This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J & Mrs C from W Sussex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2012 trip

Namibia between 22 Jul 2012 and 7 Aug 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"1st time to Namibia & Africa for us. Big distances to cover similar to US, Australia etc, so we knew what this entailed. Before we went we got the usual intake of breath from people when they asked us where we were going on holiday and we said Africa, so we went with an open mind and all the travel jabs etc.

The realillty for us was to meet the most friendly local people of any past holiday, experience mostly excellent service and food, see some amazing animals and scenery and feel very comfortable with everything around us. We wanted to go over land as we enjoy the travelling and self driving. This was fun in its self as the roads were mostly totally empty. We will certainly go back again and explore more new places in Africa.

I think for people making their 1st African self drive trip, Namibia is a good destination. The itinery put together by Expert Africa was well thought out, took in all the highlights and made the whole thing work well with realistic driving targets. The documentation that we were sent before hand was well considered and allowed us to make good preparations.

We would certainly have no problems recommending them to friends or using them again."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2012
"Pleasant people and ideal for us for our first night after the flights.

About 30mins from the airport and close to a supermarket for stocking up with travel provisions."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2012
"Well managed and we were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff.

The Cheetah feeding and sun downer before dinner was a nice experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2012
"A busy lodge with friendly and helpfull staff. The half tented room was clean and fresh. A wide selection of food available for the evening buffet. Good location to the park gate.

Many activities looked available, but we made a self drive tour. They supplied us with a magnificent wicker breakfast hamper so we could have an independant breakfast in the dunes."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2012
"Helpfull and friendly staff. Clean and cosy guest house feeling.

Well placed for a walk into town to shop and eat, so did not need to use the car here. plenty of local activities if required."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2012
"This lodge for us was one of the highlights. Very remote and scenic area. The staff were extremely friendly and warm hearted. We should have stayed longer than 2 nights.

The drive to find the desert elephants was immense fun, especially watching the guide tracking them from signs left on the ground. The staff singing in the evening was a nice bonus. The atmosphere in the lodge made it very easy to socialise with the other guests in the evening."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2012
"The fantastic waterhole makes this a brilliant location. The room was clean and reasonably spacious. No checks were made of the itinery or room so the $500 deposit seemed a bit pointless. The staff here seem very low on moral compared to all the other places we stayed, which was surprising as its the best location for animals. Patience is required for the understaffed reception.

Its best to stock up with your own lunchtime food before you get here if you are doing self drive. The camp shop was a poorly stocked depressing affair, in fact we ended up each day eating biscuits for lunch. The poor shop assistant had to write down each item that you purchased on a list, which luckily we saw the funny side of, but it made him a bit grumpy when someone turned up with a basket of items and the waiting time again needed patience.

The resturant could have been good if managed correctly, but the poor staff spent more time running around putting things right. Again poor staff moral. Meals were over priced as its a captive audience. The Etosha park more than made up for this, so dont let these small things put you off, just come better prepared than us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2012
"Warm and friendly staff and a nice cosy feel to the lodge. Very close to the park gate so is a good alternative to using the park accomodation if you want some personalised service. You would however have to forgo the night viewing at the waterholes. Staff singing after dinner was again good fun."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2012
"Only stayed 1 night here but should have stayed longer.

The cheetah tracking was great fun with very professional guides. We would have liked to have done the Leopard tracking but our schedule did'nt allow us time in the morning. We stayed in a view room which was a nice experience.

Great staff and a shared table for evening meal with other guests was a pleasant finish for the last evening of the holiday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team