This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs R from Halifax

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

2

Amazing 25th Wedding Anniversary Trip!

Namibia between 14 Oct 2014 and 31 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"A special treat to celebrate 25 years of marriage - an adventure in Namibia. Spectacular scenery, abundant wildlife, delicious food, & great company. We have brought home so many memories of a truely amazing place and thousands of photographs!

A special thank you to Maruska, for patiently explaining all the various options and helping us construct our special trip. Thank you!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Good rest after a long flight"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2014
"A brief stay here to recover after a long flight and prepare for our big adventure.

Champagne on ice in the room on our arrival - a nice touch - the holiday was off to a good start!

Good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed after a substaintial first meal in Namibia - the steak was delicious.

Generous breakfast packs to take with us on our early morning departure."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sunrise in the dunes - unforgettable!"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2014
"Our first experience of Namibia and one we will never forget. Sossus Dune Lodge is in a great location and the quirky huts were fun to stay in. Meals fairly basic to be honest and not much choice, but we were there primarily for the scenery.

Enjoyed an excellent walk to nearby Sesriem Canyon in the evening sunshine. Learned about the local wildlife from the large animals and the consistency of their dung, right down to a small beetle that protects itself by withdrawing into it's shell and 'playing dead'. Owls and vultures swooped overhead and butterflies fluttered around the bushes. It felt like a film set!

A 5am start on one morning enabled us to be the first to drive into the dunes. Our footprints were the first to be made that morning as we climbed 'Big Daddy' dune and watched the sun rise - an amazing experience. Like a Martian landscape with the breeze lifting the bright orange sand into the air around us. Ran down the dunes to 'Deadvlei' - yes the place all the tourists visit and photograph, but a truely striking and atmospheric place.

Our guide Samuel (Sami), looked after us brilliantly throughout our stay and on all the activities - he was polite, charming & knowledable, helping us to get the most out of each experience. Thank you!

Whilst at Sossus Dune Lodge these travellers undertook a dawn balloon flight. Here's what they said about it:
Slightly apprehensive before this trip as not brilliant with heights, but so glad we did it and would urge anyone to do the same - there is no better location in the world!

The gas burners fire for a few seconds to give sufficient lift then off slowly into the dawn sky. Eerily quiet as we peered down onto the dunes below for a flight lasting about an hour. Other balloons depart at a similar time so there are some fantastic photo opportunities for colourfull baloons sweeping across the orange dunes.

We'd been briefed on the positions to adopt for a bumpy landing, but in the end it was incredibly smooth. Our pilot Marnie was obviously very experienced, and we skimmed the sand for a few seconds before coming to a halt.

Then it was a quick jeep ride to the foot of a dune where an enourmous breakfast was laid out on trestle tables. Coffee, champagene, fruit and even tried zebra meat!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"A stunning luxury retreat"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2014
"A truely stunning location, appreciated at all times of the day but perhaps best of all, sipping a coffee specially brought to the tent door in a flask each morning. Somewhere to relax and unwind and feel totally lost in the Africa experience.

Excellent 'sundowner' drives into the local mountains. Good company around the dinner table, with a small number of guests, and amazing excellent quality food. Specially prepared gluten free versions too.

Champagne & gift basket for our anniversary was much appreciated, and accompanied a lunch in the shade while the Oryx looked on from under their tree nearby!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Floating over the dunes"

18 Oct 2014 • Morning excursion

Slightly apprehensive before this trip as not brilliant with heights, but so glad we did it and would urge anyone to do the same - there is no better location in the world!

The gas burners fire for a few seconds to give sufficient lift then off slowly into the dawn sky. Eerily quiet as we peered down onto the dunes below for a flight lasting about an hour. Other balloons depart at a similar time so there are some fantastic photo opportunities for colourfull baloons sweeping across the orange dunes.

We'd been briefed on the positions to adopt for a bumpy landing, but in the end it was incredibly smooth. Our pilot Marnie was obviously very experienced, and we skimmed the sand for a few seconds before coming to a halt.

Then it was a quick jeep ride to the foot of a dune where an enourmous breakfast was laid out on trestle tables. Coffee, champagene, fruit and even tried zebra meat!
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"...and through the Round Window"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2014
"...a view of the ocean. Located on the beach at the edge of town, a great base in Swakopmund for those with a hire car.

Very different to being out in the bush, but a good contrast for a couple of days. An unusal building, but great views of the ocean from the bed through the very large windows. We had two good meals in the modern 'Wreck' restaurant, which was obvioulsy busy and popular.

Whilst at Beach Lodge these travellers undertook a kayaking excursion to Pelican Point. Here's what they said about it:
Another 'must do' experience while in Namibia, kayaking with seals!

After a drive out to Pelican Point by jeep, we put on wet-suits and headed out into the bay to look for the wildlife. Very lucky to see the rare sight of three African Penguins swimming close by. Also saw a few dolphins that swam alongside for a while.The main attraction though were the thousands of seals which enjoyed splashing around amongst the kayaks. Great fun, and very difficult to photograph!

Our guide, Craig, was knowledgable about the local area and wildlife, especially the birds. We saw many varieties including pink flamingos and even a Pelican himself."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Try taking a photo of a seal from a kayak!"

21 Oct 2014 • Morning excursion

Another 'must do' experience while in Namibia, kayaking with seals!

After a drive out to Pelican Point by jeep, we put on wet-suits and headed out into the bay to look for the wildlife. Very lucky to see the rare sight of three African Penguins swimming close by. Also saw a few dolphins that swam alongside for a while.The main attraction though were the thousands of seals which enjoyed splashing around amongst the kayaks. Great fun, and very difficult to photograph!

Our guide, Craig, was knowledgable about the local area and wildlife, especially the birds. We saw many varieties including pink flamingos and even a Pelican himself.
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Sleep under the stars (with the bats!)"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2014
"The best welcome and most friendly staff of our entire trip. Enthusiastic and happy and likely to burst into song at any moment!

Spacious, well arranged, huts with both inside & outside shower. The highlight was wheeling the bed out onto the terrace and sleeping in the open air. To be able to lie back and star gaze was very special. The bats flying close to your face for a while, gave it an added twist! Cold in the morning, so the thick blankets provided were definately needed.

A superb trip out into the valley to track desert adapted elephants with our guide Mwezi. After looking at the tracks in the dust, we rounded the corner and were up close and personal with a large group of elephants. Fascinating to sit and watch the different behaviours of young and old elephants in their natural habitat.

Also enjoyed sitting on the bean-bags around the camp-fire in the central area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Rhino tracking at dusk"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2014
"The tented accomodation at this camp not as spacious as some we'd been to and also very warm. We enjoyed watching the animals congregate by the local water hole. The armed guard accompanying guests to their tents was exciting!

Undoubted highlight here was tracking Rhino on foot in the bush with an armed guard. We were lucky to get quite close and see these amazing animals for the first time."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"On stilts by the water hole"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2014
"Small camp on stilts right next to a waterhole, where we saw giraffes, hyenas, gazelle to name just some of the wildlife.

Excellent company at dinner - just 8 guests in total here.

Good bush walk with guide Peter, who pointed out not just the larger sights, but smaller things that might go unnoticed e.g. 'Sand Lions' - we found a couple of ants and fed them to the Sand Lions in thier tiny desert homes. Also learned more about the termite mounds which are numerous in this area."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Cheetah and leopard encounters!"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2014
"Luxury bungalows in an extensive grounds. The birds (and warthogs) come right to the door and some feed is provided which certainly attracts a few visitors.

On our first trip out, we found a leopard in typical pose, resting in a tree. We we're able to get up really close for some amazing photos and watched as she darted off on a hunt. Rohan (assisted by John) was our guide. He was knowledgable, humorous and above all passionate about the wildlife.

On our second day we tracked cheetah, initially by jeep, but then on foot. It was a special experience to follow a wild animal as she zig-zagged through the bush, hunting for something to eat. Suddenly the cheetah stopped and seemed nervous and twitchy. "I think there's a leopard" whispered our guide, and a few seconds later we saw it through the trees. "Whatever you do, don't run, or it will think you are food". We watched nervously for a few minutes, then retreated to the safety of the jeep. A unique experience."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team