This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp

Reviews of Kaingo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

186 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kaingo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 26 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kaingo Camp.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

58% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Eland

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 186
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S
Maidstone

"Kaingo camp July 16"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2016
"I stayed in Kaingo for 3 nights in July 16. Absolutely superb from the moment I arrived. Rooms are wonderful, with outside seating area and a separate seating area on a raised platform overlooking the river, lovely bedroom and toilet/shower.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff- in particular my guide Sandy who was full of information and expertise. The food was so good I began to worry whether I'd still fit in my clothes at the end of the stay! This has to be the best place in the world for leopard viewings, and everything else too from wild dogs to eagles.

I couldn't recommend this place highly enough, and hope to go back next year." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
David
Hales

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2016
"Again met as promised, always a good start, followed by an enjoyable and informative drive to the Camp.

A quick greet and we were off on the first of many trips, going to the Hippo hide immediately as requested - the main point of the whole exercise. After that the 4 days passed in a whirl of painter dogs, lions, leopards etc. interspersed with good food with brilliant guides.

A wonderful place to spend 4 days." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F & Ms K
USA

"Fabulous stay at Kaingo"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2016
"We spent 7 nights between Kaingo and its sister bushcamp, Mwamba. Our stay at Kaingo was amazing.

We were very impressed by our guide Sylvester. He would read the tracks in the dust of the road and off we would go - and there would be the wild dogs or the lion pride! The game is plentiful around Kaingo but it still requires a high degree of skill to locate 5 leopards in a day. Highlights of the game viewing were a pride of lions hunting buffalo and a leopard exploding from a gully in an effort to bring down an impala. One day I went on walking safari with Sylvester while my companion, Gina, went on a drive. On the walk with Sylvester and the ranger Peter, I witnessed wild dogs hunting. Down on one knee taking pictures, the dogs raced by about 5 metres away.

We had selected Kaingo for two reasons. First was the focus on photography. Kaingo really shines in this aspect! There were bean bag lens rests in each vehicle and dustcovers were provided. The guides are all terrific photographers and shared their knowledge, as did other guests. Second, we wanted to support an owner-run independent camp. Derek's family has been involved in developing and protecting South Luangwa for many years. Kaingo camp was obviously designed to minimize impact. While everyone spoke highly of Derek, we were surprised to learn that he and Jules live in Lusaka and are not at the camp full time. Re-reading the Expert Africa webpage on Kaingo, it notes that Derek often helps out with guiding. Perhaps this should be updated.

Kaingo camp offers lovely accommodation in chalets, each with a private deck overlooking the river. The outdoor bathtub felt a bit excessive but others visiting the camp might really enjoy that kind of amenity. The food was excellent and Kaingo catered to people's dietary needs with grace and ease.

We would highly recommend Kaingo, particularly for serious photographers." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Seychelles; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Kaingo Camp review"

7 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2015
"We have visited the South Luangwa area many times over a period of over 20 years of regularly going on safari.

In our opinion Kaingo is the best location in the area and this must be a view shared by many other guests as we have never seen so many photographers with "serious photo kit" at a camp before. The explanation for this lies in the camp having constructed 5 separate hides to enable photographers to get close to their subjects and the fact that the river and its banks provide an excellent backdrop for many photos. Having reviewed our photos we can only confirm that this is an excellent photographic environment.

The camp is well run and operates in a flexible way so that guest preferences for activities can be organised to suit. There is always plenty to do.

The rooms are of a standard which is common to camps in the area.

Food is varied with much supplied from the camp's farm on the outskirts of Mfuwe. The standard is good - one must remember that this is a wildlife safari and not a gastronomic tour.

We can highly recommend this Camp and hope to return very soon" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Cheshire

"Our favourite camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2015
"Everything about Kaingo was just right-friendly staff, superb game drives, excellent food and accommodation. Access to the hides at Kaingo and Mwamba was a bonus.

The game drives and hide visits were wonderful and we were accompanied throughout by a superb guide, Sylvester, and spotters" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mrs M
Newmarke

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2015
"This was our first lodge, and our favourite. We were extremely impressed with the individual attention we received from all members of staff. We felt very spoilt!

We would like to make special mention of our guide, Andrew, who went out of his way to share his expert knowledge and passion of the bush with us and we felt very privileged to be in his company.

This lodge set the standard for the rest of our trip." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sue
USA

"Special feel here - didn't want to leave"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2015
"It was hard to say goodbye to Kaingo and I can't put my finger on just one aspect that made this so. Everything fits to make a magical experience.

The setting is great, the staff attentive and warm, the hides are certainly a bonus. Our exceptional guide, Sly, set the tone with his love for birds, animals, nature, making our encounters almost spiritual.

Thanks to everyone for the most memorable trip I've ever taken." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
Lusaka

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2015
"Garth and Liz were very hospitable from start to finish. Our guide, Yoram, was also very good. The density and variety of wildlife was incredible at Kaingo. Many things that we didn't think we would have interest in were among our favorite sightings -- owls and eagles for example.

The schedule was pretty grueling, and after 5 days (3 at Kaingo and 2 at Mwamba) we were ready for another vacation. The only critique of our stay at the 2 camps is we weren't offered information about bush walking, and learned from another couple that this could be arranged, but by then it was too late.

We were very tired of the jeeps and would have liked a walk in the bush." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Ms C
Rome

"Great service in the bush"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2015
"It was our second time in Kaingo. The service is very good.

What was really outstanding this time was the quality of the game drive with exceptional sights at every drive. This time it really liked like we were part of a documentary. Our guide was really excellent and we had enormous fun with him." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms P
London

"Perfect start"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2015
"It was my fourth visit to Kaingo in as many years. I was a little wary, given the abrupt staff changes last year, but am happy to report that things were running very smoothly.

Kaingo is a wonderful place, with a stunning location, and I am very pleased to report that the food, which was very disappointing last year, was excellent once again. I thought brunch (rather than both breakfast and lunch in previous years) worked really well, with a lovely selection of breakfast-y things as well as delicious, fresh salads and quiches.

As ever, the game viewing was spectacular. Sylvester was an excellent guide throughout our stay, informative and friendly." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 186
96%
186 reviews of Kaingo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
159
23
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (276 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa