This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M & Ms T from N London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Very enjoyable trip

Namibia between 1 Aug 2015 and 14 Aug 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great time on this trip. Namibia is probably the most beautiful country we've ever been.

Our itinerary was probably not the most common for first-time visitors as we skipped some of the more popular destinations. The main goal was to see a variety of desert environments in a relatively slow pace. We also wanted to try self-driving in Africa while not covering too much distance.

Exert Africa came up with a part-fly, part-drive itinerary which took into account our requests and which we enjoyed greatly. The most impressive part was probably that the team managed all this despite our very late trip planning and booking (2-3 weeks before our travel date)."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


River Crossing

River Crossing

"Relaxing start after a long flight"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2015
"We only spent an afternoon at this lodge. Located about 5-min from the city, it has a nice view of a nearby mountain range.

It's a nice transition from a long trip onto a safari. Good food and welcoming staff.

The room is clean and nice, though a bit cold especially in the bathroom area."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Lovely camp for desert elephants"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2015
"Overall we found the activities enjoyable and our guide Richard enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The main focus was looking for desert elephants, and he did his best to find them despite the herds travelling very far from where we were. He also showed us the amazing landscape of this area as well as other unique animals and birds. We appreciated the guide's willingness to stay out as much as we wanted, even if it means sometimes we're late for the meals.

The camp is located further away from other camps in this area, which gave a nice secluded feeling. Most times we don't see other vehicles aside from where we found the elephants.

The camp atmosphere was nice, and we enjoyed interacting with the staff. It felt genuine and personal despite the camp being part of a bigger safari operator. Nothing to complain about the room or facilities. Sundowner snacks were very good. We enjoyed the view from the main dining area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Great fun rhino tracking!"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2015
"We enjoyed rhino tracking with our guide and Save the Rhino Trust trackers. It's an amazing experience to see the rhino on foot, and from a relatively short distance (say 100-200m). The trackers made sure everyone have an opportunity to take good photos, and also positioned the group such that we had a nice angle.

Afterwards the trackers would tell us stories about the specific rhinos we saw, which we found very interesting. We would note that some rhinos have been de-horned already (part of the Namibian government's efforts to de-horn all the rhinos in the country for their safety).

Overall we found more wildlife here than in our other camp in Damaraland - elephants, girafffe, zebra, etc.

The camp was very well-run, and the staff was welcoming."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Galton House

Galton House

"Friendly guesthouse in a convenient location"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2015
"We stayed here 2 separate overnight stops at this guesthouse. The place was nice and located close to downtown area, though still in a lovely, quieter neighborhood. It was an easy drive to the restaurants we wanted to try. Staff was helpful to guide us toward those places and not pushing us to have dinner at the guesthouse, a gesture which we appreciated.

We would note that each room could be quite different. The first room we had was much smaller than the second one. The bathroom had a bit too smaller space to put toiletries for our liking, but it was just an overnight stop. Good wifi access."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2015
"It is quite a big lodge with 23-24 rooms. Naturally it felt less intimate / personal when compared to other small camps we visited on this trip

The main benefit of staying here is the backdoor private gate to Sossusvlei, hence avoid the unnecessary de-tour and queue to the official main gate in the morning. The activities were done in a 10-seater van, and in our case the van was at full capacity. Not everyone got a window seat. This is in contrast to the usual 6-seater safari vehicles and we barely had more than 4 people at a time. On the other hand, our guide was good at making frequent stops to make sure everyone got a good photo and managing the time. All in all it was a decent experience.

Services at the lodge could feel a little rough around the edges e.g. announcing incorrect menu at dinner, missing utensils at meal times, a drink we didn't order was on our invoice at check-out, etc. But overall the staff addressed these issues immediately and with a positive attitude.

Having said that, we recognised that the price for this lodge was lower than at other places we stayed, and some of the above reflected that. We noted that booking the morning excursion at the lodge directly (they told us c.£45 per person) were cheaper than booking via Expert Africa (£60 per person). Not a big amount in the grand scheme of things."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"One of the most beautiful places"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2015
"The scenery of this reserve is absolutely stunning - red sands contrasting with pale green / yellow color of the grass, against the backdrop of a beautiful mountain range. And you got all of this from your camp. There were some but not too much wildlife (mainly oryx), but the whole point was the beautiful reserve itself.

Services were top class. Dinner was a 5-course meal and usually featured game (oryx, springbok or kudu) which we found quite exotic but very good. Great house wine - probably some of the best we had on in Africa.

The camp gave us a private vehicle through our stay, probably as our timing of arrival and departure didn't quite work with other guests, and also some of other guests came in a big family group. Much appreciated gesture regardless. The only minor negative is that we didn't feel our guide was that enthusiastic. He obliged to our requests generally, but we felt we had to push a bit for going out relatively early or making interesting stops on the drive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Galton House

Galton House

"Friendly guesthouse in a convenient location"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2015
"We already wrote a review for this place.

The review system showed this place twice as we stayed here in two separate overnight stops."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team