This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs F from Hants

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

19

Excursions taken

1

Beyond expectations - simply fabulous

Botswana and 1 other country between 27 Aug 2019 and 12 Sep 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have booked several times with Expert Africa and found their first hand knowledge of the camps and service to be impeccable."

Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2019
"What a great way to start our holiday. We were so pleased we did this after a long flight.

The staff were amazing, the service equally so and our evening was made extra special due to the traditional songs delivered by the wonderful staff.

We would fully recommend Thamalakane as a perfect place to stay at the beginning or end of a holiday."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Khwai Private Mobile Camp

"Can't rate this highly enough - fantastic!"

4 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2019
"The mobile experience was above and beyond our expectations. From the moment we arrived, Andrew made us feel comfortable and welcome and we instantly connected. Andrew's knowledge and empathy of the environment and wildlife was nothing short of amazing.

Consequently the tracking and sightings just kept on coming. Some our our highlights include the wild dogs chasing, or may be just teasing, the waterbuck and then regrouping and playing in the water; the hyena den with pups emerging for maybe one of their first experiences in the big wide world and how could we not mention the lionesses at dawn, greating their family members on their return from their night's hunting.

Andrew's support team were fabulous. Their ability to deliver five star service and food with most of basic of facilities is nothing short of remarkable. We cannot rate the experience highly enough."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

"Luxury on the bush."

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"A very welcoming team. The staff were extremely attentive and our rooms were stunning. What luxury.

The game drives were amazing and the wildlife was in abundence. The photographic opportunities were made better by our guide Ocean's keen interest in photography.

An overall very enjoyable experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Skybeds

Skybeds

"A unique experience"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2019
"Enroute to Skybeds, our guide Russell took time to visit an ancient baobab (the elephant) tree with quite a history. We won't spoil the experience for future guests by giving away too much but the way in which he recited and explained a poem that held such significance was extremely emotional for us all.

The hide was a unique way to view the elephants from ground level, being so close you could almost touch them. It was a great way to begin our evening at Skybeds. This was an experience not to be missed, albeit quite a drive from Sable Alley and onwards to our next destination at Selinda Explorers."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

"A hint of colonial north african charm"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"Comfort and style are at the heart of this small and intimate camp. The staff were fabulous and the manager, Doctor, was in league of his own.

We couldn't fault this camp; we felt at home from the moment we arrived and didn't want to leave. Our guide Tips was so knowledgeable and a we felt very lucky to have spent our time with him. His skill in tracking a pair of cheetahs on a kill were exceptional and something we didn't expect to see.

We can't rate this camp or the overall experience highly enough."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Wonderful stay near the falls. "

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2019
"This hotel is in a perfect position, within easy walking distance of the falls and the main shopping area.

This hotel offers comfort and style.

A worthwhile additional experience if time allows, is the sunset evening cruise which is highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

My Jun 2014 trip

Botswana between 22 Jun 2014 and 3 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Can be summed up in one word. WOW. That said we have to give a mention to Megan who, from the start, offered advice from her personal experience. Megan took on board all of our requirements and put together a perfect package for us. It was beyond our expectations. We would be grateful if you could pass on our heartfelt thanks to all at Kwando Safari's."

Arranged By Megan Green


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2014
"Our overall experience at Kwara camp was excellent. Prior to booking it was pointed out to us that the camp was a little tired but this did not detract from our stay at the camp which was amazing. The staff were all very attentive and we would like to give a special mention to our guide and tracker, George and Ope, and also Joseph and Lebou.

The highlight of our stay at this camp had to be sightings of the wild dogs and their 15 puppies. George said we should expect a lengthy drive, but my was it worth it. We consider ourselves extremely fortunate to have had this experience. Wildlife in this reserve was in abundance, with exceptional sightings of cheetah, the lion, hyena and bird life - you wouldn't believe. This made the sightings for the guides in our next camps extremely challenging."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2014
"This camp was in a totally different environment to Kwara but equally enjoyable. There was always a hearty welcome back to the camp and very hospitable staff. Wonderfully entertained (on request) by the camp staff, with traditional singing and dancing and a whole lot of fun. The accommodation was second to none, with everything we could wish for. Such a pity we'd only booked two nights. Special thanks to Partner and Shoes. Partners knowledge of the sky at night was awesome, particularly as he was self taught. We also enjoyed another fabulous experience with them; travelling over 5 kms in approximately an hour and following a wild dog hunt in the setting sun. Truly Amazing and although we didn't see the kill it culminated in a rare sighting of aardwolf - an exhilerating experience. Another wonderful camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2014
"Our last stay and another fabulous camp. The location was different again but, as was the case with lebala,we could find no fault. Our guide and tracker, Matt and PK were so much fun with a very good sense of humour. The highlight of the Lagoon experience was on our last morning, when we watched a leopard, her cub and a very hungry hyena who was trying to steal her kill. The quintessential image of a leopard resting in a tree with her paws dangling, was there for the taking and our pleasure. As she took her catch from one at risk area to a safe place, and then returned for her cub while we in stunned silence, was simply the most real experience you could wish for and one that would be extremely rare to see again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Overall experience

Namibia between 22 Jul 2007 and 8 Aug 2007

Trip rating: Good
"To experience Namibia to its full we drove alot of miles, nearly 2000. The people were friendly and very welcoming.

We were glad we arragned for an extra spare tyre even though it was not needed. We did however meet other tourists who did experience punctures & had to have tyres repaired.

Sabina was extremely heplful when planning the trip."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2007
"Very pleasant accomodation, loved the decor. Staff were excellent.

We arrived about 10am just hoping to leave the luggage but were greeted with coffee & the room was got ready for us within half an hour which was very welcome! Had an evening meal there which was suberb."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolwedans"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2007
"Wolwedans ~ a wonderful experience within the dunes. Ideally situated with fantastic views across the valley to the mountains from your bed.

The staff made you feel very 'at home'. We really enjoyed the introduction to the meals!

The camp was small but had a good atmosphere. This is what we enjoyed about it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2007
"The overall experience of the camp was good. Our guide Franz was very accommodating & friendly - we were amazed that he had only been guiding for 4 months.

The trip into the dunes was excellent because Franz made it so.

The food was poor and cold when served."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"The Stiltz"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2007
"very unusual accommodation with a stunning seaview. Breakfasts were excellent, staff very helpful.

The staff suggested a restaurant the first night. They organised the booking of the restaurant & a taxi. They suggest
De Kelder Restaurant, a small local restaurant. Absolutly fantastic."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Ballooning in the Namib Desert"

28 Jul 2007 • Morning excursion

The whole experience was amazing. The pilot was experienced & even landed the basket on a trailer at the end.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2007
"What a stunning location. The central lodge had the most amazing 360 views across the crater. We wheeled the bed out & slept under the stars!!!!

Wished we'd stayed another night."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Palmwag Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2007
"A little less personnal than previous accommodation [Doro Nawas].

Not really fair to compare"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2007
"The waterhole here was amazing especially when 50 elephant arrived at sundown."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2007
"Were made to feel very welcome. The guides were knowledgable & helpful."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Restcamp"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2007
"At the moment the camp is being upgraded & refurbished. When it is finished it will be a credit to the country.

However on arrival we were asked for N$500 deposit without any prior knowledge & this came as quite a surprise. The receptionist was quite abrupt & could of explained the reasonning behind the deposit. We found out later that this was because previous guests were removing things, towel etc from the newly refurbished accommodation.

We understand that the upgrade needs to be undertaken consequently the area did resemble a building site."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

"Waterberg Wilderness Lodge"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2007
"A little oasis amid the mountains. Stunning scenery"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team