This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

706 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 113 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

70% success

Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

18% success

Giraffe

99% success

Zebra

96% success

Oryx

96% success

Elephant

95% success

Wildebeest

94% success

Black Rhino

89% success

Spotted Hyena

59% success

Eland

44% success

White Rhino

37% success

Brown Hyena

23% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Sable antelope

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 706
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs L.
London

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2023
"The waterhole here is incredible - even saw an African rock python next to me in a tree!

Check in is chaotic and rooms are basic, but can’t beat the location" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr N
United Kingdom

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2023
"The waterhole was very nice. However, the hotel itself was not great.

We had the premier waterhole chalet. We were woken up in the middle of the night by a bat on the first night, and the same happened again on the second night, even after we asked the hotel to clear the room. The hotel then suggested it was our fault for leaving the door open during the day, something we had never done (but which all their cleaning staff do).

There was probably simply a family of bats in the thatched roof - bats like thatched roof and I suspect the hotel hadnt cleaned it. Generally, the hotel rooms were not very clean with dust, cobwebs and other signs of dirt." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
PCF
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2023
"My favourite camp in Etosha - due to the activity at the waterhole - especially at night.

Well worth the addition of the premier waterside chalets, as you can sit to your hearts content watching - all night if you want! Saw lots and lots of animals here, including 7 rhinos all at once one evening, 15 giraffe - large herds of elephants and even lions visited to take a drink and to stalk local wildlife - without success.

Camp food is fairly basic, but edible. Some staff are amazing, others need a bit more training.

We found the reception staff to be very helpful when we had a glitch - have been before and would go again.

Love this place!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

7 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Stuart
London

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2023
"Gets the 4* only because of the waterhole. Rooms OK but less charm than other places we stayed.

Food quality was good, but service hopelessly slow and chaotic.

Not enough sun loungers around the pool.

But the floodlit waterhole was one of the highlights of our holiday." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Okaukuejo, 2nd short stay"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2023
"To get here we had driven back from the east side of the park, again seeing many animals.

One memorable sighting was of a large group of about 30 elephants of various ages at a large waterhole in the park. Several of them entered the water. The younger ones particularly seemed to be having fun submerging themselves and splashing around. Back at Okaukuejo Camp 2 large groups of elephants visited the waterhole in the late afternoon. Again the younger ones enjoyed splashing around.

Around 9pm at least 6 Black Rhinos visited. 3 or 4 had a youngster with them.

Our chalet was near the waterhole again, and was quite comfortable. The meal at the restaurant was of decent quality." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

6 sightings

Elephant

9 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Large government run camp in the heart of Eto"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2023
"We had two separate one night stays here. This was the first stay. The two separate stays actually worked very well as after the first stay we left for two nights in a lodge in the east of Etosha. We came back for one night before continuing our travels. Driving long distances through the park enabled us to see lots of wildlife, more than we would have seen if we had stayed in the vicinity of the camp.

Our first impressions were how big the camp was. As well as a campground there are many individual chalets. We stayed in a chalet near the waterhole.

Evenings seemed to be the best time to see animals at the waterhole. We saw two elephants, a giraffe, and when it was dark 2 black rhinos. An afternoon drive with a guide was rather disappointing, except for seeing one black rhino at a waterhole in the park. Also a steenbok. The guide spotted a lioness lying under a tree about 200 metres away, but his eye was better than ours!

Driving through the park the following day we saw many many animals: elephants; giraffes; zebra; wildebeest; springbok; ostriches;

One comment re administration: It would be good if, on check-in, one could check in and pay the park fee with the same person. At present, there are two separate queues, one for checking in/out. A second to pay the park fee." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Bintang
Cambridge

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2023
"We stayed in a Premier Waterhole Chalet, on of 4 double storey chalets overlooking the waterhole. Well worth paying the extra cost even if you don't need all the beds. Other waterhole chalets don't actually look over the waterhole. You can sit on the upstairs veranda enjoying a quiet drink whilst waiting for the game to arrive. A times there was no activity but then the waterhole was full of elephants, followed by other game, all appearing to take their turn.

Expert Africa's information is a little out of date. The N$500 is a key deposit, there is no longer an inventory, nor is there anything in the chalet except for bedding, towels and some glasses. No chance of self catering unless you take all your own equipment including crockery. They also request payment by credit card which is just a quick as elsewhere in Namibia. One of our cards was declined at the petrol pump but another one worked OK.

Service is generally slow, especially for dinner in the restaurant at peak times." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Claire M
Toronto

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2023
"The waterhole was the highlight here. I was very fortunate the one night we stayed there to see 11 black rhino there! Seven at one time. I loved how it was an easy walk from our chalet to the waterhole.

We had dinner at the restaurant and didn't have the best experience. We had been warned that service might be "indifferent" but our server outright ignored us for about an hour and then got upset when we
1) went to find her and
2) went to the front desk to ask for support.

Other servers eventually stepped in and got us our dinner, but we sat for more than 1.5 hours before that happened. The food was cold when it arrived.

The chalet was basic but had everything we needed. It was great that it had a fridge, kettle and a braai. My suggestion for other travellers would be to buy a few supplies and make your own dinner rather than deal with the restaurant here." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Mr & Ms W
Manchester

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2023
"This lodge was probably the one disappointment in our stay in Namibia.

The room was very tired, food was not great and the staff seemed apathetic. Location in the park was useful and there was many watering holes to visit with the freedom to drive ourselves.

However you are limited to the roads so it is largely down to luck at what is nearby.

None of the wildlife experiences we had here ranked amongst the top of our trip" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs B.
Chicago

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2023
"Average room and A/C was not working." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 11-20 of 706
83%
706 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
253
318
109
24
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (331 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (264 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (161 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (154 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (103 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


93% (99 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (85 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (74 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (37 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


88% (36 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


95% (19 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa