This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms W & Dr F from San Fran

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

A great two weeks in Namibia

Namibia between 28 Apr 2013 and 13 May 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We more or less followed the itinerary of the Sandgrouse trip, with a few lodging substitutions. The variety of landscapes, activities and the mix of flying and driving really contributed to our enjoyment.

Tracy was terrific at advising us on lodging selections and providing information on reasonable driving times. We usually book our trips ourselves over the internet, but we knew it was important to get insights and expert advice from the pros for a trip like this. We would recommend Expert Aftica highly.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I probably would have skipped Damaraland, going from Swapkopmund to Erongo up to Ongava. And I definitely would have spent an extra night at Wolwedans. But this is just personal preference."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"A warm welcome"

1 night Arrived 28 Apr 2013
"This is an ideal place to start or finish a Namibian trip, or in our case, both. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

The option to have a light or full dinner on site was great."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Astonishing Wolwedans"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2013
"This was the highlight of our 15-day Namibian trip. The NamibRand Reserve is magnificent. Every turn of our day-long nature drive revealed another vista, sea of grass or small group of animals. The stars were the brightest we saw in Namibia, and that's saying a lot. Our tent at the very top of a dune was spacious, with a big bed and a beautiful view. We didn''t want to leave.

We made two mistakes regarding Wolwedans. The first mistake was in staying only two nights. Three would have been perfect. The second was starting out our trip here. Nothing could top it afterwards."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Convenient for Sossusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2013
"We chose this lodge for it's private gate access to Sossusvlei, and we were within the park within ten minutes of hopping in the Land Rover. The dunes at sunrise are stunning.

The lodge is a bit larger than we'd expected and very busy, but it all flowed beautifully, and in the end the experience felt quite personal.

The entire staff does a bit of singing and dancing during dinner, which was lively, and at times, hilarious. Great fun."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Lovely bit of Swtzerland"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2013
"Sam's Giardino was like staying in a Swiss chalet. At first we thought the rooms were a bit basic, but realized the bed and duvets were great, the room was immaculate, and we really had all we needed. The garden is a beautiful place to relax. Sam was delightful and offered us a great selection of South African wines by the glass. Breakfast was excellent. We'd definitely stay there again if we were in Swapkopmund.

While there, we went on a Hafeni Cultural tour, which was a fascinating and very enjoyable visit to a township, run by two young men who grew up there. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Sleeping under the stars"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2013
"We arrived at the end of the "wet season" during which Damaraland received practically no rain. The rivers were already dry and the elephants could be found drinking at the water troughs of nearby farms.

There was little wildlife, but this is a tough environment, especially in a drought year. We did not find the region very compelling, perhaps because it looked quite a bit like the U.S. desert southwest. But the rooms at Doro Nawas were very nice and being able to roll your bed out onto the deck and sleep under the stars was magical."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Sleeping in the wild"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2013
"Ongava Tented Camp is a true wildlife experience. The waterhole is very active and we had lions in the camp the first night right after finishing dinner. We all quickly got back to our tents and listened as a male lion walked back and forth roaring for about 20 minutes. The performance was repeated again in the middle of the night.

We liked this camp a lot. The overall feel is very relaxed and friendly. It reminded us of our favorite camps in Bostwana. Our guide, Momo, was the best we had throughout the trip. We saw several white rhino on the reserve, and, of course lots of animals in Etosha. But what we enjoyed most was sitting on our deck in the afternoons watching the animals at the waterhole."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp"

1 night Arrived 9 May 2013
"To be fair, we spent little time at Onguma. The rooms and lounge areas are very chic, and the food was the best we had in Namibia, really very good.

All of the staff were extremely nice and I like the fact that the Onguma operation goes to great lengths to train and employ local people. But we arrived in the late afternoon after a long drive through Etosha and departed in the next morning, so I don't think we took advantage of all the camp had to offer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"A hiker's paradise"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2013
"This beautiful spot is a place for hikers. There are many marked trails, but most people seem to go only on the guided hikes.

Again, we found the staff delightful, and I started wondering if we were ever going to meet a crabby Namibian. The views from the rooms are stunning.

The Erongo Wilderness area is quite special."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"See first review"

1 night Arrived 12 May 2013
"We stayed here twice, so first review applies. [Ed: see comments below.]"
Good

Knowledgeable and very responsive

Tanzania between 13 Sep 2011 and 17 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very responsive to some late changes. Thanks.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Lions, lions, lions and great guides"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"Extraordinary camp with a delightful staff and an abundance of animals.

The guides were even better than those we had in Botswana. Our frequent up-close experiences with lions and our success at tracking down the wild dogs really stood out. Can't recommend the walking safari highly enough.

To learn to walk around a breeding herd of elephants by constantly testing the air currents and remaining downwind was thrilling. The Selous is still being discovered and it feels more isolated and wild than the parks on the main safari circuits."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team