This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr A & Miss A from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Nov 2011 trip

Namibia between 7 Nov 2011 and 27 Nov 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall our Honeymoon was fantastic. We really appreciate your suggestions and guidance in planning this, and your obvious knowledge and enthusiasm for Namibia. Thank you.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Keep up the good work!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

OA in Cape Town

"review"

5 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2011
"A great 4 days in Cape Town despite the weather"
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2011
"We were upgraded to the sister hotel of the Olive Grove, the Olive Exclusive Boutique Hotel.

This as I'm sure you know is an all-suite establishment and is a very classy and comfortable place to stay with a very good restaurant attached there. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"A Great Lodge in the Namib-Rand"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2011
"Wolwedans was an awesome experience. The location in the NamibRand is fantastic and the camp itself is luxurious without losing a rustic camp feel. Watching the sun rise from our tent was unforgettable.

The full-day guided trip was great - knowledgable and friendly guide and well off the beaten track in a Land Rover Explorer. Lucky enough to see one of the 2 leopards in the area under a tree before it slunk away into the undergrowth... Lovely food, and great sundowners too.

A very nice stay all round."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2011
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hoodia. Really nicely designed main lodge and accommodation. Loved the outdoor shower.

Extremely friendly owners and staff and high quality food and drink. The sundowner trip was truly magnificent. A great location on a small kopjie near the camp, lovely food and drink and stunning views. Not cheap at N$250 per head, but worth it. We didn't go on their Sossusvlei trip as we had already been. I'm sure it would have been very good, however N$1350 a head seems incredibly steep seeing as Sesriem is so close to the camp.

Would highly recommend as a base for Sesriem/Sossusvlei."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2011
"A very comfortable guesthouse in Swakopmund. Well located within a 5 minute stroll into town.

Very nice and helpful owners and staff."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2011
"An enjoyable stay at Camp Kipwe. We loved the design of the camp which is built quite subtly into and amongst the rocks of the area. The room itself was extremely hot however, even with a fan. I guess the stone structure retains heat very well! The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The food was good - we liked the fact that the kitchen was open and were able to watch the chef in action. Again a nice sundowner spot on top of the main kopjie next to the camp. We had a great morning drive to find a family of desert-adapted elephants. (Despite getting stuck in sand...) I'm not sure that our guide was initially too thrilled when we wanted to go on the tour, but he found the elephants despite not being too confident!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2011
"Our stay at dolomite was clouded somewhat by rain on the first day/night and a very large fire in Western Etosha which was pretty close to the camp. At night the horizon was orange with flames and smoke was in the air. Because of these 2 events the wildlife was perhaps a little disappointing.

The camp itself is nicely situated on the crest of a dolomite hill. It is a long steep walk from the car-park to reception and then on to the rooms, however adapted golf-buggies can ferry luggage and people around the site.

The chalets are well made, comfortable and with spectacular views of the plains surrounding the hill. The pool had a wonderful vista again over the plains.

The staff were very nice and helpful, although not on the same level as some of the private camps we stayed in. The food was not brilliant although the fixed price of N$170 was not too bad I guess. The wine was quite well priced however.

We were a little disappointed in an afternoon guided drive we took from Dolomite. The guide was fine but going through the motions, and just drove up and down the main road and stopped at water-holes. I would have liked to perhaps go down some of the tracks only suitable for 4x4 or at least somewhere different; although maybe they are restricted to the main roads too? I didn't feel the experience was quite worth the N$500.

Overall though I enjoyed Dolomite, we were just a bit unlucky with weather and fire."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2011
"Overall we had a decent time at Okaukeujo.

Our first room - a waterhole chalet was surprisingly good - comfortable and clean, a nice place to stay. The floodlit waterhole is the real star of the show. Watching 3 black rhinos frolic around in and around the water in the dark was brilliant!

The staff were mixed. Most were fine however the restaurant manager and some of the staff there were uninterested and frankly rude. They are clearly understaffed and pretty low on morale I guess. The food was ok, but not as good as Dolomite, and was self service. Breakfast was fine, dinner was average, and again was the NWR standard $170.

Our second room, was a standard room which was a bit shabby and had mouse droppings on the kitchen surfaces and floor which was not great. But on the whole was ok. I think we had been spoilt by the previous places we stayed in !"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Nov 2011
"Sadly we only stayed on night at Erongo.

Great setting amongst the hills and kopjies of the Erongo Conservancy. Particularly liked the wooden walkways connecting the tents and the rest of the camp. Although we were only there briefly, we did take advantage of a couple of walks. The morning walk was excellent. A really knowledgable and enthusiastic guide, perfect pace and just right to set us up for a nice breakfast! It would be a shame not to take advantege of the walks around the lodge.

We had a nice evening meal, and the staff and managers were very friendly and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 26 Nov 2011
"A clean and comfortable place to stay.

Friendly staff, and fast WiFi was a bonus after being in the wilds for 2 weeks!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team