This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Reviews of Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

56 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Dune Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Dune Camp.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

100% success

Oryx

83% success

Wildebeest

60% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 56
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Surrey

"First class guide made our visit memorable."

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2010
"Welome and briefing by Uska our guide. He was friendly, helpful and informative. His personality and sense of humour enhanced our visit.

Accommodation was superb, spacious, luxurious and pristine. Food was generous and first class, beautifully prepared and presented. All day drive with Uska was a pleasure. He explained all aspects of the landscape, flora and fauna...not to mention the fairy circles! we saw giraffes and kudu as well as the more prolific oryx, ostrich, springbok etc. Lunch was delicious and he was an entertaining companion. Uska's sundowner drive was a highlight of our trip for location, ambience and company.

Dining with other guests was most enjoyable. Dining area is warm, welcoming and beautifully presented. Special mention to Andy Smith and his delivery of the menu in Click language with his special brand of humour. An excellent visit all round.

Absolutely brilliant packed lunches for our trip....excellent, different class." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Scotland

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2010
"A fantastic experience from beginning to end. Greeted on arrival by our guide 'Usco' who made us feel very welcome, transferred us to our accomodation and the next morning took us on a memorable days drive followed by sundowners on the dunes - we learnt so much from his local knowledge and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

The accomodation was first class with breathtaking views and attentive, friendly staff.

Exceptional food, made all the more enjoyable by the 'click' menu announcments and communal eating." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G
Luxembourg

"An amazing place in an amazing reserve"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2010
"Wolwedans Dune Camp exceeded our expectations! It is a serene, very comfortable, stylishly simple and romantic place in the dunes, with beautiful views from the tents and the main area.

The food was very sophisticated and delicious. All the staff were very friendly and competent. Our guide Ben seemed to know everything about everything and taught us plenty about the reserve and its fauna and flora.

The only small suggestion we have concerns the seating arrangements at dinner table. We realise that there might be a point to the staff asking a guest to sit on a particular place, but we feel that the guests should be allowed to sit where they wish at the common table, for example to be able to talk to particular other guests or - more importantly - to avoid having to chat all evening to particular other guests ;) We know it's a delicate matter but please let the guests choose their company at dinner ;-)

The landscapes in the reserve are spectacular and the whole day drive really gives an opportunity to appreciate them. It's definitely a place to visit and revisit! Thank you, Expert Africa, for recommending it :)" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2010
"We were in Tent 1 and looked out on the most amazing landscape.

Our guide was Anton. We recommend the full day drive around the property with a picnic lunch. It's a 'scenery drive' rather than a 'game drive'. The night sky is a revelation.

This was one of the highlights of our trip." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms W
London

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2009
"Staff were excellent. Friendly, entertaining, guides knowledgable and approachable.

Accomodation and food was again excellent." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D&P& Mrs J&J
Essex

"Intimate camp and spectacular views"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2009
"We flew in to Wolwedans camp over the dunes at Sossusvelei. The camp is in a remote location, and has been designed with every small detail in place to make the atmosphere feel authentic, and the guest feel special.

The candlelit evening meals were very intimate. The individual tents are located in oustanding scenery with wonderful views. The night sky and the sunrise were very memorable. The service and amenites were excellent.

Our day spent on the game drive with our guide was also excellent." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B & Mr K
Kent

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2009
"what a place----quite superb. Wonderful tent accomodation right on top of the dunes.

The sky at night was staggering and the cocophany of night sounds was wonderful i stayed out on the balcony long into the night. A real treat and would go there again definately. Wonderful hospitality ---they really looked after us well and the activities were great." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss H & Mr R
London

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"Absolutely loved it here, I think our favourite place of the whole trip. The location is just breathtaking and very peaceful.

We left our tent open every night and waking up each morning at sunrise was a wonderful experience. The staff at Dune Camp were fantastic and the food was the very best.

Our guide Dinesh was very knowledgeable and made all our trips around the private reserve interesting & entertaining too." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss M & Mr M
Ireland

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2009
"This was our favourite place in Namibia!!!! We were sad to leave and would have loved to be staying another night.

Our Guide Herman was brilliant - such a gentleman and his love and enthusiasm for the place was contagious!! The food was first class and all of the staff were more than helpful!!

The view from our room was gorgeous and the tented accommodation was very comfortable!! We would go back here in a heartbeat!!!

The 20 km drive to the main camp is quite overwhelming for new arrivals to namibia and although we had discovered this in Chris's book it may be useful to inform travellers of this in the literature provided." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Crowthorne

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2008
"We found the road to Wolwedans difficult in our saloon car but, as soon as we arrived, it was all forgotten. We had a warm welcome, lunch was ready when we arrived at the camp.

The accommodation is luxurious (considering the location), the staff is attentive without being overpowering. We thoroughly enjoyed the sun-downer and the day drive with our guide Vinte. We learnt so much but at the same time the day was relaxing in such beautiful scenery.

We had lunch at Boulders Camp as there was no guest there on that day; the manager sat with us over a cup of coffee and gave us an insight into his life and some of the Namibian customs. Just like the staff at our camp he was professional and charming.

We appreciated having the flask of hot water to have tea in bed watching the sun rise and there was chocolate in the evenings... Most members of staff told us that they have a really good boss; he certainly has managed to create something very special. We loved it there!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 56
98%
56 reviews of Wolwedans Dune Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
51
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (79 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa