by the waterhole where the rhino come.

Accommodation is basic, but perfectly clean and ideal for a night.

Breakfast was a nice surprise and served early enough to get out of the gate as they open.

Olifantsbad waterhole is a perfect distance drive for the last waterhole of the day. We saw a super heard of elephants." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

8 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

7 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr S
UK

"Wonderful spot, bad food"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2018
"The camp has a phenomenal watering hole, but accommodation is dirty and feels a little stale inside.

Food is also not wonderful - whilst there we observed a chef serving cooked meat and placing raw meat onto a grill whilst also at the same time using the same tongs to serve cooked meat. We mentioned this to a waitress who didn't understand the issue this could cause." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

2 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Showing 31-40 of 635
83%
635 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
280
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa