This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr C & Mrs M from Cheshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

18

Excursions taken

1

Overview

Zambia and 1 other country between 4 Oct 2016 and 20 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fabulous trip. it was all we had hoped for and went without a hitch.

It seems that it is standard practice in safari camps to eat 'family style', hosted by members of the camp staff. On talking with other guests at both camps we nearly all agreed that we would have preferred to eat separately. We realise that this is not something that Expert Africa can control but maybe worth passing on to the camps that you deal with.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

A little more clarity on visas would have helped. I was told that for Malawi we could get visa on arrival but your literature advises to get it in advance. In the event we went for 'on arrival' and it was no problem.

Also a little more clarity of what airport taxes we would need to pay would have saved a call or two to your office to find out."

Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Lovely 1 night stay"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2016
"Lovely boutique hotel. Close to the airport.

Friendly staff and really good food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chongwe River Camp"

4 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2016
"Great Camp in all ways but what we particularly enjoyed was the variety of activities on offer. We especially enjoyed the river safaris and canoeing.

All the staff did everything possible to ensure all guests were able to have their preferences met and overall it was a really fun place to be."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena tena Camp"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"This small camp is in a great location and there is a high concentration of game.

Guiding was excellent. Walking safaris on offer but we chose not to do one so spent our time on game drives."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kaya Mawa

Kaya Mawa

"The idyllic Kaya Mawa"

5 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2016
"Kaya Mawa is an absolutely outstanding place.

We just loved everything about it from staff to service to location to activities.

Would definitely seriously consider returning here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Aug 2011 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 28 Aug 2011 and 23 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip as a whole was wonderful. Everything went smoothly despite being in Africa!!

Driving in Namibia is really straightforward and the distances were not a problem at all.
Everybody very friendly.

We went mainly for the scenery and landscapes and were not disappointed.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We stopped at Tsumeb by chance which was a lovely town. Maybe you could make suggestions to your clients for 1 or 2 hr stops in nice places along their route to wander around or for lunch.

I know we needed to stop at / near Swakopmund because of length of journey from Sossus to Kipwe but apart from the kayaking which we enjoyed the town did nothing for us. So easy to be wise after the event but 1 night here and an extra one at Wolwedans or Okonjima would have been a much better use of time for us."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Very Friendly and comfortable hotel"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2011
"very friendly; great food."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Fantastic Location"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2011
"Fantastic place and people.

Would recommend 2 nights for future guests not 1 as we had."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Life among the boulders"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2011
"We really enjoyed our stay here. All staff very friendly. All very good but we probably prefer slightly smaller places."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Simply the best"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2011
"Quite simply the very best!!!

3 nights next time please!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Great to be in the park"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2011
"Surprised at no air conditioning in such a new camp. However very good overall and being within the park is really worthwhile. Did not use their activities.

Staff very helpful and friendly especially regarding the shuttle service."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Good but quirky"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2011
"Very good actually. Food of course was excellent. We were just recommended a wine for our meal; no wine list. Perhaps we should have asked but rather surprised that we had been given a £40 bottle of wine!

Lovely garden"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"A great fun morning"

7 Sep 2011 • Morning excursion

We had a super morning. Jeanne is a lovely person and very knowledgeable. She made the whole experience very enjoyable.
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Great spot for desert adapted elephants."

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2011
"A great camp and plenty on offer to do. The desert adapted elephant activity very well worthwhile.

We did other things ourselves and it was easy from here. Again staff very friendly and knowledgeable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Remote or what!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2011
"Another excellent camp.

We were there for as purpose and not disappointed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great waterhole for game viewing."

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2011
"The camp looks pretty grim but in fact the chalets are spacious and very well equipped and pleasant inside.

Food was really not very good at all and we had to ask for the wine list several times before they arrived and then another wait for the wine and water.

Breakfast also very poor.

Staff did not seem to care as in the other camps."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"A lovely camp with lots of walks."

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2011
"We only had 1 night here but it's a really lovely camp.

However I'm not sure what you would do here for longer other than go into Etosha."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"This camp has everything."

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"Fantastic in all respects. We wished we had had 2 or even 3 nights here because it is so good and there is so much to do,
The View rooms (which we had) are much better than the garden rooms

The guides are amongst some of the very best."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Wow!"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2011
"We were given an upgrade to a suite in the newly opened sister hotel. Absolutely fantastic.

Doubtless done so that we could report back to you! or is that a bit cynical? Anyway it was much appreciated."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

"Great for elephants."

4 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2011
"We feel that Somalisa is distinctly 'well worn' and that seems to be reflected by the owners who are expanding and updating. Unfortunately we had a tent that wasn't new or modernised even though at least 1 other Expert Africa guests were in a new tent.

For 3 days we had to ask at least twice for the water for our shower even though we had agreed a time; so service didn't overimpress.

We were also unlucky I suppose with game given that we were there for 4 nights and saw no hyena, leopard, rhino, only 1 solitary lioness and only cheetah on our transfer back to V Falls.

There seems to be no flexibility in activities. Every day it's just the same old game drives round the same roads at the same times. Compared to our other camps and previous safaris we were not hugely impressed with the quality of guiding although the 2 guides we had were both knowledgeable and pleasant."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Poor
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Great small atmospheric hotel"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2011
"2 great days here. a lovely way to finish our holiday. Would recommend this to anyone.

Brilliant location for the falls and all activities can be booked at the hotel and include transfers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team