This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

635 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 45 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

3% success

Cheetah

12% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

40% success

White Rhino

27% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 635
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs T
Reading

"Interesting!!"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2018
"This place does the job it sets out to do

The cleanliness couldn't be faulted especially with the volume of people passing through but the service at mealtimes was dire. Utterly dire, so bad it was hilarious. We got fed and watered but we spent quite bit of time debating whether the girls serving just didn't give a s**t or were very stupid and we couldn't decide which.

No issues with security and when I did go to report certain items missing from the room inventory when we checked in I got ushered into a side room as I think they thought I was making a big complaint. Deposit given back without a quibble or check the next day.

The waterhole was a joy, we sat and watched the nights coming and going for hours. " See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"Waterhole excellent"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2018
"Okaukeujo is an essential stop while travelling through Etosha, as the wildlife sightings are excellent. Sadly the food and accommodation were not that good. Our chalet was dismally decorated, though always clean. The buffet style meals are overpriced and disappointing and the staff lack the enthusiasm and interest that greeted us in the rest of Namibia.
We were given wrong information about the opening times of the snack bar and so missed it. The stock of food at the shop is not good. Very difficult to self cater
" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

CathyO
Glasgow

"Great waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2018
"While the accommodation did not match previous places we stayed it was spacious and comfortable. Highlight of the camp is the waterhole at which you are certain to see an abundance of wildlife.

Booking in was not great and were not provided with information either about how things work in the camp or in the park itself. The staff were pretty disinterested and did the bare minimum.. all of these shortcomings however fade when we entered the park itself.

Oh must mention the picnic/toilet areas - shocking. not fit for purpose but I guess you know that.

We did the night drive and would not recommend it. We realised that there was the possibility we would not see much and we didnt but the guide made no comment on the fact that we did not see much as if this was normal." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Great time in our Premier Waterhole Chalet"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2018
"We knew what to expect and it lived up to those expectations.

The room (Premier Waterhole Chalet) was very spacious and of course had a great view of the waterhole." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs K
Andover

"Okaukuejo about location"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2018
"Okaukuejo is a basic government run camp. Don’t expect too much then you wont be disappointed.

However this place is all about its incredible waterhole and the wildlife which visit. We spent a couple of hours one evening sitting by the floodlit waterhole and saw elephants, giraffes, white rhinos, spotted hyena, zebras and various antelope.

Would recommend a one night stay here (take your binos for the night viewing). " See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

White Rhino

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs P
Cheltenham

"Wow, what a waterhole!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2018
"If you want to be able to go to the best waterhole in Etosha, this is the place to stay. A constant flow of EVERY animal, apart from lions although we heard them but even night visits by rhinos.

The accommodation was not as up market as our others but we had clean sheets both nights and it was certainly much better than we had been led to anticipate. The food was buffet style and considering they were catering for masses of people, it was good.

A great location to explore the numerous waterholes near by and of course the opportunity to watch wildlife easily at night without the need for a guide, was fantastic." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr W & Miss P
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2018
"Short distance from Doro Nawas so arrived just after midday. Nice travel after a nightmare 7 hour drive previously.

A lot of bureacracy to pay for days in the park and then even more to get the keys to the accommodation. Info taken at the gate and then a ledger to fill in at the camp to pay for access which was til midday on our third day. When i asked if i could pay for longer on the third day as we were leaving from the east gate the lady behind the counter wrote on the pass addding 2 more hours. then a second ledger and a file to fill in for the accommodation.We were given a photocopied map of the site and our accommodation and the restaurant marked on it. No mention of the waterhole.The staff here appeared particularly jaded.

The map also listed game drives that could be undertaken at dawn, afternoon or evening, but when we asked if we could book one we were told there were no drivers and then a big party had booked the following afternoon so there was no opportunity to do a guided drive.

Having said that self drive was great as you could go out at any time between dawn to dusk and the waterhole on site was a magnet for game at all times of day. which is why I would say this camp is a must. Pre dinner and after dinner saw rhino, elephants and lions at the waterhole.

Dinner and breakfast were help yourself buffet style but food was basic and often the trays were empty.

We did have glossy starlings with chicks nesting in our porch roof and we had a visit from a bat that appeared in our room one morning. One pool was drained for repairs during our stay and the other looked like something had died in it." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

TansySue
UK

"Stay in Etosha for the floodlit waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2018
"Okaukuejo Camp is a government owned and run camp site - and very big resort compared to all the other places we stayed. It was an essential part of our safari as the waterhole chalets were very close to the floodlit waterhole which attracted many different animals. We saw zebra, impala, elephant, black-backed jackals and 8 Black rhino. In fact we also saw jackals wandering around inside the camp. Many people thronged around the waterhole at dusk and after dinner - these were all staying on site, many in tents. In fact there were far too many people for comfortable viewing and many were not there to watch the wildlife but to chat too loudly and drink.

Our single story waterhole chalet No. 13 was well set back from the waterhole, in fact there were really only 4 chalets near enough to be able to see the nightlife from their 1st floor room. Our room was O.K. - it had all the necessaries for a good night's sleep although the bed linen was very tired. A kettle inside the rustic wardrobe was a bonus but there was really insufficient space for our luggage.

Restaurant/Food - Very variable - rather like school diners, all buffet style. Catering for so very many people including those camping. I would give the food and dining experience only 2 stars at very best.

In summing up, just one night in this particular lodge for it's unique waterhole would have been enough for us although another night in the area as there is so much to see in this part of Etosha - we met a lion and a rhino on the road just outside the camp gates early morning and the most memorable was watching hundreds (literally) of zebra come in to drink from a fresh water spring on the edge of the pan at Okondka." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

8 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Barracks like accommodation in Etosha"

1 night Arrived 26 Apr 2018
"This is a government run camp and the main selling point is the location rather than the camp itself. We stayed in 2017. Nothing had changed. Indifferent buffet meal served by willing but rather muddled staff and overseen by a rude and patronising cashier. Swimming pool out of service. Accommodation though basic is clean. Fine for an overnight stay given the quality of wildlife around the camp.
" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Terrible
Mr K
Maidstone

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2018
"A complete change of attitude so that the odd friendly smile and conversation was the exception rather than the rule.

We paid our N$500 deposit, but there was no inventory to check (nor was there a physical check at any time) and equipment in the chalet was basic - nothing not 'fixed'. There are two pools, one more like a pond with growth and the other not clear.

The food was very 'school dinner' self-service and reminders to re-stock needed, quality was way down on the two previous stops. Breakfast for the later guests on our first morning (us at around 7.30 only) was virtually without choice. A disappointment in that respect.

The waterhole was sadly bereft of wildlife but an enjoyable 'sundowner' setting watching weaver birds." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Showing 41-50 of 635
83%
635 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
280
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa