This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ole-Sereni
Ole-Sereni
Ole-Sereni

Reviews of Ole-Sereni

Wildlife sightings and reviews

55 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ole-Sereni and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 55
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs B
Teddington

"Ole Sereni Hotel, Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 29 Oct 2016
"This hotel is a short drive from the airport and was a really comfortable place to spend the night after our late arrival from London and early flight to the Serengeti." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Cumbria

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"Already left feedback. [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Cumbria

"Ole-Sereni - great start to a safari"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2016
"The photographs of this hotel are misleading in that the open green space shown on the city side of the hotel is now a new busy bypass road, so it is advisable to book a park view room.

We stayed here for two nights before our safari and a single night on our return. We found the rooms, service and food to be excellent and on our return stay we were upgraded to a suite. Without doubt would stay here again.

We arranged a morning game drive in the park through the hotel desk. This was a very rewarding trip as we had better views of rhino's here than in our main safari camps. Would definitely recommend a game drive in the park." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Michigan

"Good choice near airports"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2016
"We spent one night at Ole-Sereni after our long international flights. Our welcome was gracious and the room very comfortable. We enjoyed a good night's sleep followed by an ample buffet breakfast before departing for our first bush camp.

We also visited Ole Sereni at the end of our journey before departing for home. We were welcomed to the dining room by a waiter who recognized us from our dining room breakfast visit over two weeks earlier -- a nice touch! We dined on the deck, choosing from the a la carte menu rather than the large buffet and found the portions very generous. We relaxed in their comfortable lobby chairs before leaving for JKIA." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Charlotte & Dale
UK

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2016
"Very comfortable stay, clean spacious rooms, good food, good loctation, excellent service" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Charlotte & Dale
UK

"Ole-Sereni review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2016
"We spent two nights at the beginning of our holiday here and our last night for our connecting flight. Excellent service, excellent food and good location for the airport and local attractions.

Only down side was the room we were given on the last night, on the side of the hotel facing the main road very noisy, but otherwise comfortable.

The staff at knowing it was our honeymoon decorated our room on both occasions with rose petals, wine and chocolates. Lovely touch and helped make the holiday special." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Basingstoke

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2016
"Reasonable stopping off point for an overnight wait for an early flight." See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda; 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Farnham

"Standard Hotel"

1 night Arrived 6 Feb 2016
"Ideally situated for the next stage." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 6n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr C
Harrogate

"convenient for the Airport"

1 night Arrived 15 Jan 2016
"Very convenient; the day room given to me was a little worn around the edges." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa; 4n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"overnight stay between flights"

1 night Arrived 4 Jan 2016
"We used the Ole-Sereni only as somewhere to stay overnight between flights in and out of Nairobi International airport. This is a high quality hotel with good facilities and a good view from the terrace of the Nairobi National Park (pity about the power lines!). Also we saw no animals but we only were there for breakfast and expected to see wildlife at our ultimate destinations in Rwanda and Namibia so enjoyed our first morning eating breakfast overlooking the park.

Our main comment is that Nairobi Airport at present is best avoided as the temporary immigration and customs hall (after a fire in the original terminal) is overcrowded, inefficient, not air-conditioned (so uncomfortably sweaty) and it takes ages to get through it. But if you have to pass through Nairobi and need somewhere nearby to stay the Ole-Sereni is a pleasant "oasis" ten minutes drive from there airport.!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 10n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 55
79%
55 reviews of Ole-Sereni by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
25
8
3
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Emakoko

The Emakoko

The Emakoko is a luxurious, owner-managed safari lodge in a beautiful gorge on the edge of Nairobi National Park.


96% (77 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (61 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


90% (49 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points Nairobi Apt

The Four Points by Sheraton (part of the Marriot group) is one of the newest additions to the hotels within Kenya International Airport’s security perimeter.


92% (31 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


79% (27 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


98% (25 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


90% (6 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


95% (4 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa