This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr G & Ms T from Oxon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

16

Excursions taken

0

My Feb 2012 trip

Tanzania between 5 Feb 2012 and 17 Feb 2012

Trip rating: Terrible
"Detailed summary sent separately."

Feedback response

These travellers experienced a serious theft at their first safari camp which got their trip off to an absolutely terrible start.

Crimes like this can happen anywhere, and theyre thankfully exceedingly rare on any of our African trips; we can remember 3-4 such incidents in total in the past 18 years of sending travellers to Africa. We are satisfied that this was purely due to a criminal and dont believe that it reflects on this particular camp at all. We know that the camps team, the local police, and the parks authorities all went to great lengths to catch the culprit, and to ensure that it never happens again.

However, this is obviously of no consolation to these particular travellers, and we thus understand why this one event did make this trip a terrible one for them.

Arranged By Claire Scott


Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2012
"Robbery at 4.30am on 8th Feb!"
Terrible
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Lemala Manyara

"Lemala Manyara review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2012
"Lazy useless manager, Simon! Toilet not flushing, very hot tent which was bad as I was sick. Tents now faded and tired."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2012
"So helpful staff led by Renata! Moshi and Zubeda welcoming from start. Wonderful suite upgrade and flexible in allowing us to stay an extra night even though lodge full. Sorry to leave.

Food rather bland for our tastes."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"Dunia Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2012
"Richard made us welcome and hospitable. Nice camp good attentive service if lacked a little character."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

"Kusini Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2012
"Really enjoyed it. Mark and Cornelia run a very good operation and very visiblly in charge. Super attitude from characterful staff!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

My Oct 2011 trip

Namibia between 10 Oct 2011 and 30 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Sabina was outstanding from start to finnish!!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Bradt Guide THE best I've ever used!!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"Excellent manager, lovely rooms especially ridge ones, good food and greay place to start/ finnish.

Service at reception indifferent!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Kulala Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2011
"Food not very good!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2011
"Wonderful!! Chef outstandingh as was food. Met Linus who enthusiastically showed his his garden!

Rooms not very private and ours was like a goldfish bowl."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2011
"Great location but a government camp and that showed in the odd service!!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2011
"Splendid place and very helpful!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Skeleton Coast Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Skeleton Coast Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2011
"A real highlight!! Special place with splendid staff and we were lucky to be with a great crowd of fellow guests! We will remember this experience for a long time.

Tents knackered! We understand delays but..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2011
"AS before!

[Ed: See the review below, for a stay a few days earlier]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2011
"Guide was very lazy, irritating and frankly poor!!

Food ok?

No soul or feeling of management."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2011
"Rooms v hot. Very friendly from start to finnish!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2011
"Outstanding experience!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2011
"Great new upmarket offering! Were so very helpful to us!!

Thank you!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team