This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

635 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 45 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

3% success

Cheetah

12% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

40% success

White Rhino

27% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 635
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M
Midlothian

"Not bad for a government facility"

1 night Arrived 5 Apr 2018
"It was about what we expected.

Nothing to complain about but we had been spoilt by better!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs JW
SW London

"Better than we were led to believe"

2 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2018
"We were led to believe that this would be pretty awful because it is Government run, and so our expectations were low. In fact, with one notable exception (a very rude woman in the tourist shop) the staff were pleasant and several were very friendly.

We had to make our own way to our chalet near the waterhole - understandable because it's such a big place - and found it clean and reasonably comfortable, if a bit small and characterless.

We didn't do any of the guided drives, preferring to drive ourselves because the guided drives couldn't go anywhere we couldn't.

The wifi wasn't free and didn't work very well. It must have been faulty because our 150mb was used up in a few minutes and our complaint didn't get very far.

Dinner and breakfast were buffets. Nothing spectacular - it was fine.

It was nice being close to the waterhole and being able to sit out in the morning and evening watching the animals." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr D
Farnham

"Potential in need of a positive boost! "

2 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2018
"The place is bit run down and clearly has a management that cares little for what are quite disintereted and miserable staff. It is a bit like staying in an old Eastern Block country. This is unfortunate, as the site is well laid out, with comfortable chalets - ours even had a Braai / BBQ pit - and still has the potential to be a top place to stay, with an amazing waterhole." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs C
Shrewsbury

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2017
"We had good accommodation & it was good to be able to partly self cater even though there was no cutlery or crockery, we had to hire them from the kitchen.

The shop was poorly stocked.The breakfast was only average, the camp was very busy & I think the staff couldn't keep up.

We would thoroughly recommend getting a room with a BBQ, it may not be by the waterhole but it was more private & great to cook our own food.

The lions roaring at night was truly magical. It was wonderful to be so near to the wildlife, we didn't have to drive far before encountering a pride of lions." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Dr & Mrs S
France

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2017
"This was our fourth visit to Okaukeujo. This is a good location within Ethosha for game viewing - but far too many people!

The standard rooms are cramped and claustrophobic - would be ok for a short overnight stay but no good for several nights. We have previously stayed in the waterhole rooms and the bush chalets which are much better.

It is difficult to understand why the quality of food and service in the restaurant at Okaukeujo is so much inferior to that at the sister camps Halali and Namutoni - I suppose nobody cares." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 8n in Zimbabwe; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Poor
Dr B
Armidale

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2017
"Just the minor glitch about our reservations (one double room instead of a chalet), but handled well by Tom Morris" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Frank & Cath
Retford

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2017
"Much more mass market than the other places. Nowhere near enough sun beds at the pool.

The night drive was excellent - we were lucky enough to see a lion - and the water hole attracted lots of interesting wildlife including rhinos." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Thank goodness for the waterhole!"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2017
"You go into Etosha expecting rather less in terms of comfort at the camps. Okaukuejo lives up to that! Much more than the others. The rooms are pokier, and it all feels more institutional. It's worth going into the shop just to see how little it offers (although an alcoholic might enjoy it). The most important thing in the restaurant is the reservation list and ticking it off. The least important is the food - although, with careful selection, you can just about put together something vaguely edible. Don't be too late for breakfast! It runs out early. (In fact, there were no eggs one day). ...So watch out if you are out and about and returning with a sharp appetite.

Let's be positive. The staff, especially in the rooms, do a good job. And the waterhole - as many reviews suggest - makes up for all of it. Where else will you see a couple of groups of lions, a few elephants, half a dozen white rhino, and giraffe, all within a couple of hours. And there always seems to be exciting animals not too far away ( south and east being the best directions in drier times)

There are moves afoot to add an element of privatisation to the camp. It may well shake things up in a few years. Glory be." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs C
Cambridge

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2017
"OK, so this is a big camp in a National Park but don't let that stop you staying here. The wildlife viewing is superb.

Food was fine - chef even concocted something just for us one evening (we are vegetarian)." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Hook

"Excellent lodge for game viewing"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2017
"This lodge is government run and therefore the overall standards do not compare with the private lodges we had previously stayed in. Nevertheless we found it to be of a good standard overall.

However, the game viewing was exceptional. We did our own game viewing during the day, but the main attraction of this lodge, apart from location within Etosha, is the water hole. The two nights spent here, we saw numerous rhino and elephants and many other mammals. The water hole is very close to the camp so is easily accessible for all, with plenty of seating. " See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 635
83%
635 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
280
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa