This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Selinda Explorers Camp
Selinda Explorers Camp
Selinda Explorers Camp
Selinda Explorers Camp
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp


18°32’12.2"S 23°29’6.8"E

Reviews of Selinda Explorers Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Selinda Explorers Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Selinda Explorers Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

33% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

67% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-17 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
The B family
Brighton

"Excellent wildlife"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2016
"This was the place to see big game up close and personal. Our very experienced guide could sniff out a pack of lions from miles away and we followed a chase and a kill and witnessed the end result of a wildebeest that wasn't concentrating and got taken down by the pride!

The drives just got better and better, we did have to get up early though, 5.30am call, but we were given coffee and cookies and once in the vehicle warm ponchos were provided. We had breakfast out on the plains each day and one day they brought lunch to the spillway which was a lovely surprise.

Our guide was a keen canoe fan and so we went out twice on the waterway, it was a lot of fun with two to a canoe and so peaceful and great to see another side to Africa. Another great day followed by sundowners and incredible skies.

The camp had a lovely feel to it, opulence and African spice. The staff were perfect hosts and once again it was more like sitting with friends in the evening than anything.
The tents were 5 star luxury and once again you could hear lions and wild animals literally outside the tents at night. Sounds scary but it all added to the atmosphere.

This was more than excellent" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Peacocks/LC
USA

"First rate Explorers on third Safari"

4 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2016
"When we planned our safari we asked Expert Africa to choose camps that met three requirements:
Excellent game viewing
Excellent location
Excellent management that wasn't too "corporate".

We had been spoiled by mobile safaris in Zimbabwe and we were concerned that Botswana camps would cater to guests who preferred creature comforts over unique experiences.

Selinda Explorers was so exceptional we are alerting attempting to return in 2017." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
Salt Lake City

"Three nights in June at Selinda Explorers"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2016
"Our guides were Piet and Victor. Both were superb! Game drives were in vehicles with four guests per vehicle.

Highlights were: (1) a pack of wild dogs playing together, hunting (without success), and then laying down to rest, (2) a herd of roan antelope, (3) ostriches, (4) a gigantic pride (200+) elephants moving north at sunset, (5) two lion prides, (6) red lechwe, (7) wildebeests, and (8) a "charge" by four elephants led by a notorious, cantankerous elephant with an injured ear. The charge was avoided by Piet's adept driving skills.

The staff was happy, hard working and professional.

The food and guest units were excellent (except the inside of the guest units are not well lit at night as was surely the case in true explorer camps)." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Utah

"Exceptional stay at Selinda Explorers Camp"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2016
"Lizzie was the perfect host. Victor and Piet were excellent guides and we saw amazing animals and birds.

We loved the tents, trunks, carpets, basins etc. We felt like true explorers.

The food was wonderful. We ate too much!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr V
Birmingham

"Walking at Selinda"

4 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2015
"I wanted to come to this camp to walk in the bush, however it seemed to me that the camp rather focused on 4x4 drives, as walking was not offered to me when I arrived. I asked my guide about walking but he had injured his knee, and the other people in my vehicle were not really interested in walking.

Indeed and I understand their position, as this was a "holiday of a lifetime" for them, the other people in the 4x4 were just interested in doing a "check list" of the animals they saw rather then wanting to appreciate Africa and the bush as a whole.

The good news was that when I expressed my concerns to the management, I was given a guide to go walking with, which I did, and also a seperate 4x4 for drives. This I felt was an excellent response.

The camp itself is a bit rustic, but it is build like a bush camp; it is I suppose my taste being a bit more luxurious than it was!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Ms L
Leeds

"Beautiful location"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2015
"Selinda Explorers Camp is in a wonderful location on the bend of a river. When we were there hyaena had made a kill just across the river and so we experienced that and the subsequent vultures within 5 minutes of the camp.

It was interesting to experience the tented camp and bush shower though it meant it was really very hot in the middle of the day without AC. Breakfast by the camp fire was lovely and the camp was small enough to feel quite special and intimate.

The 4WD trips were well run with lots to see." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Paris

"Unique experience at Selinda Explorers Camp!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2015
"Camp was amazing, in the middle of nowhere, with wildlife all around it (we had the visit of hyenas during the night inside the camp, unforgettable!).

I strongly recommend this camp, staff was extremely pleasant and careful (they prepared a surprise for our honeymoon the last night on the camp), food and wine excellent, and the camp in itself is a real experience!

Last, ask for Keeny as a guide. He knows almost everything on nature and wildlife. He even managed to attract a herd of wildogs towards some impalas and trigger a hunting just by imitating their calls!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-17 of 17
96%
17 reviews of Selinda Explorers Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa