This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge

Reviews of Canyon Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

96 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Canyon Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Canyon Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Oryx

80% success

Zebra

60% success

Giraffe

40% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 96
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Cheltenham

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2013
"Very good
Helpful staff especially the manageress who gave us advice on Swakopmund" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr R
Chicago, USA

"Beautiful Lodge-Not Environmentally Friendly"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2012
"The lodge, chalet, service and food at the lodge was excellent! The only reason we are giving it a 'Terrible" overall experience is because of its complete lack of care for the environment.

The chalet that we had was absolutely beautiful with a magnificient view of the surrounding landscape. The room was very comfortable and very clean. The food was very good and the service extraordinary. Staff was very attentive and helpful whenever we needed them.

However, during our stay we noticed many concerning things. First, as most people know (or should know), Namibia is mostly a desert which means water is precious. Within the lodge there are all these very pretty and green grassy areas. We all know grass needs a lot of water which, to our impression, is being wasted in the landscaping. There are many ways of landscaping that are desert-friendly.

We also learned that the umbrella company (Gondwana) is planning on "re-introducing" game (lions, giraffes, elephants) into the park. Again, you cannot sustain that kind of game in that location without destroying the environment. The rate at which grasses and plants grow is not appropriate for that. If someone wants to see those animals, The Fish River Canyon is not the place! They are trying to become competitive but they will destroy the surrounding ecosystem! I do not like supporting that kind of business." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Canon Lodge - 2 nights"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2012
"Our first venture onto gravel roads in our little Toyota Aygo!! But we arrived OK.

Wonderfully laid out with lots of green grass and trees, a veritable oasis in the desert, with the lodges dotted about blending in with the massive boulders. The pool at the edge of camp has a fantastic background of the wide open vastness of Namibia.

Drive to the Fish River Canyon next day with lots of wildlife sightings, then the "OH WOW" , just look at that view over and down into the Canyon! I'm now going to buy a "fisheye lens" for my camera!

The food in the restaurant at Canon Lodge was excellent." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Freiburg

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2012
"First class Lodge in an fantastic location. Excellent accomodation, lovely grounds, good food. Staff helpful and friendly." See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr B
Suffolk

"A growing concern!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2012
"The lodge had been extended since our last stay and feels more like a resort. The accommodation is as interesting as ever but the manicured lawns seemed somehow out of sync. The pool area, slightly off the beaten track, is impressive with great views of the wider landscape.

The food offering is good although the breakfast buffet had been cleared away long before the end time on one of the days and they had to put it out again for us as we had been walking beforehand. The quality of the dinner is very god with interesting choices from the help yourself buffet but waiter served starter and dessert.

However, the logistics of this system didn't work very well and not just for us .On our first night we sat for 20 mins without anyone taking our drinks or starter order so gave up and just took food from the buffet in the end. The manager lady had struggled to find us a table at all and we wandered round the room with her for what seemed like ages before she offered us one. Despite an eventual apology that we had been ignored the waiter finally brought the drinks but never came back so we kept having to ask for things. We had had to accept an awful table by the toilets as all the others had been reserved in advance. It was a dark. pokey corner with less attractive table dressing and lighting and another couple refused to even sit there! It all spoilt the meal and now wise to the tactics we then reserved a better table for the following night although service was still erratic. The seating arrangements and staff didn't seem to be able to cope with the numbers.

One staff member stuck out as being very friendly and knowledgeable but many of the others including the manager were unsmiling and indifferent." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2012
"Lovely lodge. Many of the cabins are a significant distance form the restaurant etc. but the paths are good and staff help to bring in luggage. Most of the cabins have good views over the desert for spectacular skies and sunsets. Cabins are individualy built around natural boulders. They could benefit by having a small fridge provided.

Food is good and on our second evening the staff performed local songs for diners.

The lodge is well placed for the canyon and also for petrol (14Km) at the Canyon Roadhouse but only accesible over ~100Kn of gravel and sand roads from north or south.
" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Wilts

"Canyon Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2012
"This is a really wacky place to stay and very interesting. Food was excellent here" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Judd
London

"Enjoyable stay, friendly staff"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"Whilst it was evident that some of the staff were quite new, all were helpful and polite. Nicely landscaped location, great room and good food.

We really enjoyed our stay and had some very nice cocktails at the bar!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Mrs M
UK

"Two nights at Canyon Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2012
"The accommodation was lovely (built into the rocks and with an outside seating area and outlook over the koppies) - although the road to the Lodge was less so. The food was reasonable although we found bar prices to be on the high side.

Participation in an organised trip to the canyon cost N$580pp, which we felt to be outrageously expensive so we drove ourselves there instead.

The pool-with-a-view was a lovely place to relax" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Swindon

"More commercial than some lodges"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2012
"Stayed 2 nights after long drive from Bagatelle - given very private cosy chalet (no 25) with wonderful views.

Excellent buffet food. Very friendly staff." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 96
89%
96 reviews of Canyon Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
50
41
4
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

Perched on the lip of Fish River Canyon, Fish River Lodge has some of the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


93% (59 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa