This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Makalolo Camp
Little Makalolo Camp
Little Makalolo Camp
Little Makalolo Camp
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp


19°4’10.6"S 27°15’2.5"E

Reviews of Little Makalolo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

19 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Makalolo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Makalolo Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

33% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Sable antelope

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

75% success

Spotted Hyena

75% success

Brown Hyena

67% success

Oryx

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-19 of 19
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Little Makalolo review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2013
"Has the advantage of being a small camp which enables staff to give good levels of personal attention." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs P
Agde, France

"Wonderful stay at Little Mak"

4 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2013
"Little Mak was really a lovely camp. The staff is very friendly, the cooker simply uncredible! And so many animals, big heards of antilops (roane, sable, eland, kudus...), lions, leopards, and so many elephants! The hide at the camp's waterhole was definitively the best with elephants all around us and so close. Just sad not to see the waterhole from the room.
And a little word to say that it is so cold during the night, it's very important to have big jacket for the night and morning game drive." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Cambs.

"Transits were just a bit too long."

4 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2013
"Just one or two small points regarding transfers.

Whilst accepting that the camp is around 50 miles from the nearest hard road, we thought that a 9.5 hr transfer was a little too long for comfort (nevertheless it was an enjoyable experience). We were however given a packed lunch which was very nice.

On the transfer to Vic Falls we had a 6am start which, in an open vehicle, was a little cold (this part took 3hrs), we were however met by another 'closed' vehicle and this part took 2 hrs.

All other aspects of the trip were outstanding. What a super location, right under the tree line and with the waterhole and hide it was spectacular. One other good aspect was that we could use a red spotlight to look for game on our way back in the evenings. This proved very successful as we were able to locate and watch a leopard.

Food was excellent, as were staff. Again, we didn't want to leave." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Mrs B
Norwary

"Little Makalolo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss B
Canada

"Ferrari Safari!"

3 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2012
"We arrived to cool refreshments and a wet hand towel every time we came to Little Makalolo.
The staff were awesome, rooms were stunning, game drives were entertaining and wonderful.

Not once were we disappointed by anything.
This camp went beyond our expectations and then some!
Again, the staff made our trip -wildlife too-" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Northants

"Lovely camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2012
"This is a well run camp and had the hallmarks of other Wilderness camps that we have stayed at - warm welcome, high standard of comfort in rooms, well organised, good activities.

The sheer density of animals visiting the pans was amazing and if you like elephants this is surely the place to be. We had the enormous fortune of seeing an elephant being born just on the way from the airstrip....imagine that!

The guiding was very good and flexible when we found ourselves seeing half of the bush at one pan when were supposed to head back for brunch. That kind of flexibility really helps to add to the enjoyment.

The hide at the camp was also really good to sit in and watch the elephants up close.

We simply did not have sufficient time at this camp with only 2 nights. With endless travel to the camp, (about 6 hours) and an early start when we left we only managed 3 activities which is a real shame.

Travel arrangements need to be looked at carefully. We left Mana at 10am and flew all the way back to Victoria stopping at Cariba before then going on to Little Mak. We had no idea what the arrangements were before we met the pilot. . We missed lunch completely and there is of course nowhere to get a snack! Fortunately Goliath did an abridged drive for us in the morning, otherwise we would have had a very limited day of game viewing. The journey on to Camp Hwange started early as we joined other guests leaving at 06.30. We then had about a 3 hour wait up at Main Camp for our transfer, before the drive to Camp Hwange. This meant we did not have a drive at CH that day arriving very late afternoon, although we did stop en route to look at what was around. It was an exhausting day of travel though with limited game viewing." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Bucks

"Little Makalolo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2011
"A great camp.

Excellent guides and "front of house" team, good food and clean, well-maintained camp." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Luxembourg

"2 nights were not enough"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"My stay at Liitle Mak was a highlight of my whole Zimbabwe journey. The camp, the people,the other guests, the food, my beautiful honeymoon!!! tent, the waterhole and the logpile hide in front of it, everything was just amazing. Elephants galore, what more could I have wished.

On the game drives with my great guide Louis I had wonderful sightings of lion, leopard, buffalo, sable, wildebeest, zebra etc. I cannot name it all.

Thank you, Rania, Kim, Louis and the whole staff for making my stay unforgettable. I will be back." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Battersea

"Little Makalolo Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2011
"We had been waiting many years to visit Hwange NP, it certainly lived up to expectations. Beautiful wild area very few other people around and lots of game.

We saw the most relaxed elephants we have ever seen, even with very young babies they were not really worried about us.
We had been wanting to see sable antelope for many years and we did here, lovely group of nine with young.
Eleven lions with various ages of cubs .Plenty of giraffes ( they do not occur in the Zambezi Valley)
AND FOUR WHITE RHINOS !! Male, 2 adult females and 1 young

We were fortunate to have Lewis as our guide for the 5 nights we were there (he has now left to take a job with the Trans Frontier NPs).
His scientific knowledge was excellent, he knew about the latest research that was being done and results.
All the staff at the camp were helpful, interested and again had great senses of humour, we could not have asked for more.

Watch out Zambia you now have a great rival !" See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-19 of 19
99%
19 reviews of Little Makalolo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


96% (83 reviews)
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


92% (36 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


94% (32 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


96% (24 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (15 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


89% (9 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


95% (8 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


95% (4 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp offers excellent value for money and a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants.


100% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (2 reviews)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


100% (1 review)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Sable Valley Lodge

Sable Valley Lodge

Set on the 11km Dete Vlei, the recently refurbished Sable Valley is in a private reserve with its own entrance into Hwange National Park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa