This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp

Reviews of Zarafa Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

19 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zarafa Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Zarafa Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

29% success

Wild dog

14% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Roan antelope

88% success

Sable antelope

63% success

Spotted Hyena

63% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-19 of 19
Duration
Arrival date
Dr S
Cambrai

"Zarafa Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2015
"Beautiful camp,awesome food,very good guide.
We had a wonderful stay." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss T & Mr H
UK

"Perfection"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2015
"Somewhere the minute you arrive you are already planning how you can return.

Just stunning in every aspect, location, design,wildlife viewing and staff. Exceptional knowledge and great company from our guide Lets. You could just stay in camp all day and watch the scenery and elephants passing by but there are boat trips at sunset to be taken and wild dogs to follow. The rooms may be very impressive but they still manage to keep a bush feel. Hippos and hyena calls surround you at night.

A great variety of delicious food and the choice of joining in for laughs at the dinner table or having a romantic private meal for two." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs D
Belgium

"Zarafa Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2013
"Amaizing service in overall. You feel at home.

The food is also gorgeous, thanks for the chef for being so inventive!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs DR
N London

"Can life get any better?"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2010
"Absolutely fantastic. All the same comments apply as with Vumbura.

[Ed: their comments were: "A wonderful camp with fantastic rooms and amazing views in the heart of the bush. Brilliant management team, guides, staff and hippos that definitely went bump in the night! We can't praise it enough."]

A special mention about our guide Dux. What a larger than life character and we loved him.

Probably the best guide we ever had and certainly the most fun." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Mozambique; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Middlesex

"Zarafa spectacular!"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2010
"An amazing place to end a trip.

Sheer luxury in the bush - but without ever feeling that this lodge had lost touch with its purpose of providing a real safari adventure. Zarafa has a strong emphasis on the environment with solar panels providing the majority of the electricity. But this was in all respects an A* experience.

Tess and Stuart are young but committed, expert (naturalists by training) and delightful hosts.

The camp is well-run; nothing seems to be too much trouble and there is greater flexibility here, given the small number of tents, to do whatever you like, whenever you like. The facilities are outstanding with indoor shower and bath plus a dramatic outside shower (sourced from a Parisian house of ill-repute!) overlooking the lagoon: the nearest to safely bathing with hippos you could ask for. A particularly nice touch is the loan of a camera with 100-400mm lens plus CD download to take home.

Chef Comfort deserves the first Botswana Michelin star - unbeatable quality and presentation. The lodge site gives you dining with incredible views over the lagoon where hippos and elephants frolick. We even saw wild dogs from the deck. Some of the game viewing was superb (although on occasion we did have to search which may have been a result of the exceptional flood waters). Steve, our guide, was enthusiastic and eagle-eyed." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms G
Loughton

"Zarafa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2010
"Zerafa camp is relaxed and peaceful which helps bring you back down to earth after seeing all the wonderful animals and birds on the drives.

When travelling in July and the Expert Africa agent says 'it will be cold in the morning' believe her, its true. What was handy was the camp had a laptop so I could download images from my camera as I had run out of memory; they then burned a CD for me so I could clear the memory chip and take lots more shots.

There were so many highlights, like seeing cheetahs, leopards and lions all on one drive or one night getting jabbed in the ribs for snoring when it was the hippos grunting outside our tent. One of the best was stopping on an afternoon drive to have Gin and Tonics by the lagoon and watch the stunning sunsets." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Lund

"Zarafa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2009
"the Camp is super, super. The location can´t be better. you could stay at the lunch table the whole day
I certainly will come back.
the food and the tablesettings super.
I´m not a big shoper but I liked the shop with things out of the ordenery.
This is the camp we talk about our friends" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss T
North London

"Zarafa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2008
"This was my first time in the Selinda so I was keen to experience a new environment. The recently built camp was stunning. Rooms are luxuriously appointed and ridiculously spacious with a private plunge pool facing your own slice of the lagoon, it is a stunning and private setting.

The small number of tents adds to the intimacy and creates a quiet, that coupled with your location on the lagoon, seems to attract a great deal of wildlife right in your 'front yard'. Game drives did not disappoint with a huge variety of wildlife as well as an incredible range of birds.

Staff are warm and friendly with a good sense of humor. The camp is managed by an excellent couple who are clearly dedicated to what they do and imbue their love of the bush and their pride of this camp to you. The new menu being introduced by Lindy was some of the freshest and healthiest food I've ever experienced in a safari camp. We were lucky to have our guide 'Dukes' to ourselves and he was very informative, relaxed and entertaining.

We felt very 'at home' here. A seriously luxurious quality camp that doesn't miss a beat on wildlife either, would return in a heartbeat." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Mr S
London

"Zarafa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2008
"Just us at this beautiful new camp. Tess and Stuart and their team made us very welcome and gave us a wonderful time.

Our guide Dukes was great and found us loads of wildlife in the sparse season and was extremely informative. Food by Lindi and team was excellent." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-19 of 19
100%
19 reviews of Zarafa Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


95% (265 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is particularly well-placed for seeking wild dogs.


95% (195 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (67 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (51 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


90% (40 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (25 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


98% (25 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


78% (9 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (5 reviews)
Linyanti Expeditions

Linyanti Expeditions

Tip-top guiding. In tune with the habitat. Down-to-earth, authentic camp comfort. A place of wilderness safari harmony.


100% (2 reviews)
Little DumaTau

Little DumaTau

Small and sophisticated, Little DumaTau lies adjacent to its larger sibling in the private Linyanti Reserve, overlooking a beautiful lagoon.


100% (1 review)
Okavango Explorers Camp

Okavango Explorers

The traditional, tented Okavango Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by great guides in a wildlife-rich area.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa