This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp

Reviews of Lagoon Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

223 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 20 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lagoon Camp.
Lion

95% success

Leopard

45% success

Cheetah

45% success

Wild dog

65% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

95% success

Zebra

95% success

Buffalo

85% success

Spotted Hyena

68% success

Sable antelope

61% success

Roan antelope

53% success

Brown Hyena

24% success

Aardvark

5% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 223
Duration
Arrival date
Mr H & Ms Q
Nevada

"Great Safari at Lagoon Camp"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2016
"We spent four nights in early June at Lagoon Camp. This was an excellent continuation after Kwara Camp, where we started our Botswana safari trips. There was plenty of game, and very good variety, plus colorful birds. Contrary to Expert Africa review, game drives were not overly focused on wild dogs or big predators. We saw them, with more than enough time for photos, but we also paused to photograph many sorts of animals and birds, which all the guests in our vehicles wanted to do.

Guide Josiah and tracker James were excellent. We never had to ask our guide to stop for photographs; he did it routinely as well as placed the vehicle for the best sun angle and the best lighting. We always paused for photos as long as people wanted, and we were never pressured to move along.

Camp managers and staff were very friendly, and we appreciated that the guides and managers joined the guests for sit-down meals. We liked the family style dining, which allowed plenty of time to chat with other guests. Flexible brunch and dinner times accommodated the game drives, since we didn’t have to quit a photo op just to rush back to camp for a meal.

We really enjoyed African singing and dancing shows by the staff, which showcased local music. The staff was extremely talented, and it seemed that everyone participated.

Lagoon was a small camp (8 tents) which fully met our wishes for an intimate African experience. Food and accommodations were excellent in all respects.

Highlights: the resident pack of 14 wild dogs finishing their kill, and then visiting a pond for water; a leopard chased up a tree by wild dogs which per the guide were harassing the leopard to chase it away from a nearby den; the sound of hippos munching grass outside our tent at 3am; African sunsets.

We also stayed at sister camps Kwara and Lebala, and the following comments apply equally to them.

The safari vehicles were well designed, with (relatively) easy access, canvas tops (removable), and very few support poles to interfere with photography. Only six passengers were allowed, giving everyone a "window seat", extremely important to us.

The same guides and trackers remained with us throughout our stay, from pickup at the air strip to delivery for the return flight. This added a great deal to the safari experience, as guides came to know what guests were interested in, and which areas were best to meet guest interests. It also allowed us to get to know our guide and tracker better.

Having both a guide and a tracker measurably improved the safari experience, as the guide could concentrate on driving, especially off-road, while the tracker spotted the wildlife. When trying to find an animal, it couldn't have been done effectively without the tracker to watch for paw prints in the sand.

Night drives took place after the sundowners, en route back to camp. Pickings were sparse, but we were pleased to see the occasional nocturnal predator.

We really appreciated "bush babies" (hot water bottles) on the early, cold morning drives. They were also provided in the evening for our beds, as the nights were quite chilly (maybe cold better describes the temps). We brought several layers of light jackets and sweaters, plus knit caps and gloves, taking them off as the morning wore on, and putting them back on after the sun set. We had back packs which worked well to carry all these items of clothing, plus camera gear and whatever.

Laundry service was efficient, which meant that we could have left some clothes at home, and not have stuffed our duffels quite so full.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Lagoon Camp and would readily return. In hindsight, three nights would have been better, both more relaxed and less rushed, plus additional game drives in this wildlife rich area." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C
Ontario

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2015
"Everything was great about the Lagoon Camp.

Our only complaint is that it was our last camp and meant the end of our safari." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Canterbury

"Great camp Lagoon"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2015
"Best camp for location , rooms and public areas.

Our driver and spotter were very good trackers.

Hundreds of Carmine Beeeters - fantastic to sight" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs V
Canterbury

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2015
"Beautiful camp with amazing rooms and again superb staff, Our guide, Carlos, was a mine of information, not only about the wildlife but also about all aspects of Botswana and James was an excellent tracker. Food was, as in the previous one,w onderfully good!

I've put only 'good' for the facilities because there were several blips with the water - we had none when we arrived and when we did get some, it came up black as it has to be pumped from the river. We completely understood the problem, but it was slightly off putting to bathe or shower in black water - and you need to after the dusty safaris in the dry season!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
R & P
Belgium

"Good start of our Safari holiday"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2015
"Received a warm welcome after a very long journey by the management and staff of Lagoon. Setting of this camp is truly stunning. Beautiful tents, with very comfy beds! Food was varied, inventive and always plentiful.

Our guide and tracker were Carlos and Timo. We found Timo a very friendly guy, enthousiast and good at his job. Our views about Carlos are somewhat mixed: our game drives were, overall, interesting and varied. However, we would have appreciated Carlos to be more communicative during the drives and during dinner. At times, we honestly had the impression we were bothering him with our questions.

Personal highlight: the Sunset Boat trip on our last evening, which offered truly wonderful sightings of elephants and hippos bathing in one of the most amazing sunset we have ever seen..." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Netherlands

"Great Safari at Lagoon Camp."

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2015
"Great Camp, saw leopard, wild dogs and lion, so very rewarding. Food was good, wonderful staff. The rooms are very spacious (maybe even a bit too spacious) and are very comfortable. As they are not in the shade, it gets pretty hot during the day time. Sitting on the verandah overlooking the river is hardly an option, as there is no shade here either." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in Mozambique; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs P
Alderley Edge

"Watching lions bringing down a buffalo"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2015
"Very spacious, comfortable accommodation with far more natural light than most we stayed in. The bath however is a bit of style over substance - it takes ages to fill, the water is gritty and being by the large open mesh window it is draughty. The shower on the other hand was wonderful with really good water pressure.

This was where we had the most impressive sighting of the holiday: a pride of 7 lions bringing down a buffalo from a herd that had gone to the water to drink. The flurries of action followed by standoffs where the protective tightly grouped buffalo stood motionless encircled by the equally still lions made more dramatic the sudden charge by the buffalo pursued by the lions, one of which managed to cling on to the hind quarters of one buffalo. That allowed the other lions to target that injured animal. It took some time for the buffalo to give up struggling and then the lions could enjoy their meal.

Our guide Hobbs seemed rather withdrawn at first but later at communal meal times he was good company." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr g
Illinois, USA

"authentic camp experience deep in the bush"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2015
"an outstanding safari camp experience, which met or exceeded our high expectations. Located adjacent to a lagoon tributary with no "fences", wildlife, especially elephants, literally would pass thru the camp day or night -- during one evening we could hear an elephant munching/ consuming a small palm tree adjacent to our detached room.

Th Kwando Lagoon staff were very friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely interested in maximizing the guest experience. All of the meals were served a large table where all of the guests and guides ate together to share the day's experiences. This enabled the guests to interact with the other guides as well as the specific guide "assigned" to us for the drives.

On the drives, the various guides worked extremely well together (via radio contact) so that key wildlife sightings e.g. wild dogs with cubs, lion prides etc by one vehicle were quickly communicated to the other guides so that the other vehicles could participate in the viewings also. A tracker was utilized at this camp (the other camps we visited did not utilize a tracker) which appeared to increase the likelihood of a wildlife citing. My impression of this camp was that wildlife sightings were the number 1 priority of the camp as the guides seemed relentless (in a good way) in this pursuit." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Kings Langley

"Lagoon Camp with Family"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2015
"We spent 3 nights at Lagoon with our 3 children. We had the family tent (master bedroom and 2nd bedroom) and a second tent which had twin beds. The accommodation is excellent, extremely spacious with a glorious position over the river.

Hippo and elephant are often to be seen from the camp. The staff were so kind and helpful and gave us a very warm welcome. We had Spencer as our guide - he was exceptional and we enjoyed our game drives so much and saw an enormous amount of game and wildlife. We had a good boat trip one evening too.

Would highly recommend staying at this camp." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Smitz
UK

"Lagoon Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2015
"Lagoon's location is excellent and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The laundry service is excellent. Visitors shouldn't be concerned about the baggage allowance on the flights to the camps and the storage and retrieval of my additional suitcase with Mack Air went without a hitch.

The quality and variety of the food was good. I particularly enjoyed the traditional Botswanan dinner. The staff were very pleasant and willing to help.

My only really adverse comments about Lagoon centre around Hobs, the guide I was assigned, Hobs is clearly knowledgeable but he would benefit from being more communicative. He readily answers questions but it would be better if he offered more information about the animals and birds, particularly when the vehicle stops and there is an opportunity to observe the animals and their behaviour. Its not enough to say for example,'Its a lioness'. He has the skill and the knowledge, he needs to exploit it. This was somewhat mitigated by Timmo, our tracker who was very knowledgeable and a much better communicator than Hobs.

Sadly for me there were no wild dogs but a lion kill on the first morning made a very good start!!

." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 223
95%
223 reviews of Lagoon Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
179
32
8
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa