This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp

Reviews of Kaingo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

186 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kaingo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 26 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kaingo Camp.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

58% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Eland

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 186
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Manchester

"Kaingo Best Safari Camp in Africa!"

4 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2017
"This was the third time we have stayed at Kaingo and Mwamba and unbelievably each time excellence has been improved and exceeded our expectations.

Gerard and Agata were the ultimate hosts and Catherine's cooking was superb The guiding food and accommodation are second to none.

We cannot recommend Kaingo and Mwamba camp highly enough." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr S
Cambrai

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"Awesome!

Wildlife was fantastic, we saw 45 different lions, 4 leopards, wild dogs, 3 kills during the 3 nights we stayed there! The only thing is that although the river bed was dry, we were not allowed to follow the animal when they were crossing due to exclusivity (Shenton on our side, Norman Carr on the other).

Our guide Patrick was one of the best we had and we met many guides in more than 100 game drives.

We'll come back there for sure." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Bath

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"The newly refurbished chalets were a great improvement on the old style giving much more privacy. The furnishings were delighlful and in keeping with the feel of the camp.

The camp manger, Gerard, was very affable, easy going and very good company. The guiding was excellent and productive. Shenton did not disappoint.

All the staff were friendly and made us feel at home from the very start of our visit." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Dorking

"Peaceful remote situation in South Luangwa va"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2017
"The accommodation was excellent and even had an outside bath, although it might have to be shared with the monkeys.

Lovely individual deck in front of each chalet with view off the river and the birds and game. The camp was superb.

Food prepared by Catherine was of a very high standard. We are missing the 3.30 pm cakes.

Our guide Noelle was outstanding. So knowledgeable and great fun to be with. We had wonderful game and bird sightings including a leopard kill and standoff between a large herd of buffalo and a pride of lions.

The hippo and bee-eater hides were excellent enabling us to have great close up views. " See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs JK
Surrey

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2017
"A super camp at the southern end of the park - we rarely saw another vehicle which was something that worried us when booking for South Luangua, Camp situated in beautiful location overlooking the Luangua river and each bungalow was spacious with several seating areas and outside bathing facilities...

Friendly staff and Catherine, the cook, deserves a Michellin star for producing amazing dishes at every meal! Must comment on the attractive lights (from Malawi and S Africa which hang in the main area.

We had fantastic sightings or birds and animals - several leopard kills (gruesome), lions mating, visits to hippo hide and carmine beeater hide - lots of elephants (lots of young), endless hyenas,Thorneycroft giraffes, lions missing killing a buffalo - and so on and so on..but must say our guide Noelle was just fantastic and her knowledge astounding and we had such amusing and informative times with her - thank you Noelle." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Witney

"Leopard Haven"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2017
"We arrived opposite Kaingo Camp from Tafika to be told that we would have to wade across because the water wasn't deep enough for even a canoe! I was slightly thrown but apart from getting our boots wet, it was uneventful. The camp is well named as leopards were abundant - usually about 3 sightings every day, including with kills.

Activites included visits to game hides to view Carmine Bee-eaters, Hippos or elephants as well as game drives by day and night. Our guide, Yoram, was excellent and, as a photographer himself, ensured we had the best sightings of all the animals and birds. I could not have asked for better.

Unfortunately, just prior to leaving, I became unwell - it turned out to be Malarone- rather than food-related - which was to curtail my subsequent activities for a while." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr V
Birmingham

"excellent range of game"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"The concentration of game to view was really impressive; this is the place for Leopard sightings! I thought the camp was well organised, and the guiding pretty good. Derek Shenton personally guided on our walk in the bush. My daughter and boyfriend considered their experience as great; large pride of lion, aformentioned leopards (8), wild dog, hippo fights; all seen, and much more.

The site of the camp was also appreciated on the banks of the river, with the hides providing an interesting focus.

Again if visited one must be prepared for photographers, as for understandable reasons the camp is promoted to this section of the market. They do not really get in the way. " See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs M
Mill Valley, CA

"Kaingo Camp Review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2017
"Despite having a rocky start to our stay due to some confusion over the level of guide that we had requested (we wanted a level 1 guide who could lead us on both walks and game drives but were assigned a level 2 guide who could only do game drives), once we were assigned Patrick, everything went smoothly. It's not clear how this misunderstanding occurred. When we expressed our concern about the guide assigned (Noelle), we were introduced to Derek Shenton who didn't acknowledge the problem but, rather, tried to assure us that Noelle was the "best level 2 guide in South Africa. They then gave us the option of spending the rest of the day with a Zambian guide who turned out to be a capable, but junior level guide. That evening we said that we would prefer Noelle and spent the next day with her. Later that day, Agata and Gerard told us that they were going to assign us to Patrick who was returning from a conference that evening. So, hence the "rocky start" comment.

The redesigned chalets were lovely and very comfortable. The staff were very competent and friendly. Special thanks to Gerard and Agita for getting our guide situation worked out as quickly as they could. The food was fantastic; chef Catherine took great care in tending to my husband’s lactose intolerance.

Our guide, Patrick, was absolutely wonderful. We were fortunate to have him for the remainder of our stay at both camps and couldn’t have been happier. We had many wonderful sightings of the Mwamba-Kaingo lion pride, including the aftermath of a buffalo kill, several amorous couples, and an “initiation ceremony” to introduce a lion cub to several members of the tribe. In other words, we saw lions in action, not just lolling around. We also had numerous sightings of the various leopards that live in the area and 2 wild dog sightings. Two of our group are birding enthusiasts, and Patrick’s birding knowledge kept them informed and excited about all the sightings. I could go on, but won’t. Suffice to say, we loved our stay at Kaingo.

Advise on which chalets to stay in: not #1 which is close to the kitchen and dining area and can get noisy in the early morning." See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L
Bishopston

"Great Introduction to South Luangwa at Kaingo"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2017
"Kaingo proved to be a fantastic introduction to the South Luangwa. This was not my first Safari but the first to the South Luangwa. Every staff member I came into contact with was polite , helpful and delightful.

The Rondavels were spacious and comfortable, the huge bed especially so. The outside bath was very invigorating and had a good view of the river bank opposite! I could not fault the accommodation in any way.

The managers Gerrard and Lorraine were very nice and couldn't have been more helpful. Gerrard has long experience in the bush , having trained guides and also been a bush pilot in the past . He proved to be quite a raconteur! The food was fabulous , and of top quality and portion sizes were just right. Everything was fresh and all the snacks and pastries were also top quality.

The main reason I was there was for the Safari activities and these certainly did not disappoint. The sheer abundance of wildlife was incredible. This applied particularly to Predators. There are no less than three large prides of Lion in the area, and while I was at Kaingo, we came upon three Buffalo kills , including one having been recently made and at night, which added an extra dimension. We were very close to 15 hungry lions enjoying supper!

We had no less than 6 leopard sightings. All fairly close up and for a good time and in daylight, including one with a bushbuck kill in a tree. There were many other excellent sightings , including a Martial eagle taking a guinea fowl and obliging us by perching fairly low down on a tree branch to devour it.

The hides were another bonus , particularly the Carmine hide which gave a prime view of hundreds of these dazzlingly coloured birds nesting in the river bank. The canoe trip across the river to get to the hide watched by hippos was an adventure in itself! There are tame bushbuck in camp which you can almost touch , they are so unafraid.

If I have one regret it is that I did not meet Derek Shenton who was in camp on a brief visit." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 6n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G & Mr D
Middlesex

"Kaingo -A family run camp in a lovely setting"

4 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2017
"The location of this camp is very good, being set along the bank of the Luangwa river. The wild animals obviously also think it is a good location as all the paths are used by anything from elephants to monkeys. Caution is required, but it is a great experience watching elephants walk past your chalet.
Our guide, Yoram, was excellent. His knowledge and tracking skills were amazing. We saw Lions and Leopard every day of our 4 day sojourn and it was great learning more about the Mwamba-Kaingo, Mwamba-Kapanda and Hollywood prides (made famous on recent TV Programme.) With the spotlight on the night drives, it was great seeing things like Civet, Genet, Porcupine, Honey Badger, Owls and even a chameleon, which he also found in daylight.
It was unfortunate for us that they could not arrange a 2 hour walk. It was always going to be tomorrow, but tomorrow never came. However we enjoyed going to the Hippo hide and the Carmen Bee-Eater hides, which were particularly good for photographs
Kaingo and Mwamba are family run and it was nice to see their big Garden in Mfuwe, providing work for locals. where the vegetables for all our wonderful meals are sourced .
Note to Expert Africa: The inside of the chalets are much the same as your current pictures, but the outside is very different, although it still has a thatch roof. The outside bath is also different and very special." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 186
96%
186 reviews of Kaingo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
159
23
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa