This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Reviews of Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

56 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Dune Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Dune Camp.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

100% success

Oryx

83% success

Wildebeest

60% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 56
Duration
Arrival date
Paul & Nicky
Keswick

"Wolwedans Dune Camp"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2017
"Located in a picture perfect setting in the dunes; this is a spectacular camp in every way.

The staff are warm, friendly, professional and enhance the pure joy of staying at Dune Camp. The rooms are spacious and well equipped, with a lovely balcony; they are very private and well spaced from the adjacent tents. The food at each meal was excellent and very well presented.

Our guide, Joseph, could not have been better. He arranged a fascinating morning with a bushman guide who was so in touch with the local environment it was a sheer wonder to witness. Joseph also arranged a fabulous horse trek from Wolwedans Lodge and he personally took us on guided trips and drives.

The highlight was a whole day trip with Joseph around the southern part of the Reserve where we encountered the desert adapted giraffes at close range. The scenery was spectacular throughout and Joseph’s knowledge of the area made the trip truly unforgettable.

An outstanding camp made beyond excellent by the best staff that you could wish for. A huge thank you to them all." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Napier

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2017
"Did the bushmans walk and the morning game drive. The guides were excellent and informative." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Dr A
Cleveland

"Wolwedans is perfectly located"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2017
"What a beautiful location, in the middle of the stunning scenery of the Namib Rand. Lovely comfortable tents with a view out to the mountains in the distance - with Oryx wandering past the front of the tent. Food was good and plentiful (5-course dinner introduced in English and the local 'click' language by staff), with dinner eaten together giving good conversation.

Sunset 'sundowners' overlooking the plain from the top of some dunes were out of this world, and our all day drive took us through an amazing range of scenery such as we had never seen before. Getting up early to see sunrise from the dune tops is also well worthwhile.

Our guide, Joseph, was excellent. The only minor quibble is that our planned 'Bushman Walk' on the final morning was unexpectedly cancel because the Bushman had gone to another client - Joseph was mortified." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S.
Clontarf

"A further great location let down by staff"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2016
"Wolwedans holds itself out as an upmarket camp and doesn't really deliver - a view shared by other guests and noted by a local Namibian we met on our trip.

The location is fabulous and the accomodation is good. The 'ladies' running the camp were very friendly and helpful, and served some very good 5 course dinners and a good breakfast and salad at lunch.

But the effort to have all guests sit at one table really didn't work especially with guests of differing languages. Some asked to be seated elsewhere on their second night. I agree with another review that it would be nice to have some of the guides aorund at meal times whereas they return to the base camp.

Oryx regularly came to the waterhole and walked around the camp. We saw little other game close to the camp though saw a lot of wildlife on the drive into the Wolwedans base camp.

The big let down was the activities. We really weren't given much detail on options and were not told about the option to do a full day game drive (the activity all other guests told us was the best option). For the first night the only option was a short drive to a sundown point where other vehicles also attended so there was a large group of 3 vehicles. The following morning we did an early morning drive (unfortunately in a closed vehicle) to take some photographs of the area. In the afternoon after some negotiation we had a short walk with busman guides which was interesting but short, as the only other option was the same sundown trip. We couldn't do a long morning drive on our final day so asked about a further walk, but they couldn't provide a guide so we couldn't do anything before we left.

It all seemed a hassle to them to organise activities. We didn't feel we benefitted as much as we could have done in the fabulous location. We would comment that Matthew, a fairly new guide, was very friendly and tried to be helpful." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr C & Ms B
Colorado

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2016
"Beyond excellent...definitely one of the highlights. The location was utterly stunning (far surpasses Kulala): the scale, the vastness, etc. Driving there helps you really appreciate the contrasts. Physical execution on the site is superlative, blending man-made with nature-made. The people make this place shine big time...not to be missed. The "three divas" (led by the wonderful Helena) who took care of us were unforgettable: Helena cracking jokes and singing menus; Elizabeth's culinary artistry amazed (the best on our trip), and Marina's gentility added subtle sparkle to this wonderful mix of staff. Our guide Mose's gentle manner, polite, quiet, and unassuming, seemed unequivocally to be trying very hard to improve his English to share his love of the land and the environment. We both felt that this place is absolutely not to be missed: people, setting, etc. I almost cried when we had to leave!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Worsley

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2016
"Impressive location, fabulous accommodation and food although some variety would be an improvement i.e. eland steak first night, beef steak second night and kudu steak third night. All beautifully cooked along with the other courses, but steak three nights in a row!

Staff were delightful and tried very hard although this was the first camp were we have not eaten with at least one of the guides and there was no camp representative eating with the guests. The camp would have benefitted from more staff presence front of house.

Finally, Wolwedans prides itself on its eco credentials however asking guests to postpone having laundry done until the next camp is a bit of a cheek!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss S
Lifton

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2016
"The Namibrand Nature Reserve is one of the most beautiful/spectacular places that I have ever visited and I wish we could have stayed longer to absorb the atmosphere.

Albi Bruckner and the other shareholders were present for a series of meetings.

The furnishings of the tents were straight "Out of Africa" with a beautiful deck. The Oryx were always close by !" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
PG Wales
UK

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2015
"Great location,good waterhole animal viewing.

Staff very helpful and wonderful food. Interesting drives with good guide.

Scenery magnificant ." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Stunning location luxurious accomodation."

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2015
"We thought wolvedans was really lovely, the location and the variety of scenery is quite outstanding. Oryx and steenbok sauntered past our tent terrace in front of breathtaking views.

The catering was delicious, I mean amuse bouche in the middle of the namib! One evening they took the dinner out, and we ate under a full moon in the dunes!

Our guide was the most delightful and helpful of the whole trip with a real interest in the sustainability, and nothing was too much trouble, including looking for my sunglasses in a sand dune!

A really great and unforgettable place, even if a little off the beaten track" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms T
N London

"One of the most beautiful places"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2015
"The scenery of this reserve is absolutely stunning - red sands contrasting with pale green / yellow color of the grass, against the backdrop of a beautiful mountain range. And you got all of this from your camp. There were some but not too much wildlife (mainly oryx), but the whole point was the beautiful reserve itself.

Services were top class. Dinner was a 5-course meal and usually featured game (oryx, springbok or kudu) which we found quite exotic but very good. Great house wine - probably some of the best we had on in Africa.

The camp gave us a private vehicle through our stay, probably as our timing of arrival and departure didn't quite work with other guests, and also some of other guests came in a big family group. Much appreciated gesture regardless. The only minor negative is that we didn't feel our guide was that enthusiastic. He obliged to our requests generally, but we felt we had to push a bit for going out relatively early or making interesting stops on the drive." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 56
98%
56 reviews of Wolwedans Dune Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
51
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (79 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa