This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ghaub Guest Farm
Ghaub Guest Farm
Ghaub Guest Farm

Reviews of Ghaub Guest Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ghaub Guest Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ghaub Guest Farm.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

White Rhino

100% success

Eland

33% success

Oryx

33% success

Zebra

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2012
"We didn't stay in the farm but camped on one of the three pitches.

The facilities provided were good with the abultion block for each pitch providing two showers and two flush toilets with electricity. Kitchen facilities with concrete and stone table and a braai area. The table provided can really only be used as a work surface as it is too high to sit at. Each pitch is private with good views.

One of the guides at the farm took us down the cave on the farm which is a two and a half hour adventure going down a hundred meters. There was a lot of scrambling and climbing in muddy conditions so you need to be prepared for that. But it was a great experience. Not for the claustrophobic. An excellent base to explore the Otavi area." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr M.
Loughborough

"Quiet location"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"Mark went caving; he enjoyed it but it was incredibly hot and there was a shortage of oxygen!

Other than that it was a good place in which to relax. Currently, there is no horse riding so walking is about the only other option. Fine for an overnight stay, but no longer." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & co
Portugal

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2012
"Beautiful farm. Amazing rooms, food and facilities. Can I live there?" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs M
Portugal

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jan 2012
"The welcome here was wonderful, despite being the only guests, yet again. The rooms are really huge with a lovely view over the immaculate grounds.

The Manager is great, a real Namibian success story who joined us after dinner for really interesting conversations. Chris McIntyre please note: it is on the opposite side of the road from what you say in the Bradt guide." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sheffield x 4
UK

"Fitting end to holiday at Ghaub Guest Farm"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2011
"A lovely traditional farm with friendly, knowledgable staff. The walks around the area were first class and even included bushman paintings.

The rooms had fridges and fans and a verandah overlooking the hills; bliss!

The trip to the caves is not to be missed." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J & Mr R
Bath

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2011
"We stayed here for two nights as a mid way point on our way to the Caprivi.

We didn't feel it was particularly special but it served our purposes." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Zambia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs P
Harrow

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2011
"We really enjoyed our stay at Ghaub. The staff were very friendly and helpful. 90 min drive to Etosha, and walks were excellent." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Kasane to Cape Town Days 7 and 8"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2011
"We really like Ghaub; it is a simple place where things are done well.

Since our last stay two years ago (we loved it then but it's better now!) buildings have been spruced up, rooms redecorated and quality of bedding improved. Rooms remain large and cool with big bathrooms and excellent showers. We had the 'honeymoon suite' which has the only double bed. Food is good farm cooking (often featuring game meat). Whilst you may not get the same variety at breakfast as at some lodges the quality of the food on offer is superb. Mika is an excellent manager for whom nothing seems too much trouble – he seemed delighted to welcome repeat visitors. He also recommended an Aladdin's cave of a shop in Tsumeb which managed to sell us a gizmo to do the job of the camcorder recharger we'd left at home.

We enjoyed a morning walk on our own and then an evening drive around the farm with Klaus; we didn't see much game but learnt a lot about Ghaub and the farm.

Our one quibble is that, compared to other lodges, accompanied activities are rather expensive
" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs JC
Stroud

"Ghaub Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2010
"A nice place to stay en route to Caprivi. We did not take part in any activities....hence no comment." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Stroud

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2010
"A very relaxed and friendly place to stay.
The bird hide was equipped with binoculars for all to use.
Food & ambience very good.
Lovely gardens - good bird life.
A bit of luxury after two weeks in the bush.
Would have been happy to stay more than one night." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 34
90%
34 reviews of Ghaub Guest Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
15
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa