This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp

Reviews of Lagoon Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

265 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 62 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lagoon Camp.
Lion

90% success

Leopard

68% success

Cheetah

51% success

Wild dog

55% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

98% success

Zebra

93% success

Buffalo

84% success

Spotted Hyena

65% success

Sable antelope

54% success

Roan antelope

42% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

4% success

Showing 31-40 of 265
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Prestbury

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2022
"We found Lagoon Camp the most disappointing (and we had visited the Camp in 2013). Unlike the write-up in Brandt's edition 5 of Botswana Safari Guide, we thought the facilities were dated and in need of maintenance and upgrading and the food average at best. The feel of the camp was very much a corporate managed operation with accountants having a significant influence. The staff, although very friendly, it was a friendliness required by the rules and less genuine than experienced at the other camps. Our sense was the staff performed to the corporate rules rather than to the guests interests.

The design of the spacious chalets was very good, but the lighting inside was totally inadequate (there was adequate lighting to read by except in bed), there wasn't any mosquito netting around the bed and the building settling had made the doors hard to open. Fencing around the propane tank was falling down. Lagoon Camp was the only one that did not have WiFi. In essence, only two and a half means a day were served. Before the early morning game drive, coffee/tea and porridge (actually a soupy maize one notch above gruel) was offered around a fire, then a lunch buffet of one item plus eggs to order and an evening meal with only one main and a vegetarian dish on offer. All the dishes were of inexpensive ingredients and the choices were very limited and it was all buffet style not requiring any service.

In contrast to the Camp, the wildlife was abundant and quite varied. For example we saw a Pangolin that we had never seen at any camp on any trip. The guiding was excellent and the only limitation to finding animals was the tall grass. It would be have excellent game viewing in the dry season as it was when we visited at that time in 2013. It is just a shame the camp's operating philosophy is to cut costs as much as possible even though its pricing remains high." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Pangolin

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr C
Hale

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2022
"We travelled in the middle of March post-COVID and for half the time we had the Camp to ourselves.

We had fabulous leopard and cub, lion and wild dog sightings and even a couple of springhares fighting in the daytime.

Food and room were excellent." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"Lagoon Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Feb 2022
"I am not sure we can comment on Lagoon camp as we were only there for 12 hours and that was all in the dark and we slept most of the time" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Mr D & Ms P
Dursley

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2022
"I loved the camp, and particularly like the older style accommodation with the high ceilings.

The staff were delightful, friendly and obliging.

Because of the on-going problems of Covid we had the place to ourselves so we had great treatment although it was clear that the staff are well trained and motivated." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Crooks
Bristol

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2022
"All the staff - from the Camp manager, our guide (thank you, Ike), our tracker to the catering and domestic staff - were very welcoming and professional.

The food was very good and the accommodation was airy and comfortable. Lodges have interesting views over the river.

There are ample opportunities to see a good range of wildlife - animals, birds and plants - and Ike and our tracker James had a very broad range of in-depth knowledge from which we benefited.

As well as game drives we enjoyed our river boat cruise and our short walking safari. Ike and James were able to respond well to our game viewing requests." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Ms A
Calgary

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2021
"Lagoon is amazing.

There were more elephants seen on the first game drive, than on my entire first trip to Botswana.

The camp feels like.......comfortable elegance. Love the indoor and outdoor showers. Communal spaces were welcoming.

Hippos were always out front, and quite often munching on grass next to your tent at night. (Caution light sleepers).

The concession is amazingly beautiful, and was very green with recent rains.

My guide and tracker, Matt and Vincent, were great." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr M
Stockport

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2021
"Very spacious tent, which although rustic had everything we needed.

First trip out after tea we saw spotted hyenas, three adults and two pups. We spent 25 minutes with them while they played/socialised near their den. It was such a beautiful experience with just our vehicle there. This was is what we wanted, this private concession prevents a mass gathering of vehicles.

We were fortunate to see a leopard up a tree eating an impala another priceless viewing. The only animal we did not see, that was on our pick list, was a sable. Saw our first ever bat eared foxes and honey badgers, the latter did not provide a photo opportunity.

Great to see so many bee eaters, carmine, and white fronted in addition to the often seen little ones. Yellow billed kites, wattled crane, purple and goliath herons and grey headed kingfisher. Hippos were quite lively at the end of a boat trip, which was a warning for future excursions on our holiday.

Food here in the evening was average, lunches tend to be better with a top afternoon tea you never go hungry." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr A
St Albans

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2021
"We really enjoyed our time at Lagoon Camp. The individual thatched huts are well appointed and comfortable and the common areas were similarly comfortable. The plunge pool was particularly welcome in the heat of the early afternoon.

The activities kept us busy most of the day. The boat trip is very worthwhile for a change of scenery but remember your hat!

The staff were helpful and our guide, Poster Rico, and tracker, KD, very knowledgeable and successful in tracking animals, including leopard and wild dogs." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Stockport

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2021
"Met at the airstrip with beautifully displayed afternoon tea, offered choice of a game drive or going to see room. Game drive of course!

Part of our trip was sharing a car with another couple and part we were on our own. Elvis was very good at showing and talking about most things we saw not just chasing predators.

We were lucky enough to see the courtship dance of a Red Crested Korhaan a nondescript little brown bird until it displayed it’s Red Crest 💖

Lots of warthogs, Wildebeest, giraffe, hippo, elephants, a genet, secretary bird, mongoose, civet , Egyptian geese and fish eagle. A family of elephants had apparently recently lost a baby to lions. They were unhappy when we drove near them, a couple of the females chased us away." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

9 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Montana

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2021
"We had some great wildlife encounters here. Our guide and tracker were superb. The guide was very knowledgeable and was very good about giving us a full picture of what we were seeing and why, from animal behavior to the general environment.

Staffing was not quite as efficient at this camp, there were some minor deficiencies. Nothing major at all. I mention this only because Kwando Safaris moves staff around among their various camps and the manager while we were at Lagoon had been there only a month. She seemed to be feeling her way. It could have been simply because she was new, either to a managerial position or this particular camp with unfamiliar staff." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 8n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 31-40 of 265
95%
265 reviews of Lagoon Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
216
35
10
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is particularly well-placed for seeking wild dogs.


95% (195 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (67 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (51 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


90% (40 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (25 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


98% (25 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (19 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


78% (9 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (5 reviews)
Linyanti Expeditions

Linyanti Expeditions

Tip-top guiding. In tune with the habitat. Down-to-earth, authentic camp comfort. A place of wilderness safari harmony.


100% (2 reviews)
Little DumaTau

Little DumaTau

Small and sophisticated, Little DumaTau lies adjacent to its larger sibling in the private Linyanti Reserve, overlooking a beautiful lagoon.


100% (1 review)
Okavango Explorers Camp

Okavango Explorers

The traditional, tented Okavango Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by great guides in a wildlife-rich area.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa