This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp

Reviews of Lagoon Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

235 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 32 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lagoon Camp.
Lion

97% success

Leopard

53% success

Cheetah

39% success

Wild dog

53% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

97% success

Zebra

93% success

Buffalo

77% success

Sable antelope

57% success

Spotted Hyena

55% success

Roan antelope

54% success

Brown Hyena

18% success

Pangolin

3% success

Aardvark

3% success

Showing 21-30 of 235
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs L
Basingstoke

"Beautiful riverside Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2019
"Lagoon is as always a wonderful camp with lovely, friendly, helpful staff, noisy hippos, good food and again the personal touches which make it so special. Nothing is too much trouble.

As our trip was a special celebration, one evening we returned to find a card and present on the bed and at dinner some of the staff appeared singing “Happy Birthday” and carrying a delicious, decorated cake with candles. It was a wonderful surprise and much appreciated.

Again we had some amazing sightings both during the day and at night when spot-lighting thanks to some excellent work by both the guide and the tracker. Among the highlights were the tracking down of two cheetah brothers, as well as sightings of sable, roan and porcupine." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr and Mrs R.
London

"Lagoon Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2019
"The situation and the facilities are magnificent. Better than both Little Vumbura and Gomoti.

But, food and service very poor.
Breakfast before a drive: porridge and cereal and sponge cakes. No proper orange juice. No cheese. No fruit. (Although i did get some cheese and fruit by asking for it; but why not put it out.) No eggs. No meat, cold or hot (bacon). (But they did produce specially strong coffee for the Notts every day after we had asked for stronger on the first morning.)
Lunch unimaginative and again only boring fruit: apples.
Dinner very poor and dull food. e g overly spiced lentil soup followed by dry tasteless roast chicken underdone carrots and tinned peas . No choice.
Very hot Mexican soup followed by shredded beef ( dry and tasteless ) cold stir fried broccoli, cold stuffed gem squash . Inedible bullet like chocolate donut to finish. No choice of wine unless one asked for it. Service, particularly of wine, incredibly slow.

We had a torch in our room. It didn't work. And when we went to the management they said "It's a wind up torch". But no-one had explained this to us (and we left the torch as we were about go on a drive and it did not get back to the room).

I suspect a combination of not enough staff and no proper management of the staff that were there.

Night drives are a waste of time unless you are a fanatic. In all our trips, we saw half a civet, half a hare, and a black backed jackal. And we saw the jackal in daylight which was much more use.

We did have a wonderful sighting of lion cubs with Spencer and James.

The other guides spent far too much time talking on the radio turned up very loud. Much of what was said appeared to be either repetitive or idle chatter or both, and it was very distracting and off putting. Radio transmissions should be kept to a minimum and when made should be as brief as possible.

Problems of communication. Language was a problem. They did not have a good grasp of Enlish. One example only. We asked the camp to get their office in Maun to reserve us seats on a booked BA fllight as we could not do it ourselves as there is no wifi. We gave them all the details to allow them to access the BA website and told them to do so after 7.20 pm on the day we handed the details over as we could not reserve seats earlier without paying. First they came back about 6 pm and said we had to pay. Then, when we again explained they had to do it after 7.20, they went off and, in effect, never came back. We did eventually get our flight details paper back but not reservation.

For sighting details see my separate e-mail." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Terrible
PancDoc
Swansea

"short stay but great introduction to Botswana"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2019
"Lovely welcome. Accommodation comfortable and well equipped.
Excellent food.
Very good guide and tracker with good information.
Despite only staying one night we saw a number of animals in that 24 hours.
Beautiful location by a river, close to hippos and elephants, and one or two crocodiles." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr&Mrs TGC
Oakville

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2019
"This was our favourite camp because of its location right on the river with hippo coming and going, as well as other animals coming to drink. Plenty of game but still needed to have a skilled tracker to find it. We really liked the tracking experience.

Also liked the the Kwando model of having a guide and a tracker for each truck. This was especially important for the night drives which were rather uninteresting when there was only one guide/driver searching for night-time beasts. Also Kwando camps were private concessions allowing off-road exploration and a maximum of 3 trucks per 'action site' so there was never overcrowding of the tourists or by the tourists." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs B.
Wilmslow

"Great safari at Lagoon"

3 nights Arrived 2 May 2019
"Good to see plenty of water after being at Gomoti Plains! River outside had lots of often amusing hippo activity.

Elephants in abundance - even delayed our arrival at the camp and in getting from chalet to the bar.

Great staff and great sightings including aardwolf, jackal and one wild dog." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr Rox
Cairns city

"Top service safari at Lagoon "

3 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2019
"The beautiful position by water channel full of hippos and water lillies is enhanced by atmospheric thatched bungalows which are endowed with a bathroom with bathtub, comfy leather chairs and a cool breezy deck where one can view kingfishers, hippos and other daily life on the river. Heaven!

The safaris were as exciting and varied as one could wish with lions, elephants, a profusion of birdlife, hippos and antelope including red lechwe, impala, kudu etc. Very impressed by the large numbers of hippos. Didn't see wild dogs, but not for want of trying. The staff were exceptional, their cheerful teamwork reflecting genuine enjoyment of their lovely camp.

Cannot fault the experience here and will be my top priority to come back." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Bucks

"Lovely Camp in a Beautiful Setting"

3 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2018
"Lagoon Camp has large, beautifully furnished tents facing the river, each with a verandah that makes the perfect spot for viewing the numerous animals that visit the river. The location enables Lagoon to offer boat trips, which make a peaceful and relaxing alternative to a game drive.

One of us has mobility challenges, and the staff could not have been more helpful, finding ways to make it easier to get and out of the vehicle and negotiate steps and ramps within the camp.

We had a great team in our guide and tracker, Poster and KT. The wildlife was amazing: numerous antelope species, including roan; zebra, elephant, giraffe, hippo, baboon. We had wonderful close-up encounters with two magnificent male lions; witnessed lions mating; found a beautiful female leopard lounging in a tree; and after a hectic chase through the bush, saw a wild dog kill.

We also saw, for the first time, brown hyena." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mrs & Mrs J
uk

"Top Notch safari at Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2018
"This was our first safari so we did not know what to expect, but this surpassed anything we had dreamt of. Poster our guide and James our tracker were first class and so knowledgeable and knew just where to go and see the wildlife,which was plentiful, we were also lucky enough to see wild dogs, brown hyenas, a civet, serval and leopard as well.
The staff were really friendly and efficient and looked after us well with great food. Our cabin/tent was perfect, roomy, very comfortable and blessed with a wonderful outlook over the lagoon where we could watch numerous different animals and birds. The whole experience was excellent, the time just passed too quickly." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs Y.
Lisserbroek

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2018
"Great atmosphere. Great staff.

Special thanks to our ranger/guide (Spencer) with his great stories and unbelievable energy. He has some great stories and anecdotes. Esp ask him about Howard, the croc if you ever visit this camp.

long game drives (5 hours each) maybe for some guest (we liked it) too long. one afternoon gamedrive a surprise with a white linnen bar set up in the middle of nowhere to have our sundowners. Nice surprise!" See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Sable antelope

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

B & H
Uckfield

"Mission accomplished seeing wild dogs"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2018
"We were lucky to see a Wild Dog pack (6 adults and 4 pups) during the morning drive and the afternoon - in the afternoon we left them alone as they started out on their hunt. Very satisfactory occasion all round.
Also lucky to see 2 young Aardwolf at the entrance to their den on the way back to camp on the night-drive.
No large quantities or variety of wildlife otherwise during our 3-day stay.
We were concerned by the amount of time spent searching for a particular animal in a particular area when we should perhaps have done more general searching throughout the concession.
Apart from the Aardwolf siting (location previously known) we gained very little from the night-drives and arrived back at camp quite late (7.30 to 7.45) - just in time for dinner but with little time to freshen-up." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Showing 21-30 of 235
95%
235 reviews of Lagoon Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
189
33
9
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (179 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (48 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


97% (18 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


75% (8 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet
Okavango Explorers Camp

Okavango Explorers

The traditional, tented Okavango Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by great guides in a wildlife-rich area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa