This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms J & Mr S from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

Great 3 week trip, thanks to Expert Africa

Namibia between 14 Sep 2011 and 4 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful trip.

If doing the trip again we might change a few things but overall we were very happy with our experience. The materials provided by Expert Africa prepared us well for the trip. The highlighted map showing our route and lodges was great.

However, more detailed driving directions would have been helpful. (Before we started our trip Steve put together a set of detailed driving directions using Google maps, lodge websites and other online information.)

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We had an excellent experience with Expert Africa and can highly recommend the company and its services to others. Our only suggestion is the one given above about detailed driving directions."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"The location of River Crossing near the airport was perfect for our first night in Namibia. (We did not want to drive into central Windhoek after 40 hours of travel.)

The staff members were helpful and the food was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2011
"Our cheetah and leopard tracking game drives were very interesting. We were lucky to see a female cheetah stalk and kill a steenbok and carry it away in her mouth.

Our guide then tracked the leopard to a tree where she was sitting high in the branches with her prey.

The food was very good. The staff members were friendly and professional."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"Our first afternoon we tried to rest in our tent because Steve was not feeling well. However, it was much too hot in the tent.

Luckily the next day we were able do wildlife viewing from our air conditioned vehicle.

One night we had a special outdoor dinner with singing afterward by the talented staff. A lovely evening. However, on our final morning there was no one available to help us with our bags. Next time we may want to stay even closer to Etosha National Park or within the park."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2011
"The rooms were basic but had air conditioning, hot showers and other amenities. The food was what would be expected at a place that makes meals for hundreds of guests. However, we would stay here again due to the excellent location within Etosha National Park.

We did not spend much time at the water hole but heard that a leopard had been spotted there."
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Average
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2011
"The fantastic waterhole was conveniently located a few steps from our chalet. We could check to see what was happening at the waterhole several times per day.

The room was comfortable. The staff nicely accommodated my food preferences by preparing fish for dinner when only game and red meat were being served."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

"Huab Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2011
"Our hosts Jan and Suzi were delightful and interesting people. Huab Lodge's facilities are beautiful and tastefully decorated. Our bungalow was wonderful. The food was wonderful and the family-style meals enjoyable. Steve's vegetarian meals were the best of our three week trip, thanks to Suzi.

We participated in sunrise walks and nature drives led by Jan. The location is somewhat remote but the area is beautiful and serene. Wildlife included oryx, kudu and steenbok but desert-adapted elephant sightings are rare. We enjoyed watching a pair of yellow-billed hornbills doing a courtship display in a tree."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2011
"The weather was very hot when we were at Erongo Wilderness Lodge. After the morning walk (starting at 6:30 or 7:00 AM) and breakfast there was nothing to do until the temperature started cooling off around 5:00 p.m. We either read books in our hot tent or sat in the dining room during the day. Also there were lots of mosquitoes. The tents did not keep out the mosquitoes due to velcro closures that didn't close properly.

We did enjoy the lovebirds that gathered in the trees near the dining room every morning around 7:00 a.m."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2011
"A nice place for a one night stop. The setting was lovely.

We enjoyed watching Coco (the dog) and the meerkats. We did not have time to do any activities."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2011
"The scenery around Wolwedans is spectacular with pale silvery green grasses, dark green acacia trees and the deep orange sand of the Namib desert.

We enjoyed the sundowner drives and a 9:00 a.m. nature drive with our good guide Usko. We would like to have had the option of doing an early morning drive (leaving around sunrise) for more photographic opportunities. The food was excellent.

Our tent (in the Dune Camp) was luxurious but a bit noisy in the wind."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2011
"After a rough start when we had trouble finding the reception area from the parking lot and encountering a unhelpful employee, our experience improved.

We signed up for an early morning guided trip to Dead Vlei lead by Paul. We had a very enjoyable morning despite the fog that obscured sunrise. Paul helped arrange for early shuttle service for us the following morning so that we could have another chance of seeing Dead Vlei and Sossusvlei in the sunlight.

Being inside the gates was essential for early morning photography. (People with 4 x 4 vehicles have the best access to the Sossusvlei and Dead Vlei areas.)"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2011
"We spent only one night here so didn't have time to take part in any activities except for being taken to see the meerkats.

Our view chalet was lovely."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Exclusive review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2011
"We got upgraded from the Olive Grove to a new Olive Exclusive Premier Suite, open only 2 months. The suite was very spacious and luxurious. The food and service were excellent.

As we did not stay at the Olive Grove we cannot grade aspects of the Olive Grove."
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team