This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs P from Yorkshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My September 2014 trip to Namibia

Namibia between 12 Sep 2014 and 28 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"The holiday of a lifetime, incredible places to stay, unbelievable scenery, exciting experiences, delicious food and lovely people, how do you improve on that, a very big thank you to Angela at Expert Africa for arranging it all.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Can't think of anything"

Image alt

Belvedere Guesthouse

"Belvedere was excellent"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2014
"Only stayed one night here but everything was superb"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge was good"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2014
"We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a pleasant and relaxing start to the holiday. The surrounding landscape is uninspiring but we did see plenty of wildlife.

The lodge itself and the food did not compare with the other places we visited in Namibia"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolwedans is spectacular"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"The whole Wolwedans experience is something we will never forget, the place gets under your skin and my wife and I were reluctant to leave. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking, like nowhere else on earth and the sunsets are stunning.

One evening we went on a walk with the bushmen who were a delight, very informative and entertaining and we ended up at a viewing platform with the most incredible view and our guide Cecelia was there to meet us with drinks and snacks while we watched a superb sunset.

We also did the all day drive, if you only have time to do one thing at Wolwedans do this, it was one of the highlights of our holiday especially the lovely lunch which Cecelia provided at another stunning location.

Dunes camp was amazing, the accommodation, the food and the activities were all excellent and the staff were so friendly, efficient and professional.

But we must also make special mention of Cecelia, our guide, who was always cheerful, extremely knowledgable and a delight to be with.

Yes Wolwedans is expensive but if you can just go, you won't regret it"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Great day in the dunes at Hoodia"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2014
"We had three great days at Hoodia lodge, we did the all day trip to Sossusvlei which was excellent, again scenery from another planet but don't let the guide take you to a shortcut for Big Daddy, yes it is shorter but it is on virgin sand and very steep, consequently we only made it part way up. The guide provided an excellent lunch under the shade of a tree including hot water in a canvas "hand basin" and wine chilled in ice!!!

We also did the sundowner, another great experience with drinks and snacks and lanterns made from candles in paper bags - very atmospheric.

Hoodia was also a great place to relax with a very attentive staff, lovely swimming pool, great food and the owner, Thomas, who couldn't do enough for you"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Luxury at Beach Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"We were upgraded to a family suite with a luxurious bedroom overlooking the sea, very pleasant. We also ate in their Wreck restaurant which is very nice again with views of the sea but he food was a little disappointing after the reviews we had read.

Swakopmund has numerous interesting shops and fine buildings. We did the all day trip from Walvis Bay to Sandwich harbour with a return through and over the dunes - very exciting and great fun with expert driving by our guide, Kurt of Sandwich Harbour Tours."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

"Cheetah encounter at Okonjima"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"The Bush Suite is outstanding, two double beds in each bedroom with large ensuites including inside and outside showers and a stand alone bath with a view and surrounded by candles. There is also a large luxurious living area and a very well equipped and stocked kitchen with almost everything all inclusive. Then outside there is a lovely swimming pool, a fire pit and a floodlit water hole where you can sit and watch all the wildlife arrive in the evening.

The staff are equally outstanding, Mike our expert guide is very knowledgable about the wildlife and the Okonjima ethos and was a brilliant cheetah tracker. The housekeeper Claudia(? spelling) is very attentive, friendly and professional and attended to our every need and the lovely chef Emily provided us with the best meals we had in Namibia.

One day we went Cheetah tracking with Mike, when we knew we were close to one we left the vehicle and continued on foot along a track, on rounding a bend we came across the Cheetah which was guarding a kill it had just made, a small Springbok, When it saw us it got up and walked slowly towards us with it's hackles raised and came to within 6 feet, Mike told us to stay still and not move when every instinct was telling us to turn and run!!.

Mike assured us later than we were in no real danger but it was very exciting in bowel moving kind of way.

At other times we also came close to Leopards and a spotted Hyena - an evil looking creature.

All we can say is thanks to everyone at Okonjima for a fantastic experience and keep up the good work"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team