This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms AW from SW London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

East Africa odyssey

Rwanda and 2 other countries between 26 Jun 2014 and 6 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"The staff at expert Africa were excellent. Despite British airways losing my luggage. The staff were with me all of the way hearing my endless complaints and urgency to locate it! Customer service was open 24 hours to talk me through different scenarios! Much time was wasted trying to locate my luggage.

Extra thanks to Elizabeth Wollen, for her never ending empathy and help in tracking my bag!"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2014
"The hotel restaurant service was very slow; a lot of staff, but had to ask three different people for a coffee.

What I like about the hotel was the fact you could game view on site."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2014
"This is truly a 5 star hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the terrace backing onto the pool was superb for drinks.

It seems to be an in spot with the Kigali up and coming types. The pool was outstanding. Morning buffet breakfast had a great selection."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2014
"The hotel is comfortable and relaxed. The grounds are lovely and the main building or hub has a rustic lodge feel about it!

Food was good; offering a wide variety of courses."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Lush oasis in city centre"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2014
"This was truly a 5 star hotel! Grounds were lush and terrace overlooking the pool area was a bonus!

The breakfast buffet is large and varied. The design of hotel is very good!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Pampered in style"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2014
"What cannot say enough about Beho Beho! The place is well managed and as a result the final product looks effortless. This is a luxurious safari lodge that wants you to have different experiences, whether I'd be the luncheon venue or the boat safari. Etc

Food was also of a high standard; variety of freshly made breads, lovely puddings and good South African wine. The morning game drives were up to 6 hours ling; unheard of on the safari circuit!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

"Tarzan's Hideaway!"

1 night Arrived 6 Jul 2014
"Just what your imagination would dream up; romantic, stylish getaway in the bush! This feels a bit more intimate and personal than staying at base camp!

The bathroom was totally funky and the Morrocan lanterns added a bit of exoticism to it!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Magical Safari!

Zambia between 15 Aug 2009 and 25 Aug 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Anna did a wonderful job trying to maximize the safari experience. The lodging was all quite different, and so was the terrain. Each camp was very special in its own way. I might have switched a night at Kapani for one at Kakuli as I really enjoyed the imitmacy of the bush experience and lack of safari jeeps!

Everything more or less worked like clock work and I felt we got the most out of each camp we stayed at. It was just a wonderful experiencece and I would highly recommend Zambia for safari .

I loved Expert Africa's website and this is how I discovered the company. The pricing was also fair and I will use Expert Afirica for my next safari .It was truly a magical trip so thanks for your wonderful expertise!

Suggestions for improvements:

Umm..not really..had to ask a few questions prior to going about logistics of meet and greet. But, I truly felt that I was in great hands as Anna had been to these lodges and listened to what I wanted from this safari."

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Kapani Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2009
"Although I enjoyed Kapani lodge, I did prefer the more intimate relationship I had with nature at the bush lodge.

I also felt we should have been offered the option to walk.

Our guide, Abs was extremely knowledgeable, personable and professional."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2009
"This was my favourite bush camp overall and perhaps the one I enjoyed the most. Robin, the manager, had a very relaxed manner about him and nothing was too much trouble for him. The camp had a very intimate atmosphere.

Our guide Aubrey was again excellent. We went on a few walking safaris with him and they were the most intersting of all of the camps we stayed at. He had a good understanding of nature. I liked the fact that at both Norman Carr camps the same guide stayed with you. I also liked the fact that a park ranger came with us out in the bush on each excurision.

The camp is in a beautiful location and the central lodge or meeting area is idyllic. I also think we saw the best game here: pride of 12, leopard making a kill, python wrapped around a dead impala. Hippos were in abundance here and the tents provided great views of them. On the walkign safari we got close to zebra, an elpephant, a hippo, and also saw a lioness chase 2 impalas.

Another plus for this camp is that you are truly out in the bush and apart from the other jeep at the camp that is all we saw. You are in the park here and have easy access where as at Kapani you have to drive into the park and also share the game with lots of other camps. The food at Kapani was slighlty better but both offered great salads. But if one has never been on safari and wants electricity, perhaps this is not the place for them."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2009
"This was my least faveourite out of the 4 camps we stayed at. However, its location on the Lowere Zambezi was one of the nicest and the terrain was idyllic.

The reed cabins could have been a bit larger and as we had our son in the room, it was a bit cramped. I loved the bucket/shower concept. All 3 of us had no problem sharing one bucket and enjoyed a hot shower. The host couple was lovely and he was really disappointed that we did not see more game and in particular leopard. We also enjoyed a white linen lunch in the bush which was quite special. We also went for sundowners on the boat and there was a lot of hippo activity in the water.

The hostess was quite involved with the menu and even made her own ginger beer for the guests to try. We did not have the same guides for our 2 day stay and I really think that it is shame as you do not develop the same repoire you might have by only having one guide. Also, the guides do not know what has previoulsy been said on the last safari outing."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2009
"Since this was the most expensive camp we stayed at, we had high expectations. The tented rooms were large and there was lots of room for us despite the fact that we had 3 in a room.

The hosting couple are present and really go out of their way to make sure you have a special experience. The food here was superb and one can enjoy an a la carte dinner menu. The house wine was also excellent here. Special touches included a surprise lunch for the 5 of us that travelled together on a boat. After an excellent canoe excursion we were greeted by the hostess and had sun downers on a sandy spit. Later, all guest were treated to a surprise dinner in the bush. Even posh loos were set up for the guests.

The guys went fishing out on the river here with a guide in between an activity. There is lots of choice here. It is almost like a safari resort, yet I don't mean that in a negative way. Everything runs smoothly here and the atmosphere is relaxed. Some of the ktichen staff even sung a few songs for the guests. A Chiawa water bottle is given to you so that they can cut down on plastic water bottles. You have to be boated in here which adds to the adventure of this camp. The night drives were superb here. The best of any of the 4 camps we stayed at as there were always cats to see.

I did not enjoy the walking safari that much here as the area we walked in had very little to see. Also, a guide should ask have you been on any other walking safaris as since we had already been on 5 walks this trip and others on different trips, we had some basic knowledge about the common stuff you see. Also, since the terrain is hilly here, the walk is in a flatter area, but as a result ended up being quite short- 1.5 hours. I also had a hrad time understandiing our guide at times.

Two of the guides here were excellent- Paul and Rory. I am sure they are tops in their field. Paul led us on an amazing canoe safari , proably a highlight for me. The channel is full of birds and I enjoyed them and I am not a birder. Also, we had a thrilling expereince with the elephants that crossed the water channel and had a mud bath!

Rory took us out for a 4 hour plus morning jeep ride and since there was not lots of game out, he focused on the birds, plants and trees. Some of the guides were in training , but thier communication skills will need to really improve if Chiawa wants to maintain its status of having top guides. Again, I prefer just having one guide but we had many here. The setting is again idyllic and the moutains provide a wonderful backdrop. This was the perfect place to end our safari vacation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team