This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp

Reviews of Pioneer Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

123 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pioneer Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 123
Duration
Arrival date
Mr K-Prof V
Michigan

"Great Place to Use Near Lusaka"

1 night Arrived 21 Dec 2018
"Only 30 minutes from the airport, we stayed at Pioneer Camp for a day while awaiting an onward flight connection.

Our experience was excellent - good food, quiet surroundings, attentive staff.

This was a hundred times better than staying in a hotel in the city. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr E.
Zurich

"Arrival in Lusaka"

1 night Arrived 16 Nov 2018
"Negative:
- very loud music from a neighboring house/village
- very impersonal reception and atmosphere
- reception area was dark and not very welcoming" See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr T
Johannesburg

"Overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2018
"On arrival at airport, Pioneer guys were there to meet us, transfer to camp was without incident. Arrival and check in were fine, though one room had twin beds because of a red ant infestation, not the end of the world. Dinner was fine. Rooms were spacious but the bed and pillows were terribly old and uncomfortable. Our transfer back to the airport was a huge issue. The bus was late. We were told we would be leaving at 6am. Most of our party was already waiting at reception at 5:45. By 6:30 our transport wasn't there. There was a story about another couple needing to leave for the airport, so they took the bus, and the driver was on the way back. They then brought another car, which we loaded and piled in. This car had no fuel. Our original bus came tearing back into camp and almost ran over the dog! We unpacked the car with no fuel and packed into the bus. The drive to the airport was hair raising to say the least - it's a wonder we didn't have an accident. We did make it to the airport with minutes to spare before check in closed. The story about the other couple was nonsense, they would not have fit in the vehicle with us anyway. This was a phantom couple. The driver was just late. Late was bad enough, but the lying was unacceptable." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Mrs K
Netherlands

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2018
"It's ok to stay for a night, before travelling to an other place. But not for a longer stay.

The simple furnished and decorated room is large and very clean. The food was good, but you have to wait long before it is on your table.

The staff is helpful but it needs a bit more professional attitude. But saying that I would go again for a stopover. If you want luxury all over, it is not your place." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs W
Croydon

"Satisfactory and convenient overnight stay "

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"We used Pioneer Camp as an overnight stay after arriving at Lusaka airport and before traveling onward. The camp arranged the transfer from and back to the airport and that was efficient and on time - despite parts of the long dirt road from the main road being very poor and bumpy. Friendly welcome and spacious comfortable chalet. Reasonable choice on the dinner and breakfast menu." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Hindhead

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2018
"This camp was peaceful, had friendly staff and the accommodation was good. All meals were good.

Excellent place to stay for a night." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
A & B
Larbert

"Good for a stopover"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2018
"We only stayed in Pioneer Camp for one night travelling to South Luangwa so hard to really comment much.

Room was very clean and comfortable and friendly staff." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs M
Japan

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2018
"Nice place to stay after long flight into Lusaka. I was glad to have large room with bath tub.

There was a large party (35 people) staying at the camp and they gathered at the restaurant area before each meal, so I sat at the bar and waited for a while until my table was set. But staff were very friendly and food was good." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Wiltshire

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2018
"Very good overnight stop before safari" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss P
London

"Convenient stopover"

1 night Arrived 13 Jul 2018
"Convenient location for a one night stop over, with friendly staff and a great steak for dinner.

It was a pretty cold night and the chalets are not well insulated- hot water bottles would be much appreciated." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 123
79%
123 reviews of Pioneer Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
56
28
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Lusaka's Taj Pamodzi Hotel is a typical large hotel, which may be useful as a stop-over for the beginning or end of a safari in Zambia.


78% (82 reviews)
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a small but comfortable, boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style.


93% (59 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


83% (38 reviews)
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck looks like any other Zambian house in the road, but inside you'll find it to be an interesting and eclectic little hotel with a real flavour of Zambia.


84% (38 reviews)
Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi is a boutique lodge on the outskirts of Luaska, located on its own game farm in a lovely rural setting.


92% (10 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa