This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Reviews of Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

56 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Dune Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Dune Camp.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

100% success

Oryx

83% success

Wildebeest

60% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 56
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
IOM

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2012
"Lovely camp, excellent views, excellent food.

We were impressed by the chef's herb and salad garden outside the restaurant area which meant the produce was absolutely fresh and flavoursome." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr A & Miss A
UK

"A Great Lodge in the Namib-Rand"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2011
"Wolwedans was an awesome experience. The location in the NamibRand is fantastic and the camp itself is luxurious without losing a rustic camp feel. Watching the sun rise from our tent was unforgettable.

The full-day guided trip was great - knowledgable and friendly guide and well off the beaten track in a Land Rover Explorer. Lucky enough to see one of the 2 leopards in the area under a tree before it slunk away into the undergrowth... Lovely food, and great sundowners too.

A very nice stay all round." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr O & Ms L
Singapore

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2011
"Stunning landscapes, beautiful camp and facilities. Excellent food and station staff. The only negative was our guide, who was just doing his job, without any engagement, but overall Wolwedans it definitely worth a visit!

Trying a bit too hard to up-sell balloon and air-charters as well as their premium wine.

Arranged a memorable special evening in the wine cellar @ the Dune Lodge!" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 6n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Ms T
Oxon

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2011
"Wonderful!! Chef outstandingh as was food. Met Linus who enthusiastically showed his his garden!

Rooms not very private and ours was like a goldfish bowl." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms J & Mr S
USA

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2011
"The scenery around Wolwedans is spectacular with pale silvery green grasses, dark green acacia trees and the deep orange sand of the Namib desert.

We enjoyed the sundowner drives and a 9:00 a.m. nature drive with our good guide Usko. We would like to have had the option of doing an early morning drive (leaving around sunrise) for more photographic opportunities. The food was excellent.

Our tent (in the Dune Camp) was luxurious but a bit noisy in the wind." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Ms F
London

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2011
"Quite simply, the best place to stay in Namibia.

The food really is something special and the staff were excellent.

They promised me to start doing proper hikes up the mountain in front of the camp...when they do - we'll be back immediately." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A
Cambridgeshire

"One of the Best"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"The Namib Rand Reserve is simply stunning. I was surprised by the amount of wildlife present, in all shapes and forms, ... from chameleons to giraffe. We spent a wonderful day out in the reserve with guide Lister, who patiently shared his considerable knowledge of the local flora and fauna. Lunch was taken at picture-perfect setting in the bush. It was a truly memorable day that surpassed all my expectations.

The only slight negative is the proximity of the tents to each other. The tents themselves are luxurious, each with a fabulously large outside decking area. However, the tents are located in a long line, and you can see your neighbours at all times. Hence when you sit outside, rather than being able to relax in your own private area, you feel as though you are sharing a public space. Ideally I would have preferred a little more privacy, but this was a minor issue.

My experience at Wolwedans ranks as one of the top highlights of my holiday, and my only regret is that I didn't stay for 3 nights!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs M
Cheshire

"Simply the best"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2011
"Quite simply the very best!!!

3 nights next time please!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2010
"This is the best lodge ever. Everything about it is fantastic.

The luxurious rooms are well spaced out with superb views and you feel totally relaxed. Included activities give a comprehensive experience of what the park has to offer.

The service could not be better, food is prepared within view - just marvellous." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs K
UK

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2010
"Fantastic location.

Very friendly and helpful staff. The only place to offer a packed lunch on the day of our departure.

More wildlife than you'd expect.

Can't fault it." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 56
98%
56 reviews of Wolwedans Dune Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
51
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (79 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa