This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from Bucks.

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2013 trip

Zimbabwe and 1 other country between 27 Oct 2013 and 10 Nov 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a "special" holiday and it certainly lived up to expectations. Zimbabwe was absolutely wonderful, both camps were different but excellent and we saw more wildlife than I had expected. It was a real privilege to view it so closely and to be accompanied by guides who had expert knowledge and genuine enthusiasm for their subject.

Zimbabwe is a wonderful place and never have we felt safer anywhere. Everyone should go there - whatever you think of the regime, it is the people who need tourists and go out of their way to make them have such a good time.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We hardly needed any money on our trip as so much was included, but in Bulawayo we could only use Visa cards, which I suspect was the case for other places.

We had intended to get our visa prior to travel, but when I 'phoned the Embassy, they assured me that it was easy to get one on arrival in Zimbabwe. A second call revealed that you needed to apply for a form which would take a week to arrive and then collect the visa from London. It was easy enough to get one at Vic Falls airport, but the queue was very lengthy and it took a long time to get through. It would seem that the Embassy make it difficult to get one in advance."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Own arrangements

"Own arrangements review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2013
"We were visiting the Keiskamma trust in Hamburg (specifically the Gogos which provide support to grandmothers caring for children orphaned through HIV/AIDS). We have an involvement in this charity, but the experience was most rewarding and I can heartily recommend including a visit to a charity as part of a holiday. The benefits to both parties are immeasurable."
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2013
"Modern, very convenient for airport."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Edwardian elegance in an exceptional location"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2013
"We found our stay absolutely delightful and enjoyed all aspects of the hotel.

If you are particular about comfort, the fact that the bath has a shower above the bath could be a problem as could the noisy air conditioning. The staff were very helpful and polite and the opportunity to view warthogs (plus young), banded mongoose and baboons in the hotel grounds was a real bonus, particularly whilst having breakfast!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
The Hide

The Hide

"Perfect camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2013
"From the moment we arrived we were made to feel more than welcome.

The guides were fantastic and their knowledge made such a difference to our understanding of wildlife. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

We chose to have very full days to get the maximum from our visit and it all worked out extremely well, but others could spend the time enjoying wildlife at the waterhole."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Great camp!"

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2013
"Fantastic location with excellent guides. We particularly enjoyed a full day out visiting different locations which included a walk and lunch cooked al fresco.

Knowledgeable guides give so much to the whole safari experience. We even managed to pack in an additional early morning safari on the day of our departure which was unexpected and thoroughly enjoyable and to add to the pleasure, there was a full English before we departed!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Bulawayo Club

Bulawayo Club

"A step back in history"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2013
"The Club conjured up so many images of a different time and was delightful. The staff were very helpful and very apologetic about the noise from an evening celebration the night we were staying.

We weren't troubled by the noise, nor by the lack of electricity the following morning when our Full English was imaginatively cooked without electricity.

Bulawayo was an interesting town to visit, but the amount of litter lining the street and public places was a deterrent to the enjoyment. However, it was good to see local colour in absolute safety."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team