This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge

Reviews of Canyon Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

96 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Canyon Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Canyon Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Oryx

80% success

Zebra

60% success

Giraffe

40% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 96
Duration
Arrival date
Ian & Vivienne
UK

"Well designed and maintained"

3 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2017
"The chalets or cabins are all detached and although small are well designed and equipped and are kept extremely clean.

We were given one of the furthest away from the main reception and dining area and the views over the desert were spectacular.,especially at sunset. These cabins are also quiet. The grounds are very well tended and there are paved paths everywhere which are lit at night.

The swimming pool is set well away from the cabins and overlook the rock and boulder strewn desert.the honesty bar set above ,the pool is well stocked and drinks are not expensive when you consider how remote the property is.

The food was adequate and you need not go hungry but it was never fine dining and probably does not attempt to be. The trip to the canyon and the hot springs from here is the best part of an hour (different directions). It is well worth the drive and we were amongst few tourists at both destination.

The journey to the property is along poor roads (with wonderful scenery)and a 4WD vehicle is strongly advised, indeed we would recommend that anyone self driving in this beautiful country hires such a vehicle rather than an ordinary car." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
raedrian
Canada

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Apr 2017
"This property was outstanding in facilities, location and people.

The rock surroundings were awesome and the grounds with cabins into and by the rocks was superb.

It was a great base for viewing the Fish River Canyon and spend time at the pool with a beautiful view of the desert and mountains." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Canyon lodge."

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2017
"Very attractive rooms in a beautiful setting with well-kept gardens.

The Gondwana organisation knows its business with attention to detail and well trained staff.

Food perhaps did not match the otherwise high standard." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
P & S
Pickering

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2016
"Overall a good location, well presented.

Sundowner walk set off time was too early, at the viewpoint we had to wait about 40 minutes before the sun started to set.

We had to ask for drinks as none were offered at the viewpoint.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Good base for visiting the Canbyon area"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2016
"Nice place to stay close to the canyon. Quite a large facility with nice individual rooms amongst the boulders. Food was good albeit in quite a large restaurant. Fun to see a number of animals inthe grounds including Rock Hyrax and Oryx and able to watch animals on hte plain early in the day.

Only a fairly short drive (20 mins) to the Canyon. A later start is worthwhile as the sun only lights into the Canyon later in the orning whilst dust in the air affects tha fternoon views. Drove down the 4x4 track along the canyon to get some better views that are worthwhile versus the main viewpoint, though you do need a 4x4 given the quality of the road.

Alo stopped for fuel, beer and a very nice cheesecake at the quirky Roadhouse fairly close by, and would certainly prefer the Lodge versus the Roadhouse as a place to stay.

Drove down to the Orange River then up through Rosh Pinah enroute to Luderitz. Fabulous scenery along the way and very different green scenery close to the river although it adds an hour to the journey.

" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs A & Mr J T
Essex

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2016
"The rooms were fine as was the food. The walk up the hill for the sundowner was nice too - excellent sunset views. Worth it. The chalets are stunningly done in the rocks, and the grounds are alive with dassies and wandering oryx.

It is as close to the canyon as any other lodge and the canyon can be visited easily in your own vehicle - worth an early start to beat the rush. A note to self drivers - there is petrol at the Canyon Roadhouse, which you will probably pass on the way, and is a very reliable source.

The staff were friendly and helpful. A young lady on reception lent us her own phone to ring Bidvest about the broken boot lock catch (our phone had a Namibian sim card but failed to work in half the country - we were sold the wrong card! Oh well). Having got the advice, she arranged for one of the maintenance staff to help. His name was 'Lofty', and he welded it up for us to enable us to continue to Aus. Excellent - friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"Great place to stay for the Fish River Canyon"

2 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2016
"We reached Canyon Lodge having driven up from South Africa, across the Orange River and onto the remotest road I have ever been on - so remote and deserted there are no fences lining the roads and in 100kms we saw one car. We fell back in love with Namibia instantly.

Canyon Lodge is excellent for viewing the Fish River Canyon. We drove ourselves at dawn (which meant we missed breakfast) and then came back to relax by the pool for the afternoon - we were the only people there and couldn't get enough of the view from it, We then went back to the Canyon for sunset - the entry fee is for 24 hours so we didn't have to pay again.

The gate to the Fish River Canyon doesn't open until 7am - but if you ask nicely the security guard will let you through as s long as you promise to pay on exit which meant we were at the viewpoint as the sun came up - not a difficult promise to make. We spent 3-4 hours wandering around the Canyon - we didn't have a 4*4 which meant we didn't try getting to Eagles Rock - we did get to Sulphur Springs and the Hikers viewpoint was great for sunset. When it is really hot in Namibia, you wouldn't want to go for sunset, but April was fine.

Two nights was essential - it meant we could also visit Ai-Ais. And as we left we also stopped off for a coffee in the Canon Roadhouse - another quirky place and well worth the break although it wasn't too far on the way of our drive for the day.

You could take part in activities organised by the lodge, but the reality is, not many do as most guests seem either to be driving themselves or arriving as part of a group who have organised their own activities. If we were staying another night we would have done one of the lodge walks - these are guided only and last around 3-4 hours. We just did the sundowner walk when we arrived, which is 10 minutes to a vantage point to see the sun set, and we were priviliedged to see the moon rise simultaneously" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J & R
UK

"Fish River"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2016
"Lovely chalet. Great guided tour of Fish River Canyon.

Delicious food.

Dodgy wifi!

Just one problem was that we booked a sundowner walk and trip to the Canyon with a member of staff and she didn't organise either of these things. it was resolved pretty quickly by another member of staff." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The Ys
London

"Lovely oasis in the south"

1 night Arrived 9 Feb 2016
"Lovely service and beautifully designed lodge with wonderful gardens and very welcome pool with amazing views.

Within easy reach of Fish River Canyon. Buffet dinner with good choice and plentiful. Outdoor dining was lovely.

Individual chalet accommodation with terrace" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr C & Mrs L
UK

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2015
"a very nice Lodge in a beautiful setting with very friendly and helpful staff" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Showing 11-20 of 96
89%
96 reviews of Canyon Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
50
41
4
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

Perched on the lip of Fish River Canyon, Fish River Lodge has some of the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


93% (59 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa