This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms C & Mr W from Colorado

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Sept 2013 trip

Namibia between 22 Sep 2013 and 11 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"The overall experience exceeded my expectations. I was unusually critical of each place we stayed but it is only because you asked for feedback. I mentioned that Waterberg plateau camp rooms had cockroaches but is it fair to expect a place in the middle of a desert in Africe to not have bugs? The only things that would prevent me from going back to the Waterberg camp was the baboons, not the bugs.

I dealt primarily with Saskia Adye, but she wasn't on your list of team members so I chose her sister instead.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

The service was excellent! The only thing I would suggest (and Saskia made have mentioned this but I didn't hear her) was to be prepared for cold weather, especially during early morning game drives. I wasn't prepared for such cold weather in the mornings and suffered a bit until the sun came up. A warm coat, gloves, scarf and a hat would have been nice and easy to pack."

Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2013
"Galton House was clean and safe. The common rooms were airy with lots of light and nicely decorated. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was nice as we a had a choice of more than just eggs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolwedans Dunes Camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"The camp was fantastic, people in the service industry could take lessons from the staff. Each employee we came in contact with shook our hands and introduced themselves, and then remembered our names. We were always greeted with a smile and by name.

The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and the view from our tent was breathtaking.

The food was unbelievable, delicious and beautifully presented.

The game drives were great, the driver (I think his name was David) was very knowledgable and an excellent teacher. A highlight was our walk on the dunes where he pointed out all the insect and reptile life on the dunes.

I was sorry to leave this camp but two days was enough to see the landscape and wildlife. I would have liked to have been able to go hiking, that is why I only gave the activities category 'good'."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2013
"Beautiful location. The rooms were spacious, staff was friendly. It was cold rainy the day we were there so didn't get to totally enjoy the location. I would like to go back on a sunny day."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2013
"The Cornerstone Guesthouse was in a good location. The rooms were nice, no compliants. The gardens ourside the rooms were lovely. I just wish it had been warmer so we could have sat on our patio and enjoyed the flowers.

We arrived late on our first night and Robyn was very accomodating in meeting us at the hotel after she had left for the night. Pieter (the owner?) met us at breakfast and was very friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants. The Cornerstone was a nice stopover between the our trip from the south to the north."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2013
"The rooms were very spacious and nicely decorated. I really liked being able to push our beds out onto the patio to sleep under the stars. The only disappointment with the room was its location. Rooms 1-3 face away from the mountain (we were in room 1) and we looked out onto the plains with cattle and goats. It would have been a nicer experience to face the mountain. Room 1 (our room) was located next to the employee quarters and one afternoon and night there was an ongoing fight (very loud angry yelling) between some employees. The yelling was very disturbing and unsettling.

The food was very good. We liked having our own table for meals (instead of having to sit with all the other guests). The view from the dining room was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and responsive. On our second night the staff sang songs and danced. That was a special treat.

The game drives were good, no complaints. The drivers were friendly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuego Rest Camp review bush chalet"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"If I had been to Okaukuego Camp before Hoodia, Wolwedans or Noro Dawas I would have given Okaukuego higher marks. But because the customer service I received at these prior places was so superior I held Okaukuego up to these standards.

The check in process was efficient but the staff was not as friendly as the other places. They were not unfriendly, but just not as outgoing as the other places.

The room was very spacious and clean. I was glad we didn't pay extra to be in the waterhole chalets because our room was right across the street from the waterhole.

I liked having the option to do a nightime game drive. This was the only place that offered this experience and we had a great time seeing the animals active rather than sleeping. The game driver was very serious about our safety and very respectful of the animals (he did not get too close or shine the night light in their eyes).

The food at the restaurant was okay for buffet food. There was good variety. The chefs cooking the meat were very friendly and funny and encouraged us to try game (kudu, springbok)."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara bush camp"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"I loved the location of the tents at the bush camp, it was great being back in the trees. We had kudu and impala come right by our tent. Even though we had other tents nearby it felt like were alone.

The staff were not outgoingly friendly but once we talked to them they would become more outgoing and friendly. Again, we were used to the staff the Wolwedans who had completely spoiled us. It would have been nice for the staff to give us a smile and say hello without us having to say it first.

The food was excellent and it was nice having dinner/BBQ one night in the courtyard.

The only negative experience (more like a minor annoyance) had had nothing to do with the staff or the camp, it was a family with ill-behaved small children. While we were trying to enough a quite dinner, the kids were running all over the dining room and screaming. There is nothing anyone could have done about this (except maybe better parenting!). I didn't expect to have such small children at a camp that seemed more adult then family-like."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"The plateau was beautiful and viewing blinds were special. The game driver (Barira?) was very knowledgeable and very proud of the conservation work that has been done at the plateau. He was funny and very good at spotting game.

The camp itself was disappointing. They have a real problem with very aggressive baboons which made our experience at the camp unpleasant. We had to keep the windows and curtains of our room closed most of time to keep the baboons from seeing in the room and trying to get in. We tried to sit out on our patio but had a troop of baboons show up and act very aggressively toward us (they charged and screamed at us). When we weren't out game viewing we had to sit in our room because of the baboons. Our room also had cockroaches so we had to keep everything off the floor and all food in the refrigerator.

The food was average. The first night our waitress was Maria, she was very friendly, helpful and efficient. The second night we had someone else and the service was very unorganized and unresponsive. We had to have Maria intervene to help us get our order right.

I really enjoyed the history associated with the camp and the mountain hike to the top of the plateau was very nice.

Waterberg camp was our only slight disappointment of the whole trip."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

"Okonjima Villa"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2013
"I don't know what we did right but we were upgraded from the bush camp to the villa. Everything about the experience at the villa was fantastic!

The room, location, food, service, game drive (Pieter was great!), and cat tracking. Being at the Okonjima villa was the perfect way to end our trip. Staying at the villa made me feel how rich people must feel. Pampered and special."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2013
"See feedback from day 1 [Ed: see below!]"
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team