This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Miss R from Kent

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

5

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

July trip, 2019

Botswana between 21 Jul 2019 and 27 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"I go back to Kwando camps every year. They are just the best.

Not at all chi chi, but great service given from the heart.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really?!"

Arranged By Megan Green


Splash Camp

Splash Camp

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2019
"This is the second time that I have stayed at the new Splash Camp. Last time in the Enclave, this time in the main camp.

For game viewing and stunning variety of landscape there are few to compare with the Kwara concession. We virtually fell over predators every day. We also had a sighting of three lesser seen of the antelope (Sable, Roan, and Eland) all in a line at the edge of a flood area.

The staff are delightful, especially the new manager Rene. He is full of energy and enthusiasm, and a great addition to the team. He has taken over from Charles, who is moving to the renovated Kwara Camp. The guides and trackers are polite, considerate and knowledgable.

My one caveat is that it can be a long walk to your room. The camp is in a crescent. The main area is in the middle. We were in room 12, which was a brisk 5 minute walk along a winding sandy path."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lagoon Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2019
"This was my third stay at Lagoon. It has a beautiful location on the riverbank. Plenty of predators, but due to the dry terrain you have to work harder to find them. Personally, I don’t mind lengthy periods of tracking but first time travellers may wonder if the guide and tracker have gone off on foot to chat about the football results. All I would say is stick with it because it generally pays off.

We had some amazing lion sightings. It was only six months since I was last in the area and so many changes in lion politics!

Some nights you don’t see much on the drive back to camp, but on our last night we saw a leopard up a tree, a porcupine and a Serval all in the space of five minutes.

The staff are lovely. We were with the guide G (who is a complete legend) and the tracker Kern who is charming and has the makings of a great guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Overall

Botswana between 4 Nov 2017 and 12 Nov 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Well, I'm booking for next year...."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Top review Lebala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2017
"This is my sixth stay at Lebala which probably tells you that they are doing something right. The camp is at the southern end of the concession, close to the river system. It was good to see that the water levels are coming up again after several years of drought. There is a good range of terrain. Marsh, riverine, good open areas together with mopane and apple leaf woodland. Great sightings of the resident lion prides plus the bonus of several hours with Jane’s (the resident female leopard) small cubs. The guides and trackers are all very knowledgeable and happy to discuss what the plans for the day should be. The camp staff are delightful and nothing is too much trouble. I am already booking up for next year!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Fabulous LK"

3 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2017
"I love LK. It's small with excellent guides and trackers and the camp staff under Charles’ and Okie’s management are delightful. I have stayed at LK five times and will be returning. The game at Kwara is plentiful and varied. This year we spent a day and a half on the track of a peripatetic rhino. An amazing sighting if we had found more than its tracks. Rhinos were only re-introduced to Botswana a few years back and sightings are rare. The foray north was not entirely unproductive. The scenery was beautiful and we found a male cheetah that was thought to have died, it was so long since he had been seen. Finally, a specal mention for the lady chef who led the singing!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

November 2016

Botswana between 4 Nov 2016 and 13 Nov 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall another great trip.

I recommend EA to all travellers that I meet and anyone who asks for advice on visiting Africa!"

Arranged By Megan Green


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Another excellent visit to Lebala"

3 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2016
"This is my sixth visit to this camp and it will certainly not be my last.

Standards continue to be very high and the new manager has made some changes. No details because it will spoil the surprise. I elected for a private vehicle and I was looked after solicitously by Jacko and GT.

We discussed each day what we would do, and we had some excellent game sightings."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Happy punter

Botswana between 31 Oct 2011 and 7 Nov 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Despite the various problems, I will definitely be going back.

Lucy booked the trip for me and I would apply the same high rating to her."

Feedback response

This traveller gave our team top marks - but was messed around considerably by changes and cancellations made at the last minute to her scheduled flights, by the airline. Hence the (completely understandable) comment above.

Arranged By Megan Green


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2011
"Little Kwara was recommended by a friend and it did not disappoint. A very high standard all round.

Our guide Dutch and tracker Kenny were informative and enthusiastic. You think you have seen most of what you are going to then in 20 minutes you see a Boomslang, a Honey Badger and a Bush Baby that thinks it's a flying squirrel! Game in the camp, during the day and the night. The varied terrain was a pleasure and I will definitely be going back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2011
"After having such a fantastic experience i was concerned that Lebala would not be as good. However, it was every bit as good.

Guide Alex and tracker Julius showed enormous forbearance in the face of a well meaning American who insisted we went back to look at some tracks she had seen, as she thought they were Wild Dog. Alex identified them as avian, and she asked him if he was sure! We did find the dogs though; the highlight of the trip. Both guiding and tracking were of a high standard.

Lying in bed in the middle of the night, listening to an elephant chomping on something just outside, is a real priviledge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

My Nov 2007 trip

Botswana between 2 Nov 2007 and 11 Nov 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"this has to be about my best holiday experience ever, and I have been travelling the world for 25 years.

From the first call to EA I felt in "expert" hands. I will definitely use you again and recommend EA to friends. I am already planning the next trip! Oh, and I found your advisory leaflet really usefull too."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Image alt

Zibalianja, Botswana (this camp has since closed)

"Zibalianja review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2007
"You probably know that Zib is due to relocate next year, nearer to the lagoon, so comments on the accommodation are probably superfluous. However, I do have to comment on the level of hospitality from Tess and Stew (who are going to mamage the new lodge) and the food, both of which were the best on the trip.

The chef's baking is particularly good - home made snacks for coffee and sundowners and the Chelsea Bunss were out of this world. Five stars and a plus for them."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

"Selinda Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2007
"The tents were the highest standard on the trip and the position of teh lodge was fab. A really friendly welcome."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2007
"Again a really frienly welcome to the drowned rat that arrived. Very heavy rainfall at Sandibe that day!

Food could have been better and was a bit hit and miss. guides were excellent."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team