This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr O & Ms L from Singapore

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

Southern Africa Trip

Botswana and 2 other countries between 30 Oct 2011 and 20 Nov 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"The somewhat complex 3 week itinerary worked very well, and surprisingly, we experienced no delays. The combination of 1 week in Namibia and 2 weeks in Botswana, worked, as expected, very well, and Expert Africa did a very good job with all the arrangements.

The transfer from Lebala to Livingstone by plane, bus, speedboat, bus in around 3 hours was truly impressive. Botswana is not a cheap destination, and more suitable for the seasoned Africa travelers who have already experienced South Africa and East Africa, and who can also appreciate the smaller creatures on safari, as the big game density can be low at times.

But overall our trip exceeded our expectations with Lagoon camp and Sossus Dune Camp being some of the high lights. The private guide we had in Namibia was exceptionally good, his name was Sebastiaan."

Arranged By Megan Green


Image alt

Monte Bello Guesthouse, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Monte Bello Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2011
"Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Hotel Zum Kaiser

"Swakopmund Boutique Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2011
"Good location and room, but attitude of staff only average.

Whilst here, we arranged a day-trip to Sandwich Harbour. These guests commented:

Excellent arrangement, and highly recommended!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour"

1 Nov 2011 • All-day excursion

Excellent arrangement, and highly recommended!
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2011
"Beautiful Location, and very helpful staff.

Sossusvlei was one of the highlights of our trip, and getting there before the 'rush' is a real advantage."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2011
"Stunning landscapes, beautiful camp and facilities. Excellent food and station staff. The only negative was our guide, who was just doing his job, without any engagement, but overall Wolwedans it definitely worth a visit!

Trying a bit too hard to up-sell balloon and air-charters as well as their premium wine.

Arranged a memorable special evening in the wine cellar @ the Dune Lodge!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Monte Bello Guesthouse, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Monte Bello Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2011
"Highly recommended"
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kanana

Kanana

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2011
"The chalet looked a bit tired and and the design made it impossible to get a through-flow of air, making it very hot in the afternoons.

The guide was excellent and we got very good leopard photos on our 1st drive.

Excellent photo opportunities on the boat trips with 'close' encounters with hippos, and a truely excellent bird life, including a diving African Fish Eagle. Lots of giraffe action as well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2011
"Got the honeymoon tent, which was nice and roomy, but hot. In our view Kanana and Shinde are a bit too similar in food and activities. Our guide was good but not exceptional, our overall impression of the trip was that the 'senior' guides were trying less hard, and in some cases did not listen.

Two special evenings were arranged well, one evening the food was very good, the 2nd evening the lamb was significantly overcooked, however, we realize that the camp was probably not fully staffed for special dinners. Overall we can recommend both Shinde Camp and Kanana, but probably only take one of them.

Got some excellent Lion photos here as well, in addition to lots of Elephants, giraffes, Zebras, and Sable Antelope."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2011
"The highlight of our Botswana, exceptional in all respects. Main purpose of the Botswana trip was to see the African wild dogs, and we had 4 exciting encounters over 4 days, including 2 kills, truly memorable, and exceeded our expectations in all respects.

Lots of close encounters with elephants including day-old baby, big herds of African Buffaloes, a morning boat trip to the carmine bee-eater colony was also very good. Our guide was exceptional and professional.

The open jeeps were uncomfortable and hot, but we realize that ordinary 4x4's will not stand up to the punishment of off-road driving, and following and seeing the African wild dogs make fully up for the discomfort!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2011
"A little bit too similar to Lagoon camp, but without the wild dogs, saw new-born Elephant baby, and some lion and hippo action, good bird life."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2011
"A perfect end to a excellent trip to Namibia and Botswana.

Impressive that it is possible to maintain a ***** world class hotel in such a location"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team