This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp

Reviews of Kwihala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

111 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwihala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwihala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

60% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

80% success

Spotted Hyena

80% success

Eland

60% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Striped Hyena

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 111
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs E
Croydon

"Wonderful tented camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2016
"Kwihala is a very well-run camp in a great location on the (dry when we we visited) riverbank. Tents are spacious and well appointed. The bucket showers worked perfectly! The site is extensive, so each tent is well separated from others. Tam, the manager, is knowledgeable and experienced, and working with the team of guides and other staff, provides an all-round excellent safari experience. The food was really good, varied and of consistently high standard.

Highpoints - we arrived at the airstrip to be told that there was a pack of wild dogs which we really must see before being taken to the camp. After an exciting drive through the bush, we got there just in time to see them before they moved off from resting round a tree. As we had always wanted to see wild dogs, this close-up experience was perfect. Thanks to Michael and Charles for this amazing experience.

Our guide, Hamza, ably supported by Michael, was excellent and knowledge. He was determined to give us the best viewings possible. The two of them also provided us with the - entertaining, for us - spectacle of them rescuing another safari vehicle (from outside Ruaha) which had become bogged down in a riverbed. Good driving skills!

Ruaha provided excellent sightings of elephants, lions, a variety of antelope and wonderful birdlife." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Sevenoaks

"Kwihala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2016
"We spent four nights at this little gem of a camp, coming from Selous Impala.

Although it sounds like a cliche, perhaps the best way of thinking about Kwihala is that you don't feel like a paying guest but rather a friend who has been invited to a weekend party. I'm sure that this is in no small part down to the skills and personality of the manager (Tam) who has got the fundamentals running so well that the team can relax into their jobs and create an atmosphere which is unstuffy, welcoming and thoroughly relaxed.

Our tent was comfortable and well-equipped; and although we found the design of the 'chest of drawers' slightly frustrating;, this really didn't seem to matter. The tents are well spaced and the only sounds we heard were from visiting jackals, hyena, elephant and monkeys (and the occasional lion grumbling in the distance).

The food was excellent. We had breakfast in camp only once (on our last day) otherwise having a bush breakfast out on an early game drive. Lunch was a really good buffet, and dinner a three or four course affairs. While there is no choice, they are keen and able to accommodate different tastes - when lamb curry was planned, knowing that we don't like spiced food they produced a lamb stew version just for us with no fuss.

Our guide, Hamza, was a star - knowledgeable, passionate about the bush (his excitement when we came across a pack of painted dogs was almost as enjoyable as the dogs), and yet with an easy manner and a sense of fun which made drives enjoyable as well as interesting. It was not unusual to go for several hours without seeing another vehicle, and while the volume of game was perhaps not as great as in the Selous the quality was exceptional - lions, elephants, many leopards, dogs and some splendid and rare birds.

But it is the staff which really make this camp. They are not just charming and helpful, they seem to anticipate what you need and unobtrusively make it happen. If you are looking for five star formality this may not be the camp for you - but as a place which combines professionalism, enthusiasm and a genuine warmth Kwihala would be hard to beat." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Charlotte & Dale
UK

"Heaven .."

4 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2016
"WOW.

Amazing host Tam and her team make you feel like family the minute you arrive. The tented camp is immaculate and located on the river bed. Food amazing, I really don't know how the chef does it with limited facilities. Service fantastic. Game drives and the guides are top class, really go out of their way to give you what you want where possible, so friendly, experienced and informative.

On our last night as we were on honeymoon Tam and her staff surprised us with a meal for two outside our tent on the river bed, very romantic and so so gorgeous how it was set up. Definatley rounded off an amazing stay at Kwihala.

Cannot wait to return one day!

WOW WOW WOW!!!" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs K
Munich

"The real experience at Kwihala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2016
"Kwihala Camp was our first experience of a safari ever and it was absolutely amazing. The camp is very small and intimate, the staff and manager incredibly friendly, welcoming and always willing to share their experience. Our guide Tony was really special - passionate for his job, rather a vocation, extremely knowledgeable, always willing to go the extra mile to show us something very special.

During camp time, we had great conversations with the team, both children and adults. It felt more like a big family and at home, than just visiting. Finally, the owners of the camp are very committed towards making a positive impact on the environment and the people who live in it - a fundamentally important aspect of this kind of tourism in my view. We would always go again and highly recommend Kwihala Camp and their team." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Cambridge

"GREAT CAMP"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2016
"Tam, the host is exceptional. Different staff announced evening menus, in informal, fun way. Food was good. Tents were more than adequate. Location great.

Great guides and they really tried to find the animals people wanted to see. The day we left the morning drive found pack of dogs, knowing I wanted to see them, they radioed back and a driver took me out, but we missed them. That was really good of them, as they need not have told us, as we were leaving for flight

Got the balance right between individuals and groups and kept smooth running of drives and camp. I should have added on the Jongamer one that it seemed we were always rushing back because it was meal times, and could not be late. Here and other camps they were less stressed, and 5-10 or 15 minutes after curfew was fine, as everyone met for drinks before dinner anyway." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
MW&JS
UK

"Rohoporini-the spirit of the bush"

8 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2016
"I have plagiarised the title of this, my sixth stay at Kwihala, from Tam the absolutely delightful new manager, who uses it for her blog about the camp. The Swahili word sums up so well what makes Kwihala special and a cut above other camps .

Much has been written by many in previous reviews about this magical place, which continues to attract a high proportion of return visitors who are in a good position to make favourable comparisons with other camps in other places.
When I came with my daughter on her first visit last October ,the bush plane had barely lifted off when she said 'when are we coming back!
Kwihala is that very rare combination of simplicity and comfort ,great food ,amazing scenery ,varied habitats, informal family atmosphere, communal dining, great team work and a real focus on guiding ,which is flexible and passionate. Where else can you be out in the bush from 6am to 1pm and then again from 4-7pm giving ample time to track animals or linger to observe interesting animal/bird behaviours or just drool over the palm trees along the Mwagusi River against an African sunset.
For those who appreciate all that Kwihala represents and has to offer it sets the bar very high and is greater than its constituent parts .
Just before I left I learned that the camp had been moved but was reassured it was to a beautiful place . Well hidden in the Sokwe forest opposite the Ichaka falls (unfortunately dry at this time) on the banks of the Mwagusi sand river, the winding entrance to camp was very intriguing and to be greeted at the final turn by Tam and the guys singing and dancing made my return even more special.
I cannot imagine how much hard work went into relocating the camp both physically and in terms of the selecting the best sites in virgin bush for the tents and eating areas. The huge effort was worth it and much appreciated. Tents 1 and 2 have long views up the sand river with a clear view eastwards -ideal for watching the African dawn to the crescendo of bird song . Because the trees provided more shade it was possible to eat lunch outside the mess tent and the evening campfire and dinner table were set very romantically in the dry river bed. The animals liked it here too-elephants were frequent visitors as were baboons scampering in the rain trees over our tent.The mass of droppings they left on the path in the morning were miraculously cleaned up thanks to Rajabu and his team, who keep the place spotless.
The food is delicious and varied and on one occasion to celebrate a birthday the chef made ice cream -by hand -in the bush.
Staff take it in turns to join guests at communal mealtimes ,which add so much to a safari experience by providing opportunities to share amusing tales of adventures and experiences that whet the appetite even further.

It was good to come in a different season .The weather in June is lovely and warm during the day if cooler at night ,but nothing that a warm sweater and hot water bottle for the beds and early morning game drives couldn't dispel.
By mid-June the rivers have gone down after the long rains but there are still scattered pools,which make game more elusive but still much more in evidence than at Jongomero just a few days before. There are echoes of the green season ,with beautiful flowers, grasses really as 'high as an elephant's eye' and a wonderful light that is more clear and luminous than in October or February .The condition of the tracks made driving challenging but not impossible, especially after Lorenzo, in his best Italian- accented Swahili, had charmed the driver of the grader to clear certain tracks to help us get further afield .
It was good to meet Charles ,the new trainee who had only been with Lorenzo for a couple of weeks. It was he who spotted a leopard slinking into the long grass on my first afternoon which led to a great drive tracking its movements over and around the Mdonya river area. He also spotted that my feet couldn't comfortably reach the floor of the vehicle, which made balancing a bit tricky over the bumpy tracks -in his quiet charming way the next morning he presented me with a little wooden footstall that he'd made himself and that made such a difference..
We saw lots of groups elephants with babies, several prides of lion including 3 lionesses stalking impala and afterwards noisily crunching on the bones, an amorous male lion waiting patiently for a female to signal interest, huge family groups of banded mongoose dashing across the river bed plus all the usual suspects .
Having experienced the phenomenal birdlife of the green season I came with realistic expectations. However there were many birds like sand grouse with tiny chicks and the large number of immature birds proved a real challenge to my attempts at identification ,which didn't ruffle Lorenzo's patience . A few new species were added to my list including a barn owl which Lorenzo inadvertently flushed out of its roost in a cavernous baobab ..
Lorenzo, as ever up for an adventure, proposed a full day out heading east to Lunda and beyond,which we readily agreed to as last year we had had a similar full day out but heading west .Ever hopeful of seeing roan or sable, despite it being early in the season ,there were large herds of impala and zebra ,which being nearer hunting areas were much more skittish and fled in alarm. At one point a flock of about 50 white stork,wings outspread against a clear blue sky and reminiscent of a Chinese painting , simply took our breath away.
The thing about Ruaha is that it's so lovely that just being driven through the bush and taking in sights and smells ,the varied vegetation and the changing light is quite heavenly.

My hope is that the new camp planned by Asilia near the old location (and complete with swimming pool) will not detract from Kwihala -the true spirit of the bush" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
CY
Norfolk

"Amazing and so different in green season"

9 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2016
"A third trip to Kwihala but first in the green season. Ruaha is thankfully still quiet in terms of tourism and as amazing as ever. As a camp Kwihala just keeps on getting better – constant Asilia improvements.

It was already very good back on the first visit and it meets all my key criteria. It is small, just six ground level spacious tents giving an authentic bush feeling. You are provided with all the comforts / facilities you need but nothing that for me detracts from the bush experience. All the staff are outstanding – you could not be made more welcome and no request is too much trouble – e.g. hot bucket shower whenever you want it. The food is wonderful, right from the bonnet breakfasts out on game drives to lunch and dinners back in camp. The whole situation of pre-dinner campfire (weather permitting!) drinks and communal dinner feels like one big very friendly family. The guides are excellent at their job but it is more than just being in a vehicle with a really good guide – you are in a vehicle with someone as a friend which raises the whole experience another level.

So to the green season comparison with dry season. Before arriving we were expecting what I believed to be a typical January: a mixture of good dry spells with a number of heavy showers / storms. However, the thing no one can control thought different – we arrived in the wettest January anyone could remember for years. Rivers were all flowing fast and many routes were either impassable or partly destroyed by water torrents. That sounds bad but in reality we got out for every game drive – a few just a bit delayed while the worst rain cleared and also a bit restricted to the available roads, although during our stay we did manage roads for the first time in over a week.

Game is undoubtedly harder to see – general dispersal and the lush green undergrowth see to that. However we still saw plenty – lions on kills, cubs playing, leopards, civet, all the usual antelope, giraffe, elephants, zebra, hippo, hyena, jackal etc. etc. The sighting highlight had to be the wild dogs – I would not have believed a dog could be so vividly beautiful. There is also a mass of birds and butterflies not present in the dry season. Sitting watching weaver birds build their nests from strands of grass is entrancing. You can be shown side by side pictures of the same place in the dry / green season but the difference is so amazing that you really need to see it firsthand. Just to see the Ruaha, Mwagusi and Mdonya rivers full, bank to bank and flowing fast was a wonderful sight.

Of course the weather led to some issues on the road and in the camp. Whatever problems occurred were dealt with efficiently and professionally and we never felt insecure or unsafe. Overall we had a fantastic time and everything contributed to an unforgettable nine night experience.

Kwihala really is the complete package and yes I want to go back again – green or dry – that is the question. If you have only been in one then you have missed out." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Somerset

"Kwihala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jan 2016
"First class accommodation and guides" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Stuart
Twickenham

"Kwihala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2015
"We had a fantastic 4 nights at Kwihala. The best aspect is the team working there. They are extremely friendly (welcoming you back every time with a cold towel and a smile) and extremely knowledgeable. The guides are excellent, extremely skilled in all aspects of the bush and safari as well as being very warm and friendly people so it was a joy to spend time with them during the drives and over dinner.

The food was also fantastic - surpassing our expectations given how remote the camp is. The food is typically not fussy but of great quality. I would describe it as fresh rustic cooking which is just what we wanted. Everything from the wake up coffee to the tents and breakfasts is so fresh and tasty that we never felt hunger during our stay. The communal dinners are very fun (including Robert or Ibrahim's fantastic menu announcements) and are a great end to the day.

The tents are extremely comfortable and they team go to great lengths to ensure you have all that you need with great facilities both in the tent and in the main mess tent, which is very relaxing place to go and spend some time.

Overall a fantastic camp with an exceptional team." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
E Sussex

"An authentic bush experience at Kwihala"

6 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2015
"We spent six days at Kwihala. It was exceptionally hot throughout our stay with only one brief shower. One area of the Park had received enough rain to start to green it, but most areas were very dry. In particular, the Mwagusi and Mdonya rivers were more or less completely dry with only a few puddles remaining, and even the Ruaha river was virtually dry with only the area next to the Ruaha bridge retaining some deep pools.

The camp provides an authentic bush experience with tents and bucket showers etc. But it is nonetheless very comfortable.

Ruaha provides a wide variety of differing landscapes including a remarkable concentration of huge baobab trees.

Tam, the manager, was an outstandingly good hostess and made everyone feel very welcome. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Game was fewer and further between than we were expecting, but we did nonetheless have several remarkable game viewing experiences, especially with lions and leopards. Alex, our guide most of the time, was very experienced and a reassuring person to lead a game walk - particularly when we happened upon a lion!

The food was imaginative and very well prepared and presented, especially the buffet lunches.

Tsetse flies were an issue in some areas, notably along one stretch of the Mwagusi, but were not a problem in the camp itself. Although we expected to share game activities with other guests, in practice we only did so on a limited number of occasions, although we found that sharing with four others in the vehicle (which happened once) was not a good experience." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 111
99%
111 reviews of Kwihala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
104
6
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Designed with simplicity in mind, Mdonya River Camp focuses on a great wilderness experience rather than creature comforts.


92% (131 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (115 reviews)
Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka Safari Camp

Upmarket and stylish, Ikuka Safari Camp is set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (54 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


96% (45 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


96% (33 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua is a small, luxurious camp offering on outstanding walking safaris in a remote area of Ruaha.


100% (4 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (4 reviews)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (2 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa