This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel
Victoria Falls Hotel

Reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

152 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Victoria Falls Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2019, 20 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Victoria Falls Hotel.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

35% success

Buffalo

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 152
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs and Mrs C.
London

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2022
"A charming and very interesting hotel - like stepping back in time - with a great view of the spray from Victoria Falls.

For some reason we were given a honeymoon suite which was was very comfortable and caused some amusing conversations with the staff whenever we gave our room number! Unfortunately they have had to close the gate in the grounds which leads directly to the Falls but it was still easy to walk there by road.

We enjoyed dinner in the Livingstone Room which is very atmospheric. We are very glad we added this to the end of our safari." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
MRM
Edinburgh

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2022
"The hotel is a little old fashioned and still retains the Colonial feel.

The staff were wonderful to deal with and the onsite restaurants were really good especially the nightly show." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mr H.
By Lairg

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2022
"Fabulous setting. Olde world. Good choice of food.

Pleasant and helpful staff.

A visit to Zambia to see the white rhinos was another highlight from the hotel." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Cornwall

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2022
"The Victoria Falls Hotel is iconic set in beautiful gardens overlooking the spray from the falls. It is still recovering from the economic impact of Covid and we were made most welcome by the staff. Inevitably there were some shortages but this did not impact on the enjoyment of our stay. The falls in full flood were a sight to behold and we definitely needed our waterproofs." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr J.
Makati

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2022
"Mediocre rooms in a dated hotel for a very high price. View and grounds were fantastic.

Formal dining room was beautiful but food was cooked poorly. Patio dining was very nice." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2021
"We had a great time at the Victoria Falls Hotel. We stayed there a couple of days to acclimate ourselves to the time difference between the USA west coast and Africa. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Our room in the Stables wing was excellent with a nice private balcony to sit on. The food was great for every meal. The staff arranged for us to get our Covid tests at the hotel so we could continue our trip into Botswana.

We did two activities while we were there, the bridge tour and a sunset cruise. The bridge tour is quite interesting as you get to walk on the catwalks underneath the bridge with a very knowledgeable guide.

We had a great sundowner cruise on the Pure Africa Zambezi Explorer on the Signature deck. The canapés were excellent and we saw several elephants playing in the river. We were met back on the dock by more elephants eating their way around the neighborhood.

It is an easy walk from the hotel to the falls and we spent a couple of hours touring the falls by ourselves. The water was quite low this time of year but still well worth seeing." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

S.
Germany

"Victoria Falls Hotel [Simbabwe 11-2019]"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2019
"Travel intention: 9th trip to africa, looking for unique safari experience throughout Africa in a comfortable to luxurious setting.

Facilities: This hotel is a special place and every detail breathes history. While other places try to get themselves an artificial "vintage"-like Feeling, this Hotel is proud of its authenic history. It was originally built as a stop-over place on the Cape-to-Cairo railway and later upgraded to a luxury accomodation. Many details (carpets, curtains, windows, lamps…) enrich the overall experience of emerging into a forgotten area, where you might meet some members of the old british nobility around each corner.

Service: Overall excellent Service at breakfast/Dining area. Part of our luggage arrived one day later and the staff took excellent care of it communicating with the airport and delivering the luggage to use.

Experience: The Hotel itself has a nice garden area to take a short walk around, get a distant view on the mist from Victoria falls or relax at the pool area. High tea as well as dinner in the Livingston room is highly recommended. Great breakfast buffet, one of the best I experienced on my travels throughout africa. You can directly take the short walk to the Falls from the Hotel or you will be picked up for booked activities.

Overall: Due to excellent connections of Vic Falls airport, a visit to Victoria Falls is a great part of trips in the area. Victoria Falls hotel is highly recommended for those travellers looking for a unique, history-rich luxury experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Chained Bear
Asia

"Timeless"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2019
"My stay at the Falls was very brief. I went down to the waterfall. I have never seen it like that before: 100% dry from Livingstone Island all the way east. Horseshoe Falls, Rainbow Falls, The Armchair, and the whole Eastern Cataract utterly dry. It in a way it was quite fascinating for me as have so many, many hours with that waterfall, but I did feel sorry for those who might have been seeing it for the first time like that.

I had a terrific dinner at The Three Monkeys - it was doing roaring business as usual and the food was excellent. I’d like to say a special thank you to the Activities Desk Manager at the Hotel for all her help." See all these reviews: 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs S
UK

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"Hotel is as I remember it from over 15 years ago. Great service and staff. A dated but charming building in a colonial style.

Unfortunately what had changed was that each day from around 8.30 am and pretty much all day the peace was disturbed by the constant sound of circling helicopters. A great shame.

The spa and gym facilities are basic" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs JD
W London

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2019
"On arrival, we decided to upgrade to a better room----they were almost full to bursting, but the Operations Manager on duty, worked his socks off to accommodate our request--which he managed to do and the room was great" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Showing 11-20 of 152
94%
152 reviews of Victoria Falls Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
110
38
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

Exceptionally well located between the Victoria Falls and the town of the same name, Ilala Lodge has comfortable rooms, a friendly atmosphere & great food.


93% (245 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Small, comfortable and in lovely gardens, Batonka Guest Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Victoria Falls away from the bustle of the town.


95% (25 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


88% (22 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


75% (16 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


91% (7 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


100% (1 review)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Hotel

Palm River

Palm River Hotel's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa