This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr C & family from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

Tips, Timings and Temperature!

Namibia between 4 Aug 2010 and 20 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our first experience of Africa - and we would definitely like to return. All four of us (including a 15 & 17 yr old) really enjoyed it, and felt we had got a flavour of what Namibia was about - the animals - and the people.

Some handy hints - tips will be expected in various places - from a voluntary 'departiing' tip for the staff box at lodges, to a tip for 'guarding your car' every time you stop at the supermarket or to have a meal, to a tip for washing your car overnight when you didn't expect it! It would be helpful for Expert Africa to tell travellers what is the going rate for tipping - we worked out our own ratio in the end - more for staff at lodges, smaller amount for car guards etc.

It was initially a shock to come across 'car guards', as not used to this concept in UK. We also ended up giving juice and pencils as well as some money to some young boys who helped us unsolicited to change a tyre in the middle of nowhere. Some people in the country areas have very little.

Timings - Think in advance about when you are likely to arrive at lodges - some of the distances you will travel between them are pretty big - and you can't rush on gravel roads. If you are going to arrive just before dusk, you may not be able to do that walk in that lodgeyou had planned - unless you are there for 2 nights - which we found would have been preferable in most lodges.

Temperature - We noticed the drop in night-time/morning temperatures in Western Etosha - may just have been a fluke of the weather at that time - but it can be PRETTY chilly eating your breakfast at 6.00 a.m. in an outside restaurant - if you are planning to go looking for animals early which most people do whilst in Etosha, so you do need a jumper or fleece."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2010
"This guesthouse was the first place we stayed.

We were initially a little taken back by the fairly over security (gate, fences & night-time security guard) - but the rooms themselves were clean and cool and reminded us of India arranged on three sides around a sunken rock feature."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2010
"Communal mealtimes with the owner Ernst, & his young volunteer horse-trainer Madeleine were the highlight of our stay - we felt honoured that they took the time to eat with their guests. The food was simple but well-cooked and featured zebra ham & game meat direct from the farm.

Old-style farmhouse accomodation (portable gas fires in bedrooms) in tranquil surroundings. 2 great danes loll companiably around giving the feeling of being a house-guest in someone's home. Very interesting to see how a Namibian born farmer runs his estate, how he considers welfare of his farm-workers etc.

If you plan to go on one of the marked walks, you do need to consider arrival times, dusk etc, as this will limit what you can do on a one-night stay."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2010
"Great food with plenty of choice, well-designed large 'tented' rooms reminiscent of sailing ships with solid floors, tea & coffee making facilities and a separate bathroom with shower.

A semi-tame Springbok appeared near to rooms on first night, as well as a jackal who sat yards from the restaurant most evenings! Only negative was what I assume was distant generator noise during the night, and a distinct sewage smell on our second (windy) day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2010
"Sam took time to chat with & welcome all of his guests, as well as insisting on checking us in for the kayaking trip we had booked of his own accord. Beethoven, the dog a great asset if you are missing your own dog - but beware if you have small children, as he can 'play rough - he can't help having a large mouth'!

Food was very nice - well-presented - but with nice flavours. Sam takes pride in his kitchen and in training up his staff.

It was a shame that we hit the 2 days when Sam's large garden pond was being renovated together with the house next door, as this did result in a seven o'clock wake-up call. Slightly strange to have bathroom windows adjacent to outside corridor - would have preferred some sort of blind even though windows were frosted!

Expert Africa arranged for these travellers to go Kayaking at Pelican Point. They commented:

Jeanne, who took us, was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. She gave us a great experience - we all thoroughly enjoyed the ride across to Pelican Point (it's quite a long way on sand to get to where you can launch the kayaks - not just a nip across the bay, but it's interesting to see flamigoes and salt pans along the route!).

Don't miss this if you go to Swakopmund - kayaking and a baby seal allowing me to touch its whiskers, was for me personally, on a par with seeing rhinos at close quarters in Etosha!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Brilliant Kayaking! - Highlight of trip!"

10 Aug 2010 • Morning excursion

Jeanne, who took us, was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. She gave us a great experience - we all thoroughly enjoyed the ride across to Pelican Point (it's quite a long way on sand to get to where you can launch the kayaks - not just a nip across the bay, but it's interesting to see flamigoes and salt pans along the route!).

Don't miss this if you go to Swakopmund - kayaking and a baby seal allowing me to touch its whiskers, was for me personally, on a par with seeing rhinos at close quarters in Etosha!
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2010
"The best camp/lodge in our 2 weeks as voted by our family of 4! The staff seemed very happy and engaged - more so than anywhere we visited. The two guides who collected us and returned us to our car were friendly, informative and took time to talk to us at length, and the female camp leader who greeted us was very helpful.

Communal meal outside with several nationalities all mingling together added to the enjoyment, as did the fun singing and dancing, and the star-gazing lesson! Food was well-cooked and tasty - but obviously not geared up to offer the range you would find in a lodge.

Very nice roomy luxury tents with desk, reading lights, bath robes etc. Bathroom to the side - curtained-off rather than door.

Very relaxed feel to the camp, with cushioned seats looking out from the communal area to distant mountains - n.b. Don't look for a traditional farmhouse when looking for the meeting point - more a series of animal enclosures and small huts - we nearly missed it in the dusk!
-
Be prepared that you may find your car has been washed during your stay by the local farmer who guards it - so a tip might be in order!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2010
"Excellent luxury 'chalets' with curtained-off bathroom and shower and separate enclosed toilet, plus large raised stone 'verandah' allowing you to sleep outside if the urge took you!

Great almost 360 degree views from the restaurant, and great to swim in the pool looking straight out onto the plains, not to mention the resident pool 'bat'!

The food was adequate - but not the same choice as experienced at Taleni & Sossusvlei. Restaurant staff were somehow a little subdued - but possibly only because they were being polite! Felt that the lodge lacked a focal point - could have done with a more enclosed, cost coffee/tea point in centre of restaurant to encourage interaction between the guests."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

"Taleni Etosha Village review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2010
"Taleni had the truest 'camping' feel of all the lodges - not least because the accomodation consists of large family-sized tents on raised wooden platforms, and it is I believe, billed as 'affordable accomodation'. The units have been set-up to allow self-catering (kettle, sink, 2-ring cooker etc) - but no utensils or crockery were supplied - but didn't see anyone doing this - most prefering to use the excellent outdoor restaurant areas with the familiar game-meat & stir-fry stations as at Sossusvlei Lodge.

The restaurant staff were all very keen to please & friendly.

For those who like their privacy - be warned that the individual shower and toilet are housed in wooden 'staked' enclosures which are not sound-proof - but just about preserve your modesty! A zebra was a regular visitor to Taleni, taking advantage of the lush green grass!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2010
"Mushara had to be the most luxurious of all our stays. As there were 4 of us (including 2 teenagers), we were in a purpose-built unit at the entrance - extremely roomy with 2 large bedrooms & showers, bath and own garden and verandah, and - luxury - a large television and DVD player (with soem DVD's), together with tea and coffee making facilities and large mini-bar.

The welcoming staff were just that - relaxed and friendly, and as at Damaraland, not averse to bursting into song upon occasion (there was a birthday that evening).

First impressions were of an ex-colonial style hotel - possibly because of the zebra skin in reception, and the light airy lobby area.

Look out for small deer and Kudu in the grounds along the driveway, particularly at dusk/morning - but maybe best not to go out alone after dark as apparently predators have been known to pass through the area..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2010
"Units based upon traditional African huts - clean, bright with everything required as well as an 'enclosed' bathroom with bath and shower and a TV - don't get these at all lodges.

Not as roomy as some of the other lodges - but everything you needed was provided from chairs & table to Tea & coffee facilities.

Separate tables in restaurant - service was very good - but felt more formal than other lodges where we ate communally."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2010
"Erongo was the last lodge we visited - and one of the best. It has a unique setting amongst boulder-strewn landscape, and we were all fascinated by the activities of the many Rock Hyrax in and around the camp. The units are scattered along wooden walkways across the hillside, each with its own unique view.

Our teenagers room had the most 'integrated' bathroom we had seen, with large boulders incorporated in the design of the bathroom itself. Bathroom & toilet were again curtained off as in other camps, but it was good to see that the water from the shower served a dual purpose as drinking water for the Hyrax for whom water was at a premium!

The restaurant was small and intimate, and gave great views of wildlife in the evening such as porcupines and one one occasion, a small wild cat. Staff were friendly and helpful. We regretted only having been able to stay 1 night here - as 2 nights would give more opportunities to walk further afield with the guides. Would definitely go back again!

Just one point - beware of the bump on the road up - we had an X-Trail with good ground clearance - but easy to catch bottom of car!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team