This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr S from Maidstone

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

South Luangwa Safari July 18

Zambia between 21 Jul 2018 and 30 Jul 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip replicated one I did on my own two years ago - I raved about it so much this time I persuaded my partner and some friends to come along too. A superb place to have a safari holiday - great animal sightings and lovely camps to stay in.

I've not been there other than in July so cannot comment on timings in comparison with other times in the year, other than to say the early morning drives start a bit chilly so warm clothing and a hat essential - but the days 'hotted' up as soon as the sun was up, but never to the extent that it was uncomfortable or made sleep difficult.

Outside of the park there are recommendations to stop at Tribal Textiles and the South Luangwa Project before returning home. We found Tribal Textiles a bit of a disappointment - we understood that the proceeds went to the local community, but the prices were very high to the extent that we felt extortionate.

On the other hand the South Luangwa Project shop was much better, and although we realised we were paying more than a 'local' price, were happy to do that to help the local economy, and those the Project was supporting. If we ever manage to get back to the South Luangwa we would stop at the Project shop on the way in - they will take measurements and make you up clothing to collect on the way home - that would be a great reminder of the holiday."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Luangwa River camp 21-24 July"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2018
"This is the second time I've been to this camp - the fact I returned must tell you something! The rooms and the setting are great - this time the game viewing was not quite as good as the first time, but that's the 'hit and miss' of safari - but we did see some great things including a leopard hunting at night and using our vehicle as a shield to hide it from an unsuspecting puku. Crossing the river by boat to get to and from the park definitely adds to the fun - getting close to the hippos and trying to avoid a grumpy elephant on the bank.

Rooms always kept immaculate - very comfortable. The food was very good, and fortunately an almost endless supply of Mosi beers which were very welcome. Joe was our host - the males in our party 'poo poo'd' him as 'eye candy' for the girlsd (who loved him at first sight!!) but at the end of our stay had to admit he was a great host - on our last night they set up a private table for us on the river bank to have our final evening meal and provided a free bottle of champage - we were all glad to invite Joe to join us.

All in all a wonderful river side setting to enjoy the wildlife in the park from superb comfort."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba camp 24-27 July"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2018
"My second visit to Mwamba - this time I brought 3 friends with me. As last time, we had Craig and Lindy as hosts and the superb Patrick as our guide.

This place has a real 'bush' feel, with reed walls and roof and an open air bathroom - but delivered with real style and panache. The hide in the camp overlooking the water hole is an added bonus, and we all had some great sightings of birds and animals from there. But Patrick's skill at interpreting alarm calls of baboons and squirrels, and knowing from them what was about and in which direction must be unsurpassed

We had wonderful game drives with him, and also a morning walk in the bush. The walk was something I would particularly recommend to anyone going to S Luangwa. Patrick spotted a headless baboon in a tree, and when we returned later with the vehicle we were rewarded with viewing mum leopard and her two baby cubs - a real magical 30 minutes spent watching them.

Carig and Lindy always busy in the background looking after our comfort, and did that very well - the sloshing of the hot water into our shower bucket always arrived just at the requested time!

A lovely camp to stay in - combining luxury and a real feel for being out in the bush wonderfully."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp 27 - 30 July"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2018
"I've been to Kaingo before, loved it so much this time returned with my partner - who I think fell in love with it to the extent that she loves it more than she loves me!!!

The rooms are really luxurious and set by the river, each with a private viewing deck on to the river. What better way is there to spend a day after an early morning game drive, than lazing on the seats there watching the world go by - crocs, hippos, kingfishers, eagles etc etc?

The staff all worked tirelessly to ensure we had everything we wanted - and the food was so good I put on more weight than I'd like to admit!

We had Hendrix as our guide - wonderful game sightings including one noisy incident involving three leopards up the same tree!

Would highly recommend this place to anyone thginking of a visit to the South Lunagwa"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

South Luangwa July 16

Zambia between 19 Jul 2016 and 28 Jul 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"First visit to Zambia, but have been to other game parks in Southern Africa.

July seemed to me a good time to have gone - slightly chilly at the start of the morning drives, soon warmed up but was never unbearably hot. Water low enough to ensure good concentration of game - this has to be the best place in the world for 'up close' leopard viewings, and lots of other game there too, including two good lengthy sightings of wild dogs.

Centre of the park where I started seemed to have more tourists there, but sightings never crowded, and the more northerly sector hardly saw anyone else whilst out on game drives. Would definitely recommend it."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo camp July 16"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2016
"I stayed in Kaingo for 3 nights in July 16. Absolutely superb from the moment I arrived. Rooms are wonderful, with outside seating area and a separate seating area on a raised platform overlooking the river, lovely bedroom and toilet/shower.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff- in particular my guide Sandy who was full of information and expertise. The food was so good I began to worry whether I'd still fit in my clothes at the end of the stay! This has to be the best place in the world for leopard viewings, and everything else too from wild dogs to eagles.

I couldn't recommend this place highly enough, and hope to go back next year."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Camp July 16"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2016
"I chose the option of walking to Mwamba from my last camp - Kaingo - and was glad that I did. Whilst the guide was explaining how leopards roll in impala dung to camouflage their scent right on cue a leopard walked out right in front of us! So much else to see on foot too.

Met at the camp by hosts Craig and Lindy who were absolutely wonderful throughout my stay - nothing was too much trouble for them - even when they didn't get much sleep because a wandering elephant was trying to 'move' their hut all night.

The rooms are basic 'bush' rooms of the type often found on safaris, but I would say 1 up on the 'luxury' tents some camps use. Comfortable bedroom area and outside flushing loo and shower. Food was excellent - plenty of it and all to a high standard.

The camp has a hide within its ambit which is well worth a visit to watch the birds and animals who 'drop in' for a drink.

My guide was Patrick - alias Dr Doolittle - I witnessed him 'talking' to a herd of wildebeest which he made turn towards us for good photos, and holding a 5 minute conversation / singing contest with a coucal which I would not have believed if I had not seen it. Very informative and knew just where to go for the best game sightings - on the last morning we followed a hunting pack of wild dogs and then saw them calling to compatriots on the other side of the river, at which point on the far bank 15 appeared and raced across the beach towards us - sensible enough not to try to cross because of the crocs - but it was an incredible hour or so which I won't ever forget.

Can't recommend the place highly enough."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Tanzania July 14

Tanzania between 17 Jul 2014 and 29 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We did 3 days in Selous, 3 days in Ruaha, 3 days on Mafia island and 3 days on Chole Mjini. A really good balance with some great game viewing and 'Indian Ocean' activities and a chance to wind down.

The country, the people , the climate, the places we stayed and food and other facilities outstanding - would recommend Tanzania as a holiday destination

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

You might want to warn people who go to Mafia that their Marine Park payment receipt will need to be available when they leave"

Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp Review July 14"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2014
"We stayed for 3 nights in July 14. We were both impressed by everything at Impala camp - the rooms were great, food wonderful, staff exceptionally helpful and guides keen and knowledgeable. We went on walking, boat and vehicle trips - all good - saw huge variety of wildlife, the highlight being tracking down a pack of wild dogs and spending some time viewing them.

I can honestly think of no 'negatives' about this camp and would highly recommend it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Mdonya Old River Camp July 14"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2014
"We stayed 3 nights in Mdonya in July 14.

Whilst we were there a rep from a tour company (not Expert Africa) was there assessing the place. One of the criteria she had to give it a good rating was whether they provided free cotton earbuds. Mdonya don't. But seriously - if you want to see animals and have free cotton earbuds, book in to a hotel in Park Lane and go to London zoo. Alternatively, if you want to see African wildlife in as natural surroundings as you are ever likley to find in Africa now then go to Mdonya.

The rooms are fine - its actually fun to shower with no roof over your head! The beds were large and comfortable. The food was exceptionally good with a wide variety of choice- we had the best vegetable curry we have ever tasted there.

The game viewing was good and guides knowledgeable - it was all done by safari vehicle - there were no walking trips available - but we had been warned in advance that was likely to be the case because of anti-poaching measures in Ruaha."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Pole Pole July 14"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2014
"We stayed for 3 nights in July 14. Everything was abslutely superb - seriously can't think of any criticism at all. Perfect place to unwind, but with plenty of activities to do if you want them - defintely don't miss snorkelling over the coral reef.

The room was great, with a lovely veranda - just geat for the sundowner cocktails every night. Every meal we had was wonderful and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.

Would highly recommend Pole Pole.

A useful tip: no-one tells you to keep the receipt for the Marine Park readily available - don't throw it away as you need it when you leave the park because they check it - a Dutch couple we were leaving with couldn't find all of theirs and got charged the entry fee again - and they were only allowed to pay in US Dollars, Tanzanian currency was refused!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini Lodge

"Chole Mjini July 14"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"Wake up every morning to watch the sun rise through the branches of the Baobab tree in which your room is built - can't be beaten!

The location of this place makes it something special - from the rooms in trees to dining in ruins or on a jetty overlooking the sea.

The food was very good and the staff always helpful. There are plenty of trips that you can do (don't miss the snorkelling over the coral reef) but its a great place to just relax and 'chill' if you want to.

Toilets: I would say don't be put off by the fact they are downstairs from your room and don't flush. You soon get used to it and they are perfectly acceptable.

A useful tip: no-one tells you to keep the receipt for the Marine Park readily available - don't throw it away as you need it when you leave the park because they check it - a Dutch couple we were leaving with couldn't find all of theirs and got charged the entry fee again - and they were only allowed to pay in US Dollars, Tanzanian currency was refused!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team