This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp

Reviews of Kaingo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

186 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kaingo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 26 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kaingo Camp.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

58% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Eland

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 186
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Dersingham

"Our return to a new look Kaingo"

4 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2017
"On arrival at Kaingo we were greeted by two elephants in camp, and they were there again to wave us off when we left!
We really appreciated the newly extended family chalet, with its private outside bath and shower (there is an inside shower too!), and very spacious sitting room.

It was good to see familiar faces among the guides, including Andrew and Patrick who recognised that we had been to Kaingo previously. The management staff were all fresh faces to us - Gerard and Agata in particular were very friendly and helpful.

This time our guide was Yoram whose skills as a guide really made our stay at Kaingo. He has an amazing ability to find wildlife of all sorts. We saw a huge range of species, many of which we had not seen before. Yoram knew exactly where to take us for the best views of leopards. We saw leopard and/or lion each time we went out. We still don't know how he managed to spot a tiny Scops owl perched fully camouflaged in a track-side tree." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
San Diego

"Kaingo Camp Review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2017
"Kaingo is a beautiful bush camp overlooking the Luangwa River. Our group consisted of two families, four adults and four teenage children. My wife and I stayed in the family chalet with our two children and our nephew. The wife and I had a separate room with a comfortable queen bed and the children all had individual beds in the main room. All of the beds were very comfortable; there was plenty of room for all of us. I especially enjoyed the outdoor (but private) shower while my wife enjoyed the outdoor bath tub. The chalet also had a private porch overlooking the river. It was very relaxing to sit out on the porch during our down time and listen to the grunts and groans of the Hippos.

Kaingo is a well-run bush camp. Agatha and Gerard run the daily operation and are extremely welcoming. Catherine the chef prepared us excellent meals every day. We were served delicious breakfasts, tea time snacks, and dinners. One morning we were surprised with a breakfast on the banks of the Luangwa. While we ate, an elephant appeared and wandered down to the river to cross right in front of us. The culinary excellence of the camp was an added bonus to our safari experience. Also, I had neglected to mention that my daughter was vegetarian but once the staff learned of this, they went out of their way to have a vegetarian dish on the menu. The wait staff were all very friendly and enjoyed teaching the children some of the local language. Zikomo Joseph, Misa, and Loban!

Patrick was our guide for the entire week that we spent in South Luangwa National Park. The first four days Patrick guided our two families. He did an excellent job with all eight of us, keeping everyone fully engaged on the drives and walk ins. Patrick is not only extremely knowledgeable about the animals found in the park but also knowledgeable about the birds and plants. He has an amazing ability to transfer his enthusiasm and love for the wild life to the people he guides. The children thoroughly enjoyed learning from Patrick. With each drive or walking safari, there were new things to see. It almost seemed that Patrick could summon animals and birds that we previously had not seen. After a week, we saw lions, leopards, wild dogs, elephants, giraffe, zebras, and countless impala and puku among other animals.

On our last night Patrick took us to the Mopani forest. He told us previously that we would probably not see that many animals but it turned out to be one of the most memorable drives of the trip. It was beautiful to be among the trees with the setting sun in the background. We were truly blessed to have Patrick as our guide, there was never a dull moment.

" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Partridge family
Kent

"All we could wish for"

3 nights Arrived 29 May 2017
"Everything about Kaingo was wonderful. Agata the manageress was so welcoming, as were everybody else. We had fantastic guides, with Andrew and Patrick particularly standing out as incredibly well-informed. The quality of the food was outstanding, produced by Catherine and her team of assistants. The rooms were extremely comfortable and the private viewing platform overlooking the river was a beautiful place to relax. Fabulous, no complaints whatsoever. " See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family L
Kansas

"Kaingo, a dream realized "

4 nights Arrived 22 May 2017
"Kaingo far exceeded all hopes and expectations we had for a safari. The secluded and intimate location, the beauty and convenience of the lodges, the exceptional quality and cordiality of the guides, the abundant and well prepared cuisine, the attention to comfort and detail (for example, the cool or warm washcloths (depending on time of day) that awaited us after each safari), and the deep African connections of the staff all combined to make our days at Kaingo a most remarkable and memorable vacation, one our family quickly rated the best ever. (To provide context to this statement, it might be helpful to know we have vacationed in Asia, South America, North America, the Caribbean, the Middle East, and in one other African country.)

Any lodge can access the glory and beauty of South Luangwa NP, and the animals are spectacular regardless of the name on the jeep, but the factors listed above made Kaingo feel that we were getting about as authentic and natural a safari as we possibly could, short of actually moving to Africa and living in a tent. We had no idea one could develop such an intense fondness for a place and its people in only 4 days. " See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Reading

"A really wonderful experience"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2016
"Liz and Garth who ran the camp were warm, welcoming hosts. Ruth the catering manager provided excellent food, and the staff were unfailingly helpful. We very much enjoyed our meals with the other guests and the guides, Patrck Ndhlovu and Andrew Mweetwa were entertaining dining companions.

The high points of our visit were the rides with Patrick whose knowledge of the wild life was a joy to share .Patrick's ability to get us close to the animals and birds really was wonderful and his understanding of leopard behaviours exceptional.

Our room was spacious and well appointed, our private viewing platform ideally positioned to enjoy the comings and goings of animals along the river bank and in the pools and using our outdoor bath filled with sun warmed water was the perfect way to relax during the hot afternoon.

Everything about this segment of our holiday was perfect, even the drives from the airport to the camp and the return trip were experiences that we relished.
" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Great experience would love to go back"

4 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2016
"We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Kaingo.

The accommodation, setting, service and food was excellent and the enthusiasm of all of the team was really great. The idea of having three activities a day is really good as it minimises the downtime. The hides are a great idea although it is a slight pity that you can't just pop into them.

The night drives were good as were the low density of people and camera equipped vehicles." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 6n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A
Cambridgeshire

"Superb game drives & outstanding hosting"

5 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2016
"The managers, Garth and Liz, are outstanding. Very professional, but also extremely personable. It appears effortless, but I’m sure an enormous amount of hard work goes on behind the scenes. They co-ordinate everything so smoothly; meals are always served on time, you never have to ask twice for anything, everything in camp was spot-on.

They have a terrific support team in Ruth and the local staff, who have also perfected the knack of anticipating your needs. A marvellous team who make you feel most welcome, and who go beyond expectations to ensure your enjoyment and satisfaction.

The food here was excellent, the best out of all the camps I visited. And they are one of the few camps to serve a true brunch.

Terrific game drives, in well-equipped vehicles, complemented the fantastic service provided in camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 7n in Botswana; 5n in Tanzania; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
W Sussex

"Kaingo - great camp to start with"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2016
"Kaingo was welcoming and was all about the game drives, which is why we were there! The service was excellent and Garth and Liz were great managers. Agatha and Ruth were also very helpful and friendly.

We lucked out getting Andrew as our guide. What a passionate guy. He truly loves his country and wildlife and is so knowledgeable - he certainly made the holiday memorable. All the other guides were also very friendly and knowledgable.

My only criticism would be the evening meal. The portion sizes were far too big! Brunch was much better as it was buffet style, but I think a lot of food was potentially wasted on the evening meals. The food itself was delicious, just far too much of it.

It was a great camp for the introduction to South Luangwa." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss H & Dr B
London

"Kaingo Camp"

4 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2016
"Great fresh meals and loved the beach barbeque.

We didn't realise until we were at the next camp that Kaingo translates to 'leopard', and yes we had some great sightings of these beautiful creatures.

A really charming camp with a very friendly and helpful team." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Surrey

"Great safari at Kaingo."

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"We crossed the river by canoe to arrive at this camp which was good fun.
The camp hosts, Garth and Liz, were extremely helpful and gave the camp a very relaxed feel.
Our room was lovely with the deck overlooking the river being a real bonus.
The food was excellent here.
We were lucky enough to have the head guide, Patrick, whose knowledge of the bush is second to none.
We had amazing sightings of Leopard every day, with many sightings of large prides of Lion.
We were also lucky to see a pack of Wild Dogs having a tussle with a Hyena over a Puku kill.
We went on a three hour walk with him to get to the next camp, Mwamba , during which we had sightings of many animals and birds, including Lion which felt very special.
It was a wonderful camp to visit.
" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 186
96%
186 reviews of Kaingo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
159
23
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa