This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Reviews of Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

56 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Dune Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Dune Camp.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

100% success

Oryx

83% success

Wildebeest

60% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 56
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Halifax

"A stunning luxury retreat"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2014
"A truely stunning location, appreciated at all times of the day but perhaps best of all, sipping a coffee specially brought to the tent door in a flask each morning. Somewhere to relax and unwind and feel totally lost in the Africa experience.

Excellent 'sundowner' drives into the local mountains. Good company around the dinner table, with a small number of guests, and amazing excellent quality food. Specially prepared gluten free versions too.

Champagne & gift basket for our anniversary was much appreciated, and accompanied a lunch in the shade while the Oryx looked on from under their tree nearby!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms J & Ms C
UK

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2014
"beautifully situated, worth the extra travel food excellent" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Nick & Kate
London

"Spectacular location - shame about mosquitoes"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2014
"After a wonderful, scenic flight from Windhoek over the Sossuvlei dunes, we were efficiently met at the airstrip (quite a few animals here), and transferred by our lady guide up the hill to the camp. It was one of the most beautiful and spectacular locations of our entire trip. There are just 7 rooms (frequented by Angelina and Brad, so we were regularly told), each of which is spacious and comfortable, with big beds. Rooms have a private verandah with sunrise views.

Tea and biscuits are left outside for you at dawn, a thoughtful touch. Accordingly, you can take tea while you watch the sunrise from your bed. The central area is quite small and indoor dining is a bit dark and gloomy. Outdoor dining and drinks around the campfire are charming, and the food is very high quality indeed. Drinks are included. Dining is communal but can be private if you wish. The dining area overlooks a small waterhole which attracts a lot of oryx, who wander through the camp. Overall, this is a tranquil, beautiful spot in the rocky desert, where you get a real feel for the climate and the landscape. The night skies are astonishing.

On the down side, the manager was rather defensive and not too energetic. There were meant to be such options as riding and massage, but neither was available. Bedroom make up service was slip shod, with towels left where they were found on chairs, the bathroom not tidied up. The worst offence was the complete absence of mosquito protection – no nets, and open-sided cabins. When we asked for insect spray we were told it was ‘out of stock’. Accordingly, sleep was a problem (for all guests – a breakfast topic of conversation!). We were in cabin 7, furthest away from the dining area, and it was rather a trudge through deep sand there and back – perhaps a walkway would be a good investment here.

Activities include all-day drives in the park, which I would highly recommend. Although game is sparse, the park is very attractive and the scenery changes. Our guide informed us about the geology and we walked around a bit to look at animal tracks. We saw oryx, springbok, zebra, one of the 3 giraffes in the park, big herds of red hartebeest, ostrich, a monitor lizard at a waterhole, mongoose and ground squirrels, and various birds (including the endemic dune lark – nothing much to look at but one to tick off). We even saw two aardwolf right by the side of the road.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Yorkshire

"Wolwedans is spectacular"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"The whole Wolwedans experience is something we will never forget, the place gets under your skin and my wife and I were reluctant to leave. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking, like nowhere else on earth and the sunsets are stunning.

One evening we went on a walk with the bushmen who were a delight, very informative and entertaining and we ended up at a viewing platform with the most incredible view and our guide Cecelia was there to meet us with drinks and snacks while we watched a superb sunset.

We also did the all day drive, if you only have time to do one thing at Wolwedans do this, it was one of the highlights of our holiday especially the lovely lunch which Cecelia provided at another stunning location.

Dunes camp was amazing, the accommodation, the food and the activities were all excellent and the staff were so friendly, efficient and professional.

But we must also make special mention of Cecelia, our guide, who was always cheerful, extremely knowledgable and a delight to be with.

Yes Wolwedans is expensive but if you can just go, you won't regret it" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Yorkshire

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2014
"This was an excellent camp. A great start to our safari. The accommodation was very good. The food was excellent with the best pancakes I have ever tasted and great lunches and dinners. The staff were very welcoming and always helpful. It was interesting to see the vegetable patch where they grow their own vegetables.

The guide was good showing us interesting tracks over the dunes and as there are few main animals making the most of every sighting and of the vegetation and scenery.

Our only concern was that the mosquito nets were for decoration and not function and it was the only place we got bitten!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms T
Ontario

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2013
"Excellent guide (Simon) with fantastic topography. Staff a little too generically friendly; could be more natural. Would return.

However had one issue with transportation from lodge back to camp when we waited for an xtra 1 1/2 hrs in increasing cold, after swimming. Were told that transport would be there by 17;15 and it arrived at 18:30. However no big deal" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C & Mr W
Colorado

"Wolwedans Dunes Camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"The camp was fantastic, people in the service industry could take lessons from the staff. Each employee we came in contact with shook our hands and introduced themselves, and then remembered our names. We were always greeted with a smile and by name.

The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and the view from our tent was breathtaking.

The food was unbelievable, delicious and beautifully presented.

The game drives were great, the driver (I think his name was David) was very knowledgable and an excellent teacher. A highlight was our walk on the dunes where he pointed out all the insect and reptile life on the dunes.

I was sorry to leave this camp but two days was enough to see the landscape and wildlife. I would have liked to have been able to go hiking, that is why I only gave the activities category 'good'." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Dr F
San Fran

"Astonishing Wolwedans"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2013
"This was the highlight of our 15-day Namibian trip. The NamibRand Reserve is magnificent. Every turn of our day-long nature drive revealed another vista, sea of grass or small group of animals. The stars were the brightest we saw in Namibia, and that's saying a lot. Our tent at the very top of a dune was spacious, with a big bed and a beautiful view. We didn''t want to leave.

We made two mistakes regarding Wolwedans. The first mistake was in staying only two nights. Three would have been perfect. The second was starting out our trip here. Nothing could top it afterwards." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & friends
UK

"Wolwedans Dune Camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"Now upgraded to a very high standard. Food excellent as are the staff. We did an all day tour which was also most enjoyable.

Staff repaired a puncture free of charge." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Mrs L
UK

"Great time at Wolwedans Dune Camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"Our second visit to Wolwedans, the first time we stayed in the Dune Lodge and we were unsure how the Dune Camp would compare. We were not disappointed, in fact were very impressed by the Wolwedans Dune Camp.

Everything was very well run and it is a special place." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 56
98%
56 reviews of Wolwedans Dune Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
51
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (79 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa