This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge

Reviews of Canyon Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

96 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Canyon Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Canyon Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Oryx

80% success

Zebra

60% success

Giraffe

40% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 96
Duration
Arrival date
Miss K & Mr G
London

"Lovely stay at Canyon Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2014
"Spectacular location and very convenient for visiting fish river canyon. Nice rooms set into the rocks. Amazing shower. Comfortable beds. Good wholesome food and plenty of it. Very helpful staff. Great service. Very friendly cats. Stunning views of the rock formations." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Glasgow

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2014
"interesting location and unusual accommodation. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would have liked a mini bar in the room. Their "minibar" which was a large fridge next to the distant swim pool was not ideal.

Buffet meals in the evening were excellent and lovely breakfasts too." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & Mrs B
Preston

"Really Nice Pool"

2 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2013
"Canon Lodge was an oasis with very good accommodation and facilities. The pool area was really nice. Needed as the temperature was 40 degrees.

Food was good and it was an excellent base to tour Fish River Canyon. A visit to its sister Canon Roadhouse is well worth a stop either for coffee, a meal or just to see the quirky interior based on old cars !" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs M
Newcastle

"Canyon Lodge- superb"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"What a lovely place. Service was superb.

We joined the walk up the rocks in the evening to watch the sunset. Swimming pool was good.

We were booked in here by accident - we should have been at Canon Roadhouse. I think it was better to be here, nearer the canyon, But we dropped off at the Roadhouse on the way in and out and were fascinated by the cars. Cannot comment on the accomodation there but the staff were very helpful and the shop was good." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Hants

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2013
"Unbelievable ! Words cannot describe this place. Absolutely fantastic. The pictures in the guide books do not do it justice. Tour buses were even pulling off the road to allow tourists to take pictures of this lodge.

We arrived with a puncture and the staff were very helpful and had it all fixed within half and hour.

At the end of our holiday we played the "what was best?" game - best sights, best day, best lodge, worst road, etc. We changed the game to "what was the 2nd best lodge?" as Canyon Lodge was in it's own universe, so far removed from anything else we experienced. Worth going all the way to Namibia just for this lodge (and Fish River canyon)" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M.
Loughborough

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"This is not the lodge's fault and indeed the driver taking us to the Fish River Canyon supplied us with as many blankets as we needed, but it was a bitterly cold journey that particular day in an open vehicle.

The canyon is stunning but with hindsight we could have driven ourselves there and saved over $N600 per person which was the price for Canon Lodge to take us there. Without doubt the worst value for money drive I have evr had in Namibia. Drive yourself!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs V
Avon

"Canyon Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2013
"The room was comfortable and inivative in design. A hair dryer would have been useful. Given the distance of the room from the main lodge it would have been good to have had means of making drink or being able to store cold drinks without having to make a specfic trip back to the main building.

The food was well presented and a good selection both at breakfast and dinner. There was a limited choice for lunch. The staff were all friendly, obliging and informative.

Taking into account that we did not have independent transport and the weather was on the cool side within the lodge there was little to do so perhaps a 3 night stay was one night too many. Two activiites can and were done on one day, morning and sundown drive. The guides on both these activities were knowledgable and very informative. The remaining day we spent in and around the lodge the conclusion was that this was one day to long." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr N & Mrs J
Wilts

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"Although our initial impressions were good, we felt that the facilities here were not comprehensive. The rooms were fairly spartan, and the food was not impressive.

However, the staff were outstanding." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Newbridge

"Upgrade to canon lodge"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2013
"We were lucky enough to be upgraded to Canon Lodge

Our lodge was one of the ones at the edge of the resort and had uninterrupted views of the desert. The setting is very peaceful, accommodation quite unique with the showers built into the rocks

Food was probably the most varied of our trip and the singing of the staff ended a wonderful stay. From here the canyon is very accessible despite the road works

Lovely views for watching sunset" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Australia

"Exquisite accomodation"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2013
"Thoroughly enjoyed the sun downer walk.
Staff very pleasant.

Appearance of small birds at the breakfast food tables needs to be addressed" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 96
89%
96 reviews of Canyon Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
50
41
4
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

Perched on the lip of Fish River Canyon, Fish River Lodge has some of the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


93% (59 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa