This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

635 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 45 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

3% success

Cheetah

12% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

40% success

White Rhino

27% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 635
Duration
Arrival date
P & B,
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2019
"This was by far the most "touristy" place we stayed at. But we were very glad to have spend just one night here, for the waterhole.

The Water Chalets were pretty comfortable and the food was better than we'd expected.
And the animal sightings were great." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs D.
Cambridge

"Great Location with excellent Water Hole"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2019
"A great camp to be at for Game Viewing.

However, this is a government run facility and it needs a makeover. The rooms were adequate and had kettle and fridge. However, our kettle was broken and despite reporting it 3 times in 2 days, never got repaired/replaced. Beds were comfortable. You could park outside the room.

The meals here were good and catered well for our needs.

We went on an afternoon game drive and saw a Cheetah as well as many other animals stated below. We also drove ourselves around the park, which was quite easy to do. Just buy a map from the shop to help you around." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

5 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Oryx

7 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr D.
Hartfield

"Good location within the Park"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2019
"Better than we expected." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs & Mr K
Geneva

"Great waterhole sight "

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"The location is great with the waterhole viewing in the evening.

It's like a theatre with different animals come and go. We saw éléphants, Rhino, Oyrx ......just to name a few. " See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Mrs P
London

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"Our accommodation was average which was to be expected.

But you don't come here for the room, or the food, but for the outstanding waterhole which provided us with hours of amazing wildlife viewing. Exceptional waterhole." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B - family
UK

"Okaukuejo camp ok for one night"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2019
"Our stay in Etosha was the one aspect of our Namibian trip which we wish we'd organised differently. We obviously wished we'd had more time to observe the animals but even the time we had would probably have been more enjoyable if we'd stayed just outside the gate on our first night, rather than at Okaukuejo camp. The whole of the next day would then have been spent in the park driving only as far as Halali camp. After a night there we would have been able to spend a few hours in the park before leaving for Rundu, our next stop.

We did not like Okaukuejo Camp - it was too big - the rooms were the worst we had anywhere and the food (buffet style) was poor. However the staff were all very friendly. The area around the camp was good for wildlife - we saw rhino nearby as well as at the waterhole, and the next morning we saw six lion cubs at close range (with only one other vehicle in attendance)" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Picton, NZ

"Exposed Okaukeujo Camp"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2019
"Very very dusty and very little shelter and water not that hot. But great being able to sit and watch the animals coming to the water hole in front of the camp.

Excellent pool and handy having a shop there. General surroundings in the camping area need to be tidied up. Lots of wildlife on the way to the camp and afterwards. (We travelled west to east)" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

9 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Family K
Florida

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2019
"These camps were obviously a step down from the lodges. The food was very average and pricey for what it was but we were there for the game so it was fine. We loved the water hole and saw so many rhino which was very exciting. Driving around the next day or so was good but it was even more dry than I remembered and many parts felt so desolate. Interesting to see for sure. " See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

7 sightings

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr M
Stockport

"Great rhino spotting"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2019
"Water hole delivered as usual. Two rhinos, calf and mother looked straight at me for a while on the second night and then lay down in front of me, they say animals remember people, maybe they did?

First night meat inedible, second night different chef eland meat superb!

Service on the whole was fine. The bar was closed so one man operated in the restaurant was run off his feet but remained cheerful. When the place is busy replacement staff should have been found.

Park roads as bad as ever, if not worse, or was it the puncture that meant we felt the roads even more?

Bush chalet spacious. Hot showers at a premium, our room had an element replaced two days previously, which went again before we arrived. Got it replaced our first morning and it went again that evening. So the result was we had one hot shower in two days. Maybe there should be a rebate system? Especially when you have more than major problem?

Lucky enough to see black rhino in the bush in daylight.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Dr & Mrs N
USA

"Surprisingly good experience"

4 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2019
"Waterhole is not to be missed.... store was poorly stocked with many bare shelves" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 16n in Tanzania; 10n in Botswana; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Showing 11-20 of 635
83%
635 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
280
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa